LOTD: Spring-hued Eyes with YSL

Remember the LOTD I promised featuring YSL’s Pivoine Crush Eye Palette and Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils (in Captivating Purple)? Well, here it is!

I’m not too well updated with the the stock situation over at YSL so I can’t say for sure whether the Pivoine Crush is indeed still out of stock or there is a glimmer of restocking hope to hold on it, that is assuming you have interest in that palette. Though I said I would showcase it so here it is all the same.

How I decided to use the Pivoine Crush Eye Palette here is with my own familiar color placement method, no fancy overlaying and blending that is recommended of YSL’s Ombrés 5 Lumières Eye Palette.

Straight out, you would notice the colors are sheer, far from what is displayed in the palette, and even the darkest shade just adds a touch of definition.

For those who like the softness of Ombrés 5 Lumières wouldn’t have an issue with it and those who prefer a light wash of color will be glad for it but for the pow-wow fans, it is understandably a little sad the palette doesn’t translate as well from pan to lid.

Nonetheless, it is still pretty in its own worth and while I wish it could have a little more oomph – creamier texture, smoother blending, less chalkiness – to make up for the pigmentation, it is what it is and still sold out all the same./p>

Major wow!

For the look, I used 4 shades from palette, skipping the pink for a more peachy-themed look.

  • I used the champagne gold (center) as a highlight and also on the inner corners of the lid
  • Then I dabbed the pinkish-coral tone (bottom left) on the middle of the lids, blending outwards
  • For added definition, I used the deep maroon (bottom right) on the outer-v, blending to the crease a little
  • To blend the edges, I swiped on a little of the light coral (top right) in the crease – hardly noticeable

…et voilà!

Though as mentioned, this palette works well with layering and I’ve yet to explore that yet though I am intrigued to.

Not forgetting, that little peek of blue-ish purple you see on my lashes there, that’s the work of the Volume Effet Faux Cils in Captivating Purple. I’m not kidding, it is quite captivating isn’t it?

I’m glad I managed to capture the soft pink-peach hues on my lids because while it is evident in person, it is a light wash of color and nothing too strong. When it comes to pinkish hues, it’s just as well since I am a little afraid of the ‘sore eye look’ when pinks aren’t done right.

I apologize for my lipstick to be a little haphazardly applied because I was rushing out the house towards the end (that explains the car-selfies too).

While I would have loved to use the blush released together with the YSL Flower Crush Spring 2014 collection, I hadn’t snap shots of it yet and didn’t want to ruin its perfect surface. Heh!

Products Used:

BROWS
Shu Uemura Hard 9 Pencil in Walnut Brown
Shu Uemura Brow Manicure in Honey Glazed

FACE
Clarins Whitening Plus Aqua Milk
YSL UV Shield SPF 50 PA+++
Shu Uemura Lightbulb Foundation
NARS Light Reflecting Loose Powder

EYES
NARS Smudge-proof Eyeshadow Base
YSL Pivoine Crush Eyeshadow Palette
Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner in Black
MAC Powerpoint Liner in Engraved
YSL Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils in 22 Captivating Purple

CHEEKS
I forgot! Oops!

LIPS
Dior Rouge Dior Lipstick in Darling

Highlighted Products were provided by companies/distributors I am not obliged to use/feature them in LOTDs, decisions made were my own

While I will still be playing around with this palette, trying out that interesting layering method and all, I’m not too sure if I would be keen to post up LOTDs of that, given the palette is already out of stock (last I checked).

Guess I’ll see how it goes and if it serves as an interesting post on layer shadows, why not right?

Thanks for reading!

Leave A Reply!

