The Lowdown – YSL Baby Doll Kiss and Blush (Cheek & Lip Swatches)

Are youuuuu ready?

Get buckled because this is going to be one heck of a post featuring these babydolls from YSL – the YSL Baby Doll Kiss & Blush.

I had first talked about them in this post where I shared information about their formulation, what shades to expect, and also quick swatches of 9 of the 12 shades that are launched.

Though in this post, I’m going to get a little more personal, a little more intimate and a whole lot more in your face with pictures of how the 7 shades I have on hand wear (on both cheek, lips and cheek & lips) along with sharing my personal thoughts about this revolutionary nail-polish cos-playing product.

So what did I say, you might want to get comfortable, it could get a little long. Though if you are in any way curious about these little guys, this could be helpful!

First things first, let’s have a good look at the 7 shades I have on hand.

I’m missing a red, most of the nudes and that sexy deep plum shade but what I have here covers the usual lip and cheek suspects.

The YSL Baby Doll Kiss & Blush collection, as a whole has most of the spectrum covered be it if you prefer understated shades like neutral pinks, soft warm pinks, milky corals or if you like to thread dangerously and flaunt a hot pink lip, fire engine red or fierce tangerine.

It’s even got a smexy plum thrown in too if that’s your kind of thing.

The bottles, which resemble up-sized nail polish bottles, are inspired by transparent inkpots to showcase the purity and clarity of the color within. Giving it its distinctively YSL quality would be the gold touch that is perfectly detailed with the YSL Cassandre logo atop.

I had briefly given some mention to the patented and unique applicator here, but let me show you more shots of this intriguing detail.

At a glance the applicator looks like your typical flocked doe-foot but take a closer look and you’ll see an odd ‘pearl’ in the centre of it.

I have explained that I’m not one who pays much attention to how ground-breaking an applicator is but I did find the shape of this comfortable and purposeful.

On the lips, it is detailed enough (at the point) to define my lip shape and the centre held enough product to lay down and blend a rich lip color on.

For the cheeks, it picked up enough product for application on both cheeks without the need for re-dipping. For me, at least.

The shape of it is meant to facilitate with precised dabs of color on the cheek but I don’t apply this directly to my skin (I dab my finger on it then dab that on my cheeks).

With all that said, I’m sure you’re curious to see how these would perform so here’s a hand-swatch first so you can compare the colors alongside each other.

I know right, these are pretty darn lean and mean!

With one swipe they’re bad-ass looking with their pigmentation and ready to whoop some butt but once you get down with them, pat them about, soothe and ease them a little they blend out to be such perfect seamless shades.

My camera had a bit of a spastic moment picking these up, so did my eyes, because they look so unfocussed in the blended-out pictures before I realized that that is how they look like – soft-focus and seamless, so perfect.

Swatcha-mania!

Now that I’ve got your attention after all those words, let’s get down to business, shall we?

Here’s the order the images will be shown in, just to give you a bit of a heads up of what you’re looking at:

  1. heavier cheek swatch (pre-setting)
  2. lip swatch
  3. lip and cheek swatch (after setting)

N°1 Fuchsia Désinvolte

On the rest of the face:

Biore UV BB Cream, Urban Decay NAKED Skin Loose Powder, Dior Backstage Eye Prime, Beauty Cottage Eye Palette, Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner

A vibrant blue-based fuschia, you only need a little, little bit of this if you are wearing it on your cheeks. On the cheeks and lips it is bright, hot and bold, definitely great for those who like to make a statement.

Of the 7 (that I have) this was the only shade that left a significant stain on and wore quite okay through some food and drinks.

N°2 Rose Frivole

On the rest of the face:

YSL CC Cream in Rose, Urban Decay NAKED Skin Loose Powder, Dior Backstage Eye Prime, Tom Ford Cocoa Mirage Eye Palette, Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner

A warm and sweet medium-pink, this is a color for those looking to find something natural yet prominent on – natural enough to wear it without much thought but prominent enough to give a distinct look of blush.

It wears a little ‘lighter’ than medium on my lips as opposed to on my cheeks and I prefer this for days that I wake up thinking I need a bright (yet not too bright) pop of pink in my day.

N°4 Orange Fougueux

On the rest of the face:

YSL CC Cream in Rose, Urban Decay NAKED Skin Loose Powder, Dior Backstage Eye Prime, Make Up For Ever Aqua Shadow in 28E, Burberry Eyeshadow in Dark Sable, Burberry Eyeshadow in Chestnut, Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner

Now we’re talking Summer!

If you’re one who is captivated with bright tangerines, as I am, this is absolutely perfecto~ With orange being the hot color right now, I’m sure you can easily get on the trend with Orange Fougueux, a true yellow-orange that pops the minute you wear it on your cheeks.

On the lips I am a little bit disappointed because I expected the color to be more saturated though due to the slight translucence of the formula, it ends up appearing to be a more toned down, yet still quite statement, orange.

N°5 Rouge Effronté

On the rest of my face:

Biore UV BB Cream, Urban Decay NAKED Skin Loose Powder, Dior Backstage Eye Prime, Tom Ford Cocoa Mirage Eye Palette, Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner

It’s no surprise that Rouge Effronté, a slightly warm bright red, would be my favorite of the lot. I mean, it’s a red, ’nuff said.

I’ve long loved red blush (hence my obsession with Merrily, Style Demon etc…) because red is really the mother of all natural flushes. So to speak

A red-toned blush makes fair skin look even fairer, and also imparts a very healthy flush – as if you just came from a jog or are flushed from the winter cold (impossibru here, but we can pretend to look the part?).

Lips-wise, (almost) everyone loves a red lip so, that’s case-closed.

N°7 Corail Affranchi

On the rest of the face:

YSL CC Cream in Rose, Urban Decay NAKED Skin Loose Powder, Dior Backstage Eye Prime, Make Up Store Marble Eyeshadow in Amarillo, Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Liner, Solone Magic Waterproof Eyepencil in Black Gold

If your heart can’t handle Orange Fougueux, fret not because here we have Corail Affranchi (a milky tan-peach) to the rescue!

This color is equal parts smooth milky dose of coral, along with a soft tan side to it that makes it very wearable on the skin. That, and also very summer appropriate for days you want to look the season but skip on being this immensely bright ray of sunshine.

N°8 Pink Hédoniste

On the rest of my face:

YSL CC Cream in Apricot, Urban Decay NAKED Skin Loose Powder, Dior Backstage Eye Prime, YSL Flower Crush Palette in Pivoine Crush, Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Liner, MAC Powerpoint Liner in Engraved

If your calling is soft, neutral tones then you should be pretty pleased with this milky blush pink shade.

It’s got enough pink in it for color yet is as neutral as it goes – no stark blue tones, not too warming, it’s really quite the perfect no-brainer pink. Given how soft and dainty this color is, I do like dabbing a little of it on over the weekends (my no makeup period) too, to give my skin more life.

N°9 Rose Épicurien

On the rest of my face:

YSL CC Cream in Apricot, Urban Decay NAKED Skin Loose Powder, Dior Backstage Eye Prime, Make Up Store Eye Pencil in WAVE, Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Liner

Rose Épicurien is a tricky one… For one it is slightly dusty yet still fairly bright a lavender pink.

It’s got some purple in it but not a whole lot to throw it off the pink course, yet just enough to keep it cool, light and maybe just a bit stark on the lips for me. Though I still fancy that lip-look once in awhile.

How I best like it is on the cheeks, though funny thing is, it is quite ‘invisible’ on. What this cool-toned pink does is brighten up my complexion, perking my cheeks up a little without seeming to deposit much color at all – the powers of a bright cool pink on warmer skintone. I now see the true appeal of an icy cool pink blush hue.

I think I’m packing this little baby to Japan for my trip, it brings to mind such a kawaii~ look.

Whoa, kudos for you to have made it this far! Are you tired of scrolling yet?

Or would you like to see more pictures of these Baby Dolls in action?

More pictures you say? Well… I’ve got just the thing for you then!

Mixing It Up!

With a bold spirit, YSL suggests for you to mix and match around their 12 shades because while it’s cool to be all matchy, it’s even cooler to be a rebel sometimes and challenge the creative spirit.

YSL did have a list of suggested pairings but hey, if we are rebeling, let’s just go all the way?

So here are 3 of my own takes on the idea of mixing and matching these babies up.

MIX&MATCH01 – A COOL SUMMER

MIX&MATCH02 – ROSEY HUES

MIX&MATCH03 – A BOLD STATEMENT

My personal favorite of the Mix & Match batch because it’s always fun to defy some makeup rules, yes? Who says you could only pair a pink lip color with pink blush. If Cara Delevingne can rock the mis-matched look on their promo materials than I jolly well can…. try to.

What do you think?

As far as I’m concerned, I like the playful color block but I think I’ll stick to similar hues (ala the first two) for my mixing sessions. Though to my own credit I did step out of the house today with the contrasting combo, whoop!

No, I don’t think I looked crazy.

The Formula Low-down…

After all the fun stuff of how the colors wear and mix together, here’s the meaty and important bit that those who are perhaps tempted to purchase might want to know more of.

How does this feel on?

I have gotten a few questions about this after my posting-spree of these on Instagram and I can only say that they feel delightful. The texture has a good amount of slip, feels light-weight and moussey, a little creamy too but generally very air-whipped.

How does this wear?

On the cheeks, it’s quite amazing and lasts through the whole work day but do note that I do to set it with a dusting of powder. It’s a personal preference because these don’t feel heavy or sticky on so you can choose not to (and those with dry skin may even prefer not to) but I feel a dusting of powder helps with the longevity and also blends the whole look together.

See below:

On the lips though, I would say they aren’t stellar performers because there is no staining involved, if that is what you are after. I don’t blame them, given the smooth and emollient texture, it is good enough that they weren’t drying on the lips (to me) and it felt quite comfortable having them on for as long as they lasted.

I don’t notice these settling into lines either because they have a slight ‘fluffiness’ to them, making your lips appear a little plush (as you can see from swatches above), so in all I think they are quite kind on the lips in terms of wear.

In all?

I am usually not one for multi-purpose lip and cheek products, as I have said I believe, but I am really quite impressed with these. I’m even more impressed that I reach for these for both the purposes – lips and cheeks. I personally feel these are very worth checking out and could very well be the latest ‘it’ item in the makeup scene because of how wonderful the formula is and how lovely the shades are.

I think they are permanent so while there is no rush to get them, you can ponder your selection, but they are definitely worth a swatch or two.

The YSL Baby Doll Kiss & Blush retails for S$50 and will be available in April or May at all YSL Counters.

These will be added to the permanent range.

Thanks for reading!

9 thoughts on “The Lowdown – YSL Baby Doll Kiss and Blush (Cheek & Lip Swatches)

  1. HarrietChow says:

    At first I thought they would be similar to Canmake’s Whip Mousse Lip (which I adore), I’m proven wrong by your lovely swatches! YSL’s finish seems to be dewier which is nice too.

  2. Makeupremastered says:

    Hi
    I love your review and colour combinations.I just reviewed a few of them as well and could not agree more that they are amazing! -I need some more !

  3. icyabstract says:

    HarrietChow: Hello! Oh, I had no idea Canmake put out a product like that, now I am intrigued! Shall go look into that and check it out. And thank you, I’m glad the swatches were of help to you! :) Yes, the YSL ones have a slight dewy-glossy nature to them despite the ‘matte’ finish claimed by the brand, it’s quite lovely!

  4. icyabstract says:

    Makeupremastered: Hello and so glad that you like the images! :) Yes, the texture is quite a dream and glad to know you like them too, your picks are lovely!

Leave A Reply!

