LOTD: The Weekend 5 Minute Slap-on

In an ideal world, I would have a lavish amount of time to sit pretty infront of my dresser, peruse my foundation bottles, pick one out for the day followed by slowly carassing the foundation brush over my skin and then setting it gently with a powder puff.

Though unfortunately that exaggerated situation is quite far from the truth, especially so during the weekends. As far as makeup goes, I hardly have time for it or as the hubs says, “Why bother?”.

Most of my weekends consist of errand running, toddler-chasing and bouts of unglamorous yet necessary chores so… indeed, why bother.

I don’t have to look all prettied up but there’s no harm in looking decent and presentable, yes? Polished but not overdone – the whole no makeup makeup definition.

So while playing with some newly acquired items last weekend, I’m glad to have found a quick and presentable ‘face’ for weekends to come!

I used to say that I can’t live without eyeliner and while yes, I still like rimming my eyes, these days I aspire to look fresh before anything else. My definition of that would be an evened out skin appearance (not necessarily perfected), some brow definition and of course a glowy flush.

A little eyeliner wouldn’t hurt but it is not the key for me these days.

  • Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery BB – the 2-in-1 step for skin perfecting and sun protection. Given how insanely warm our weather is these days, it is more comfortable to have on lesser layers!
  • NARS Light Reflecting Pressed Powder – the loose powder variant is my HG but this pressed version works well enough to set the Biore UV BB since that base does not need much to set it.
  • Benefit Gimme Brow – hardly the perfectly shaped and lined brow but what this does is, really, give me eyebrows. My brows are light and sparse by nature so I have to fill them in or risk looking like an alien and this is a great way to fill them in during the weekends.
  • Lancôme Blush Subtil in 030 – frankly this is interchangeable but as of now I am currently obsessed with the Lancôme Blush Subtil in 030. This shade, 030, gives a beautiful coral flush along with a golden sheen, providing this healthy glow without leaving you looking metalic or ‘shimmery’. I assumed this would go on too shimmery, given how it seemed to glisten in the pan but instead, it works immensely well to give the look of a soft sun-kissed flush and glowy skin.

The overall look does still have some ‘raw-ness’ to it as the skin isn’t perfected, brows aren’t sharp and defined but for a casual 5 minute slap-on, I think this is good enough for me! After all, everything appears harsher on camera, in flash. The blemishes and skin imperfection aren’t as glaring in person.

I especially love the sheen the Lancôme blush lends as it really does brighten the look and skin up.

Well, I know that’s a lot of words for a look that hardly takes much to do but sometimes using less is harder than working with more. This isn’t the case of course, it’s less that is easy to do!

When it comes to the whole ‘no makeup’ approach, there is always the option of throwing on sunscreen and dashing out the door but we women are funny like that. We like more but are always in persuit for ways to use less for the look of more.

I didn’t mention any lip products here because I’m usually content with a slick of balm or tint given that gloss or lipstick may end up getting on my wiggle-worm baby as she struggles when I carry her, hence!

Though I wouldn’t deny that a pop of color on the lips would give this quick look a lot more life.

Thanks for reading and do share, what are some of your quick makeup routine favorites!

Leave A Reply!

