My Marc Jacobs Beauty Haul (From 2013) – Part 2

It took a while inbetween but here’s the second part to my Marc Jacobs beauty purchase – this Lovemarc Lip Gel that I had added to cart, along with my nail polish purchases.

I had no intention of picking this up and I was solely fixed on the nail polishes. Though out of curiosity, I chanced upon a swatch of this stunning Lip Gel and into the cart it went…

Thinking back, I’m glad it did!

Marc Jacobs’s Lip Gels are made with a unique gel formula though don’t let that trick you into thinking these colors are sheer because most of them are anything but!

Available in 16 shades, ranging from nudes to pinks and the classic reds, I had somehow fallen for the plummy deep and vampy Saboteur.

Here’s an interesting trivia: Marc Jacobs’s lip gels have names inspired by the man’s favorite movies and Saboteur happens to be this really cool vintage one with murders, fires and all that thrilling stuff!

This is besides the point, but fun to know.

Lovemarc’s packaging is, needless to say, very sleek and these lipsticks snap to a magnetic closure. The case is a glossy black with metalic touches that give it an overall polished look.

Saboteur exudes its charm once swatched, so while it doesn’t look like much from the tube, do read / scroll on!

In the tube, Saboteur appears to be a brown-toned deep red that while dark, isn’t too interesting to the eye.

Though once swatched, the hidden plummy and vampy tones show through making this an interesting and special color for those who like to thread a little on the wild side.

it’s a little cool-toned and while it imparts a rich color, it isn’t too bright, making it easy to wear.

The slight plummy undertone gives this lipstick a soft vampy edge, just enough vamp to spice up a look without falling into the boundaries of gothic and being ‘over the top’. A very classy sort of vampy, if you ask me.

Swatched alongside true reds, you’ll be able to see that plum undertone show through a tad more.

I think the true beauty of this shows up best when worn on the lips.

The gel formula allows the Lip Gel to glide smoothly over the lips with enough slip yet enough tact to prevent any feathering or unwanted slip / sliding from occurring.

The Lovemarcs are easy to apply, even for the dark or the bright shades and while the pigmentation is intense, there is that gel-like translucence to these that make them wear so easily over the lips – blending in almost so, unlike some creams, they don’t ‘sit‘ on the lips.

Paired with dark hair, Saboteur seems to really give the overall look the perfect kick and the added strands of purple highlights are delightfully vampy toppings on this otherwise already great combination!

I didn’t get to try it with blonde locks and while I think it would be a great look too, it would exude its own flavor.

There you go, that’s it for my Marc Jacobs haul for now!

I do have a couple more things in mind that I want to get but at the same time I’m not in too much of a hurry to acquire them so I would likely wait for them to hit our shores and give everything a good swatch before deciding!

I hope this helps if you’re planning a Lovemarc shopping list! Just for the information, these Lip Gels retail for 30USD on Marc Jacobs.

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “My Marc Jacobs Beauty Haul (From 2013) – Part 2

Leave A Reply!

