YSL Spring – Pivoine Crush Eyeshadow Palette (Swatches)

Hello you guys (or girls / ladies)! I’m still alive and well though I’ll admit that I’ve been putting blogging off because I just haven’t got the ‘mood’ to churn anything out due to work and the constant paranoia of deadlines, not sending a certain file across, not finishing something up in time, etc.

Basically there’s too much on my mind to think about blogging right now.

Though sometimes, just sometimes, blogging creeps into the picture and that’s when I realize I could put a pause on my blog but the world is still buzzing about and time still flying by.

With that, let me briefly shed some light and love on the Pivoine Crush Eyeshadow palette that was released with YSL’s feminine and flirty spring collection.

Bathed in a whirlwind of flowers and the breathe of Spring, YSL’s Spring collection artfully features the feminine color palette of spring amidst a dash of sultry smokiness.

The palette design is, as always, stunning with a jibe of youthful-ness, taking a nod at the contemporary femme fatale – liberated, unafraid and yet delicate in persona.

It could be our Chinese culture and the fact that Chinese / Lunar New Year is occuring a lot earlier this year but the palettes released in YSL’s Spring collection feel in-theme with the Chinese festivities – almost like an exquisite red packet design.

Now, if only YSL distributed red packets in this print, that would be lovely.

Though do not confuse the Spring palettes with their special and very Limited Chinese New Year blush palette (Beauty Blossom Palette)

The shades in the Pivoine Crush palette are undeniably Spring-themed with hues of soft rose, coral, pinks, champagne and a sultry maroon all dancing in tune and in the light as each shade is well-shot through with refined shimmer.

While it may appear daunting, the shimmer actually takes on a relatively subtle role (as you will see in swatches later), working to enhance and capture light more than obnoxiously blinging up the lids.

The palette appears to be such a beauty that I couldn’t help but help feeling a tad disappointed at the quality of the shadows.

Though to its own credit, it is the typical formulation and pigmentation of YSL shadows – not the creamiest though decent, picks up moderately and the boldest of shades go on as a sheer peek of color with a notable translucence.

Though in light of spring time and its daintiness, this palette would work beautifully for those that fancy sheerer work-safe shades that allow for layering and better control over the pigmentation.

In fact, when I went by the YSL boutique (at ION), I approached the Makeup Artist for tips on how to best utilize this palette and his immediate reply was to layer the colors because that allows for each shade’s complexity to show up better. While they cannot compete individually, the result of layering is a whisper of colors perfectly complimenting each other and enhancing your eyes.

I haven’t tried this out on myself but the Makeup Artist demonstrated the techniques and I am intrigued – I cannot wait to try it out. I hope the natural look photographs well so I can showcase it to you all!

My favorite of the 5 shades would be the coral (2nd from left) because that works well worn on it’s own or paired with the darker maroon for a quick look in my usual style.

In fact, I do have a look coming up though this was before I learnt the secret and technique of layering so, I would say it’s not the best representation!

Unfortunately the last I checked, the Pivoine Crush palette was already out of stock at the YSL Boutique (in ION). Though I am uncertain if they have more stocks to replenish the shelves. You could also go by TANGS and give it a look or try your luck at ION again!

It’s not a must-have palette but if you are an avid collector of pretty packaging or the shades / usage of the shadows are right up your alley, this would be an exquisite palette to have in the stash.

Thank you for reading!

Now, let me hurry back to the land of paranoia and give my to-do list a one over again.

Leave A Reply!

