Haul: NARS Future Red (from Guy Bourdin collection)

Remember NARS’s tie-up with Guy Bourdin?

The collection with the whole hooha controversy?

Well yes, good, because I hauled one little item from there and am only talking about it now, oops. Though it isn’t much really, it’s just a red lipstick that I absolutely had to have because it’s such a lovely red.

Now, I don’t want to get into the whole controversial aspect of the Guy Bourdin collection because at the end of the day, I view this collection as makeup and simply makeup. Obviously I wouldn’t support violence on women but at the same time the works that were chosen to be featured were works that Guy Bourdin had done in his time, as his own form of artistic expression (as we do with makeup) without knowing they would end up being pushed into a commercial collection so…

Guess what I’m trying to say is no matter how, everyone is entitled to their own opinion and choices and by buying one lone lipstick it doesn’t mean I’m saying that I support violence on woman, that’s rubbish.

So much for me saying I didn’t want to get into it…

So anyway, Future Red.

There’s a good amount of raves over this color and yes indeed, it is a stunning red.

Though I will admit, I liked it a lot more before I bought it, apparently…

Future Red seems to be of a satin finish – not quite a matte and definitely not a glossy shiny red. It applies well and easily on the lips with a glide though what I noticed with this lipstick, on me, is that it seems to feather a tiny insey winsey bit.

It’s odd because everywhere I read, everyone loves this. Also because I hardly have any feathering issues with my lipsticks – ever. Unless that lipstick was born to migrate or something, that is.

So the idea of this lovely red not staying sharp, sleek and in my lip line baffles me a little.

Thankfully I don’t get clown lips from this and regardless I still use it since the feathering is so minor I can overlook it.

After all, it is a lovely, almost-perfect red!

For comparison sake, I had to swatch it alongside my other reds.

It is when they’re all swatched together, as such, on my skintone that I noticed Future Red isn’t actually that deep or rich a red – I do favor deep reds with a slight vampy edge, my weakness.

It’s actually a little more everyday, almost, which is peculiar given how it seemed to be so rich and bold when viewed alone.

It is more of a mid-tone red without the richer and deeper bases as with Majella or YSL’s Mats so it works well for a fun and perky red lip that is ‘light’ enough to wear through the day.

Nonetheless, I love reds and I don’t mind another in my stash. Though don’t get me wrong, it is a beautiful color all the same and deserves merit for that, though for those of you who didn’t manage to get your hands on Future Red, you can always seek out YSL’s Pur Couture lip color in 203 if you want something slightly similar with a bit more depth!

Do share, what are some of your favorite reds?

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Haul: NARS Future Red (from Guy Bourdin collection)

  1. rhaindropz says:

    sexy red! im loving my nars in joyous red (i got as prize from ms joey chong..) i miss her blog post eventhough i seldom leave comments

Leave A Reply!

