My Marc Jacobs Beauty Haul (From 2013) – Part 1

Seeing how there’s word (and pictures) of Marc Jacobs’s beauty line is trooping to our Sephora Singapore soon, I thought this would be a good time to share the few pieces I have!

If some of these catch your eye you’ll know what to zoom in on the minute these are let loose in our stores!

My MJ (shortened here on) items were acquired through some bugging, pestering and, in short, CP (custom-purchasing) from a Sophia’s friend. See the lengths we go to for makeup?

Okay I kid, I don’t think there was any bugging and pestering involved. It was, however, hard to decide on what to get since we did our bulk haul about a month into the launch of Marc Jacob’s Beauty line last year – there were hardly any pictures to reference for shades!

Things have since changed and reviews / swatches are aplenty, especially so for the HOT favorite shades so here’s dropping mine into the sea of them out there.

I wanted quite a few things but seeing as we were going in (slightly) blind, I decided to take caution and settled for safe (aka colors I know I would use) nail polish shades and also one lipstick, just cause.

In this post I’ll show you snaps and swatches of the 2 lacquer shades I picked up.

I’ll do up a separate entry for the lip gel (lipstick) because it’s so beautiful and deserves a bit of a pic-spam, so ’till then!

The MJ polish line (Enamored, as its called) has a nice selection of bright pinks, jewelled blues and other lovely bright hues. Though, as a start I skipped past all the bling and settled on these two simple, understated shades.

Grey seems to be a shade I am naturally drawn towards, especially when exploring a new (to me) brand’s polish line. I like how it is neutral without being nude and offers some depth without being too dark in some cases.

It’s just grey, really, I don’t need to write an essay about it.

The murky olive on the otherhand, I had not planned to get but was drawn to it because of the name – Nirvana. Smooth move there MJ!

The grey shade is called Evelyn, by the way.

The MJ polishes were a lot bigger than I had expected and I wasn’t sure why I imagined them to be small to begin with.

From pictures online, the bottles didn’t look like much, but once you see and hold them in person, they are actually quite nice. The bottle is slick and slender without being too thin; curvy without being too round.

Perfectly smooth and chic!

Now if you aren’t huge on packaging then lets talk about the product now.

The cap of this pops off to feature a handier knob, allowing for an easier grip on the brush, which isn’t too fanciful or revolutionary but works well all the same. Length-wise, it is considerably ‘short’ allowing for better control of the brush.

The polishes applied smoothly on without any streaking, though it could also be attributed that the 2 shades I have are of a cream finish – no need to deal with metallic sheens.

Evelyn –

Nirvana –

And here they are swatched!

  • Evelyn went on a lot darker than I had expected, looking almost like a charcoal grey than the creamy mid-tone grey from the bottle. It required 2 coats for an opaque finish.
  • Nirvana stole my heart once swatched, it looks exactly like how it appeared to be from the bottle and was easily opaque with 1 coat. Though as usual, I laid a thin second coat just because. It’s a yellow-green that is actually quite unique in my stash.

My verdict is that the Marc Jacobs Hi-Shine Lacquers are worth a look if you’re into polishes. I don’t know what their price tag will be like once they launch in Singapore but at 18USD, these aren’t too bad an investment!

Thanks for reading – stay tuned for Part 2!

p.s. forgive the fact that my fingers have some icky scabs. I just dealt with a pretty nasty (painful and inconvenient) bout of Eczema outbreak and am still fighting to keep it at bay hence I’ve halted nail swatches for a little while; it became too painful to remove polishes due to the acetone and alcohol in nail polish removers. Though I’m slowly back to swatching now that my fingers feel a little better! :)

One thought on “My Marc Jacobs Beauty Haul (From 2013) – Part 1

Leave A Reply!

