Look & Swatches: Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Pencil in Mushroom

I seem to be on a mission to simplify my already very simple everyday eyelook.

You see, I’m the sort that would rather sleep for 10 more minutes even if it means I’ll wake up thinking ‘OH CRAPPP‘ and rush through my entire morning routine – makeup included.

I don’t request much from my daily eye look, just for it to have enough color to look like something and that’s good enough! Of course paired with a flick of my trusty Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner but that’s for another entry.

While cream pencils were once something I scrunched my nose up to (what if it creases? would it stay all day? would the color migrate all over my eye?), I am pleased to find that Urban Decay had managed to master the idea of slapping a cream on, blending it out and have it stick / stay on all darn day!

I’m a happy camper!

Then again it’s Urban Decay we’re talking about, I should have expected nothing less, right?

Let me introduce you to my new sleep-in best friend!

This isn’t new and some of you probably swear by it already but heck, lemme proclaim my love for this old timer all the same. Hopefully, for those who haven’t given this a go, this will be the answer to days you want to snooze the alarm that 5 minutes more yet still look like you spent the same amount of time getting your game face together.

The Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Shadow Pencils are cream shadow pencils that come in a stick form – the likes of NYX Jumbo Pencil.

The 24/7 Glide-on Shadow Pencil can be used as a base color on your lids to amplify powder shadows you would lay over, or to be worn on its own – my favorite way.

It is available in 8 shades, ranging from vibrant teals to hot pinks and of course a brown, the one I have here.

Mushroom is a neutral mid-tone brown that leans ashy (taupe-y, almost) with a nicely balanced metallic silver sheen.

Don’t let the term metallic turn you away because I feel the metallic quality makes it easier to work with and also more wearable. Yes, surprise surprise.

I’ve worked with my fair share of richly pigmented and creamy chocolate brown cream pencils and while they are lovely that way, you do need to add your own oomph if you feel those pencils alone are too ‘flat’ for you.

They usually are a little too au natural for my liking – I like me a tad of bling!

Once swiped, Mushroom really isn’t as ‘intimidating’ or dark as it seemed to be from the tube.

How I like to use Mushroom is casually drawing this all over my lids (just under the crease, no need for precision) before blending the edges out with my ring finger. You can use a blending brush but I prefer fingers since these need a little nudge to blend.

The Glide-on Pencil does set so you’ll have to blend it as soon as you get it on but it blends well within that time-frame, no odd lines where the pencil stops smudging.

I don’t mind this quick window to work with it because I like the assurance of knowing once this goes on, it’s hardly going anywhere. I have worn this numerous times through the workday without any problems at all – no migrating or panda eye (granted I only wear this on my lid) or stray shimmer even.

Here’s my lazy day Mushroom eye:

  • Mushroom blended over the lids, slightly into the crease
  • Random browbone highlight, whichever I can find for the day
    (Beauty Cottage’s Calypso here)
  • Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Liner on the lids

That’s all, and this shortens the whole eye part of my makeup routine to a swift 1-2 minutes! Thus, no matter how ‘late to the show’ I am with these Glide-on Pencils, I’m glad I discovered them all the same.

If you’re looking for that 5-10 minutes more of sleep or intrigued to see the other shade offerings for this 24/7 Glide-on Shadow Pencil, then go check this out!

Urban Decay’s Glide-On Pencils are permanent and found at all Sephora Singapore stores!

Thanks for reading!

Leave A Reply!

