It's a Sunscreen? No, it's a BB Cream? No, it's…

Bioré UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence SPF 50 PA+++ with BB!

And I say this name pretty enthusiastically because it’s the perfect answer to sun protection and decent coverage, all rolled into one!

I don’t always like my face products to be multi-purpose, I would rather them to ‘focus’ and be better in one field.

That is especially so for sunscreen, I always prefer to use one alone even if a base product comes with SPF. Though given Bioré is touted the No. 1 selling sunscreen product in Japan, there is probably no doubt about this multi-purpose product’s sunscreen abilities, yes?

I don’t know about you but with the recent immensely hot and dry weather, less is definitely more and if you can skip out several layers of various products for the same protection and effect, I’d say: take it!

Using the same Aqua Rich technology known to Bioré’s earlier sunscreens – that allow for the lightweight watery texture – the Bioré UV BB (shortened here on) is said to give a natural-looking coverage that is comfortable and yet also hydrating on the skin with wear.

The Low-down…

Simply said, the Bioré UV BB is armed with a sweatproof formula to ensure that you are well protected from the harmful skin-aging / burning effects of the sun’s UVA and UVB rays.

The Bioré UV BB also comes with a cosmetic effect of giving you natural looking coverage, evening out your skintone with a formula so lightweight it doesn’t leave a stick on. The UV BB also offers a soft skin brightening effect that instantly enhances the high points of your face due to the fine skin brightening powder.

All that aside, this refreshing watery texture is also enriched with hyaluronic acid and citrus essence to ensure that your skin stays hydrated with use! There are also oil control elements in this to ensure your skin feels fresher for longer.

I know that sounds like a lot thrown in but all you need to take away from that blurb is that: the Bioré UV BB feels comfortable and easy to wear with a lightweight texture, sun protection and a natural coverage that’s good alone if you don’t have many skin blemishes and concerns.

Otherwise there is always concealer!

Made in Taiwan, the tube contains 33g of product and comes housed in a baby pink broader squeeze bottle, as compared to the skinnier and sleeker White UV Sunscreen that was last released.

Ever since my first encounter with Bioré’s sunscreen, upon recommendation by Mag, I’ve thought nothing less of Bioré’s sunscreen products because they are perfect for those who shun sunscreens due to the heaviness, tack and the greasiness that would ensue.

Though in today’s day and age I think sunscreens have come a long way and most are pretty decent. At least the ones I have tried.

But I digress…

The Bioré UV BB dispenses almost like a moussey-cream and it appears a little thick at a glance.

Though upon spreading it and rubbing it in (I like to use my fingers for this), the formula starts to feel lighter on the skin and blends away very easily without feeling heavy or sticky on. There is a slight brightening effect and the color tends to be in the lighter spectrum (for the whole brightening effect) so those darker than an NC30 may find the shade tricky to work with.

On me, this is just nice, maybe a tiny bit fair but it usually blends into my skin after awhile of wear so the shade doesn’t bother me much. Though I need to be sure to blend it well so I don’t appear patchy.

It photographs quite ‘matte’ here but trust me, the formula and feel is the same as previous Bioré sunscreens, if you are accustomed to that.

While it is a simple and straight-forward product whereby I don’t have too much to say about it otherwise, the fact that it is so incredibly lightweight on makes me enjoy using it.

Naturally I think those with dry skin may not appreciate it as much as normal / oily / combination skin users would but I think it’s not something they should cross out from their list either. It really is quite perfect for a quick casual look.

I have been reaching for it a lot over the weekends where time is scarce because this works as a 2-in-1 and if I only had time to throw on some sunscreen, why not this one! After all, you hardly need to set it. If your treshold for face-tackiness isn’t too bad you probably don’t even have to!

I, as I have probably mentioned, like a powdery smooth face and even then a quick dust with some pressed powder does the job.

I’ll talk about my weekend face in a LOTD soon, though in the meanwhile, do check the Bioré UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence SPF 50 PA+++ with BB out! Especially if you are looking for a lightweight base to get you through the recent crazy heat.

I don’t think it can get any lighter than this, really!

Bioré UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence SPF 50 PA+++ with BB is retailing for S$19.90 at all leading supermarkets and pharmacies (try Watsons)!

Thanks for reading!

Leave A Reply!

