Haul: Small Hakuhodo Purchase (from Beauty Asia 2014)

Well, hello there, isn’t this haul entry a little bit late?

Heh!

Frankly speaking, given how teeny tiny my haul was I didn’t think it was necessary to mention it on the blog. After all I have already ‘accounted’ for it via a quick instagram snap.

Though I snapped some shots just in case I felt an itch to do a post and… what would you know, I guess that itch came along after all!

I wasn’t kidding when I said it was teeny tiny!

I didn’t want to go overboard with brush hauling because… in a practical sense I really don’t need anymore brushes. What’s more I’ll be heading to Japan in April and I can probably give them an even better look then.

Though I doubt I would be hauling a luggage’s worth of brushes back either since my willpower seems to be working relatively well without any hiccups these days. Plus food is always where all my money goes when I travel, heh!

Even with Japan in mind, I still couldn’t resist hauling these up from Beauty Asia because they felt like the ‘ones that got away’ from my earlier haul.

I had no idea why I didn’t pick these up then!

J5523 –

First up is this white-bristled Goat hair brush that seems to have been crowned the ‘MAC 217 of Hakuhodo’.

I don’t have my MAC217 with me (back at the parents’ place) so I can’t compare but I can see the similarities – it seems to be of a fluffy enlongated paddle shape. It is versatile enough to pack colors on, do a wash or blend colors into the crease.

Thus, as with how people seem to hoard MAC 217 brushes, I picked up 2 J5523s. Afterall, they were only S$19 each, what’s not to love!

I wouldn’t lie, I had debated picking up a third but quickly made my way to the register to pay and complete my purchase because that pounding thought made a dent in my willpower.

Such a dramatic situation over a makeup brush, ha!

While I was snapping shots of these brushes at home, I noticed that the J5523 is very similar to my previously hauled G5523 (now I am assuming the numbers are references to a similar cut?).

The obvious, doh, difference would be the G5523 is made of Blue Squirrel and Goat while the J5523 is goat alone.

Thus, while they are similar in shape, they tend to feel a little different on the hand which would lead to varying differences in usage. The G5523 does feel softer and a little ‘sleeker’, such that it isn’t as pouffy as the J5523, which makes the J5523 better for diffusing color and the G5523 better for blending within a smaller area.

I hope I didn’t lose you there!

In short, the only way to best differentiate between them would be to molest caress the brush during their upcoming fair at Takashimaya. More details on that in the end of this post.

G5522 –

Next is the G5522 which, if I had to put it in some sort of a MAC-context, would be similar to the MAC 224.

Similar, but I feel that the G5522 has more of a shape to it as opposed to just being a dome-shaped blending brush, as is the MAC 224.

I think the above angle best captures how this seems to have a bit of a ‘doe-foot’ shape to it, while when viewed from another angle it appears to be yet another dome-shaped blending brush. This one was S$30 if I remember right…

I think the doe-foot aspect helps a little with placement and blending though I am a little ashamed to say since I have gotten this, I haven’t yet used it. Oops.

Though these blending brushes do need a little ‘breaking into’ – depending on your preference because the display pieces were all a little fluffier than these ‘straight-from-the-pack’ ones.

So that is it, my little very restrained Hakuhodo purchase!

If you would like to see the brushes that I have already previously hauled, check out my first post on them!

Hakuhodo Pop-Up Store at Takashimaya!

I guess what changed my mind about posting this was remembering that Hakuhodo is said to have a pop-up shop in Takashimaya end-March 2014 (I remembered 27th March) at the same spot they had their pop-up store last year. Incase anyone is wondering what are some good purchases to zoom in on amidst their huge inventory of brushes, well here are some of my picks!

The Hakuhodo pop-up store is said to run for 2 weeks but I’m guessing things might get sold out so its best to hurry down during the first few days if you can!

Thanks for reading! Do share, what are some of your Hakuhodo loves? Or what are you eyeing from Hakuhodo?

One thought on “Haul: Small Hakuhodo Purchase (from Beauty Asia 2014)

Leave A Reply!

