Haul / Review: Urban Decay NAKED Skin Ultra Definition Loose Powder

I seem to in a bit of a word rut these days, I think it’s me doing the whole ‘overwhelming myself, short circuiting my brain’ thing again. Whenever I get overwhelmed be it with backlog, crazy-ass deadlines at work or worst – a combination of both – my brain seems to be in a constantly distracted mode.

Thus whatever I write sounds so textbook, lifeless and dull or perhaps as if I were trying too hard to put a paragraph out there. In short, something that I end up junking even if I did spend an hour typing it up. Bah.

Though regardless, I think I can string together enough coherenece to spell out my excitement out for this newcomer on our shores!

Oh simple ole loose powder, you have my heart in your clutches.

I don’t know what it is about this simple base product but I lust over loose powders like no other – especially so if they are tinted. Especially especially so if they are rose tinted. Oh, my heart.

But anyway, this Urban Decay Naked Skin Ultra Definition Loose Finishing Powder (‘sup with this long name, Urban Decay?) is lightly tinted in 5 varying skintone shades so these aren’t the color correcting sort that would come in lavender, mint, etc.

Though 3 of the 5 shades look incredibly similar when swatched (varying nuances maybe) that they might as well have had it come in 3 shades only and lessen the headache for us all. If they were to do 5 shades they should have very well been 5 fairly distinctive ones.

For this fact, I’m a little disappointed in you Urban Decay.

Of the range, I was deliberating between Naked Light and Naked Light Medium for myself, both seemed to appear fine on me. I the end I opted for Naked Light because it feels safer to get something a smidget lighter, than darker.

The Urban Decay Naked Loose Powder (yes, shortened here on) was something I had my eye on the minute I saw mentions about it online. Namely Temptalia, her review was the total kicker – I HAZ TO HAVE.

Aside from my whole undeclared loose powder obsession, I was actually in need of a loose powder given that my trusty NARS Light Reflecting Loose Powder’s time was almost up. I had maybe 2 – 3 uses left for that and was ‘saving it up’ for a rainy day.

Rationally speaking, I do have other loose powders in my stash, and I just unearthed a couple while packing the other day, but the concept of a skin-refining, pore-smoothing and powder soft effect was one I couldn’t live without after having introduced myself to that flawlessness with NARS.

I feel that without a loose powder as such, my stash had a loophole. Le gasp.

The Urban Decay Naked Loose Powder was described to fit that biil so… I need!

Yes, NEED, even if this little pot of 8g is going for S$50.

Just for comparisons sake, the NARS Light Reflecting Loose Powder retails for S$50 as well but has a heft of 10g.

Though I know powders and products shouldn’t always be justified by their weight but incase anyone is wondering…

This powder is total love at first swatch, my first impression of it was all sorts of awesome and because I was with my husband at that time I remember exclaiming to him how amazed I was and how smooth my hand felt.

To the point I held out my arm and told him to “TOUCH MY HAND, TOUCH IT!“. He probably thought I was nuts.

Powder-aside, even the dispenser / filter was given some thought with the Urban Decay logo embossed into it along with 4 holes to control how much powder gets out. I much prefer lesser holes than a whole sifter dotted with one because that, my friend, is powder evarrryywhere. Not fun.

My animated descriptions aside, the Urban Decay NAKED Skin Loose Powder is one incredibly smooth and finely-milled powder that feels almost like nothing on the skin but yet once on lends a soft optical blurring, airbrushed effect. This allows the skin to have a soft-focus look to it, almost as if you applied a photo filter on yourself, in person.

Pfft, who needs that skin blurring tool when you’ve got this!

I’ve noticed that the skin blurring for the Urban Decay Naked Loose Powder seems more apparent than the NARS Loose Powder and in some ways, I feel the Urban Decay one is lighter to wear and I require much lesser for a smoothed-out finish.

It could be due to the slight tint that Urban Decay has that helps it to smooth and even the skin out better, but it is also this tinted quality that makes it a wee bit of a headache when deciding – Am I a medium? Or medium light?

The Urban Decay powder somehow feels ‘fluffier’ to the touch which is an extremely bizarre description but I really have no other way to word how light-weight and yet not densely packed these feel.

Don’t call me crazy but this is one fluffy soft powder.

My only advice before I sound like a deranged makeup addict would be to go and swatch this for yourself if you are able to. That way you would properly understand me and perhaps we can all go around together proclaiming how fluffeh this powder is.

Given that really long and carried away ramble about the Urban Decay Loose powder, let’s get to one of the main points…

Did Urban Decay knock NARS off its HG podium (in my heart)?

Well, I can’t entirely say yes or no about it because given a choice I would continue to consider repurchasing NARS Light Reflecting when I get a chance to but Urban Decay does a decent job of filling up the role – not as perfectly well, but good enough in its own way.

Here’s why it wasn’t an all-kill for Urban Decay

  • I don’t particularly like the smaller ‘mouth’ of the bottle. Perhaps this helps prevent too much powder from flying about but it’s hard to get my powder puff in there.
  • The oil control for this isn’t as stellar as NARS, I find. Urban Decay still holds my makeup together well through the day but on warmer days I do have to blot sometime after 6 hours. NARS is one mean beast when it comes to looking perfectly flawless and fine through the day – makeup stays, no oil y’all.

Though with all that said, I still love you Urban Decay Loose Powder, I love your skin-blurring abilities and I always love me a powder with some tint!

For furth
er testiment of that, I am going to plaster my face on here for your scrutiny, ha!

p.s. I am wearing the YSL CC Cream in Rose as a base / sunscreen. More about that soon!

So after this incredibly rambly post all about a loose powder, I think I have shared enough of my thoughts about this product that got my heart in a flurry when I set eyes on this. Who would have thought that loose powder would excite me this much.

f your heart is in a little flurry of its own after seeing the Urban Decay Naked Loose Powder, head on down to Sephora to swatch or pick it up!

Urban Decay Naked Loose Powder retails for S$50, is permanent, and available at all Sephora Singapore outlets.

Thanks for reading!

Leave A Reply!

