YSL Spring 2014 – Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils (in No. 22)

To tell you the truth, mascara hardly excites me anymore.

I think it boils down to the fact that I rarely wear mascara these days given how I am in frames all the time; I dislike the feeling of coated lashes rubbing against frames, hence.

Though when I received the YSL Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils (in 22, Captivating Purple – whoa long name), I actually felt that long-lost mascara excitement spark through me once more.

YSL’s Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils is an award-winning volumizing mascara, aimed at giving you dramatic lash results in a single stroke.

I think ‘a single stroke’ is an ambitious statement since we all have to give the usual one, two – wiggle it on, dabbing an extra coat once the first dries etc.

Now, did this little bugger win awards with me?

Well, I’d say it faired relatively well and especially so with the shade (captivating purple) which sadly is Limited Edition. I’m not sure of the quantities but last I checked, they were still quite well stocked.

I like my colored mascara to lend some color (well, duh) yet still be able to define my lashes. So, definitely no fluttery hot pink or stark white-based purple on my peepers for me.

Which brings me to what ignited my excitement to wear mascara, specifically this mascara – the color!

Yes, I love my blacks and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with black (or brown, if you prefer) mascara, it’s the perfect way of life. Though sometimes a little color that does exactly the same as a black mascara, except with a little more is not too bad a venture!

Isn’t the purple just… captivating?

I really like the jeweled aspect of it, glinting a blue-ish purple when it hits the light and appearing deep / dark all the same, allowing for a nice coat of definition on the lashes.

The brush applicator is simple, straight-forward, combining nylon fibres of varying lengths to help comb through each and every strand of lash, evenly coating them with just the right amount of product.

I’ve given this a couple of uses and while I don’t do the whole works (upper lash, lower lash) daily, I like to occasionally pop a quick coat of this on my lower lashes.

The colored aspect adds a nice hint to the look and definition, without being snuffalapagus-level of too much, is welcomed.

I didn’t manage to snap eye shots for this particular entry but I do have a LOTD featuring this, coming right up so you can see it there!

The downside (see what I did there!)

I think this adds a nice amount of volume and given that it isn’t dark black, it’s definition without the harshness (and a subtle color to boot). For my lashes it seems to tick all the right boxes, except one very important one – it doesn’t hold curls, boohoo.

My lashes aren’t stick straight and usually don’t need more cajoling to stay curled but sometimes, just sometimes, some mascaras go on and they’ll start wilting like plants with microwaved water. Okay, maybe not that bad. They’ll still have a curl to them but are a little drooped, minimizing that whole mesmirizing fluttery eye look, sad.

Though that isn’t too bad if all you want is a natural everyday sort of look – nothing too preened and curled. However those that need heavy duty mascara that defies gravity, maybe you want to thread with caution here.

Over all, I still love this and I like that I can at least use it on my lower lashes for a hint of color, if anything! At least this seems to be the best way for me to be using mascara in my four-eyed days!

Thanks for reading, how do you feel about colored mascaras?

This is Limited Edition and already available at YSL boutiques and counters island-wide

Leave A Reply!

