Fresh, Clean Skin with EHA Clinic's Deep Cleansing Facial

Before I give my blog a little pat on the back and leave it to be its independant self while I scoot to Japan, let me first share this skin cleansing and prepping session I had the privilege of trying out.

So, as with my last facial mention, my skin is facing some dark days…

Okay, maybe that is exaggerating it but while scrolling through my Picasa Albums, I felt a little sob at how perfect my skin was during my pregnancy days.

Granted that has been awhile ago, this whole while (a whole damn year), my body has been balancing my crazy hormones out and that has resulted in some less-than-perfect skin days of late. I conclude normalcy has returned…

Aside from it being hormonal, the slight neglect I’ve left my skin in (really y’all, I just slap on moisturizers on some nights, no serums nada) due to time and what other random life excuse I can find, I know my skin has been a little clogged, a little icky and probably desperately crying out for more TLC.

So my point being, this Deep Clean came at a great time! While I did experience the Jet PR3 Facial a good while ago, that was targetted at prepping the skin for the complementing range and not a full-out cleansing facial session, as this one is.

My facial session took place at EHA Clinic which lies at a quiet portion of town – the office side of things over at Shaw Towers.

A quick pan of their ‘holding area’ lets you know that at EHA Clinic everything is kept minimal, yet functional. While they don’t have lavish furnishings, they make up for that with a whole arsenal of equipment stashed away behind a false wall.

Yeap, I got a peek of it, heh!

Here’s a whole wall of their certificates and accolades, incase you had any doubts.

At EHA Clinic, they genuinely pride themselves on giving the best of their abilities to the customers hence they do have a policy whereby each client should try (as much as they can from their own end) not to be late for their facial appointments.

Being late means the beautician would have to rush through your appointment which would then take away from being thorough and proper about it, hence!

Though I suppose we all try not to be late for facial sessions for the same reason as well, I’m guessing.

After I had a good look around and filled up some papers (first time visit and all), I was whisked away to a room to prepare for my Facial Session.

The facial room, like the outside, is simple but functional with machines (that aren’t kept) lining the wall, a bed on one end, a wash basin and also a small cabinet for you to stash your belongings.

What I found surprising was the amount of space in the room, given I have seen my fair share of pretty cramped-up facial rooms since space is precious and more rooms are the ideal.

I wasted no time – because I headed over after work and was really looking forward to dinner after the facial, ha – and got changed (to a robe) and started the facial session.

Step 1 – Cleansing the Skin

As with all facials, the first step is to clean the skin of makeup and dirt.

I’ve made it a point to wear makeup that is fairly easy to remove (I came after work so I had to have on some makeup at least) on days that I have to get a facial done. After all, I don’t want to trouble them with spending 10 minutes just to remove my mascara proper.

At this point, the beautician would access your skin and decide if the treatment you had signed up for is appropriate for your skin or not.

The initial plan was for me to try out EHA’s ReFirme Facial which is a skin firming, brightening, and stimulating facial session that I’ve seen pretty incredible reviews about. Though Vicki (my beautician) decided that my skin’s concerned right now wasn’t all that and if I went ahead with ReFirme, perhaps it could aggravate the clogged pores in my skin and cause breakouts.

Hence, if anything, it’s best to address my skin’s concern of congestion. Thus, I ended up on this route instead, one that my skin was truly in need of – a good cleaning out.

Step 2 – Exfoliating

To rid of any superficial dead skin, Vicki performed a quick exfoliation with those ‘peeling’ sort of exfoliants.

You’ll know what I am refering to once you see the image.

Now, my face is all nice and clean! It’s a little in your face, but here:

Step 3 – Misting the Skin

The next step would be to mist the skin and over here at EHA Clinic, they use a cool mist instead of a warm one.

I have experienced cool misting a couple of times so I didn’t bother enquiring but thinking back I can’t quite recall the full list of benefits but it works to hydrate the skin surface, making it more supple and also soft enough for proper exfoliation and cleansing to follow.

Usually a cool mist is preferred as warm ones will open up the pores (which rightfully is what they want) and if the pores aren’t ‘closed’ properly, it could lead to more dirt and dust clogging in them.

Step 4 – Diamond Peel, Scrubbing That Dirt Out!

Diamond Peel is a procedure I’m certain most are familiar with, just because it is one that is hugely advertised and promoted at beauty salons for being an incredibly non-invasive way to scrub (or rather suck) your skin clean.

Though I think, I really can’t recall right, that this is my first time having a go at it and well, I suppose it works!

It looks kinda creepy photographed but I assure you I felt no pain or discomfort through the procedure and Vicki was careful to skirt around the delicate skin portion (undereye area).

If anything, maybe a little sadistic sound, I liked the feeling of the suction and I can almost envision the icky bits of dirt being sucked up and away into dead-skin-abyss by the powerful ‘vacuum’.

Step 5 – Getting Hands On… aka Extractions

Okay, I will admit I have a love/hate relationship with extractions.

So let’s start this segment with Vicki offering to clean up my brows by shaping and triming them a little.

So… about extractions.

While there are many new beauty / facial innovations and a crapload of machines that can suck through varying layers of your epidermis or cleanse / scrub away at your dead skin like a magic eraser, I feel that nothing really beats a clean, thorough (albeit painful) extraction process.

Extractions have a bad name and I can understand why because they flippin’ hurt and are horrible to endure sometimes. It depends on your treshold and I do get squirmy at some extraction procedures but generally, I can bite my lip and appear cool / calm through it.

Mind over matter, mind over matter

I just remind myself how nice and clean my skin would be once it’s over.

Since I had some annoying spots and bumps on my face, I was ever grateful for the extraction process for properly cleansing those icky bumps out, even if it came at the cost of a reddish spot after.

But I’ve come to learn it’s a little journey you have to endure because my skin is always that much smoother (less bumpy) and cleaner a week after the extraction process.

So yes, I am quite pro-extractions…

Though to give credit to this place, the extraction process was the usual bout of wincing but nothing too painful or stinging and Vicki was skilled in being quick and thorough about it so I didn’t have to endure this for long.

Step 6 – Daily Dose of Vitamin C

After squishing and pinching my face about, Vicki proceeded to put a Vitamin C infused mask on for me.

The purpose of this, as Vitamin C is known for, is to promote skin rejuvenation and also speed up the healing process after the previous step of extracting and poking about the skin.

Vitamin C also helps to nourish the skin and improve the skin’s radiance, giving you a healthy glow! Very much as if you took a dose of Vitamin C!

Step 7 – The Massage!

I think this step needs no explanation – it was awesome, relaxing and totally necessary!

Using a Lavender scented oil, Vicki massaged my face / head, neck, as well as shoulders. It was simple and quick but so perfect to slowly wrap up the facial session.

Step 8 – Treatment Masks

The last step of the facial would be this, the treatment mask where Vicki specially mixed up a Lavender-infused face-mask for me (would differ with your skin concern) because that helps with controlling sebum production in the skin, especially so for my T-zone, as well as soothe the skin after the extraction process.

On top of that, Vicki also mixed up a hot-eye mask for me. While I had heard of these hot-eye masks before, trying one for myself was quite an experience. It was totally calming, soothing and the slow emitting warmth from the mixture felt extremely comforting on my skin, I loved it!

I look ridiculous but I DON’T CURRRR, as long as I had my clean glowy skin after, who cares if I look like the hulk with whipped cream over my eyes. Ha!

After Thoughts…

While parts of my face felt a little sore from the extraction, I was so pleased with how clean my skin felt (to me) that I snapped this shortly after I left EHA Clinic.

No brows, no nothing!

While the facial session, in itself, is a fairly simple and straightforward one that largely reminds me of the general procedures at most facial places, I liked that they included the Diamond Peel machine in the steps for that extra clean.

On top of that, I felt like I was in really good hands with Vicki as she explained my skintype and easily defined my skin issues (which were all spot on, hurhur punny), allowing her to properly recommend the right masks and treatments to better my skin condition.

It had been a good long while since I had done a proper deep cleansing facial and in that time, I guess I had neglected the fact that while I do exfoliate the surface of my skin from time to time, dirt and such does build up under the layers of the skin causing congestion and bumps to happen. No wonder I had been suffering from random icky bumps for awhile, I believe my skin was at its treshold of ickiness.

Here are some shots right after the facial (once I got home), where everything is still a little red and sore.

Importantly, check out how clean my nose / pores are!

As I said, it does get red and sore for the first couple of days but my skin healed up really quickly and by the 1 week mark, it was starting to look ‘normal’ again.

Of course a whole lot cleaner, less bumpy and with my pores feeling a lot more refined.

Here’s my face about a week later:

My skin looks a lot clearer and of course less agitated now, as compared to how it was right after the facial. While I can’t exactly photography this aspect, my skin felt a lot smoother and in a way, less congested too.

Congestion is something I can’t really snap a photo of but you know when your skin just feels cleaner, less itchy and ‘dirty’, somehow a lot clearer?

Yes, that was exactly how I felt.

Promotion for My Readers!

Now if you’re in need of a deep cleanse yourself, I’ve got a little treat for you all – a special promo price just for my readers!

Enjoy the Deep Cleansing Facial at a special price of S$98 (U.P. S$150) simply by following EHA Clinic over at their Facebook Page and private message them that you are a reader of Ic
yabstract,
or call 6235 3325 to book your appointment and let them know!

EHA is located at 1 Scotts Road, #15-01 Shaw Centre, 228208

Regardless of our busy schedules in life, it is essential to give our skin that deep cleanse every once in awhile, just to keep it in tip-top condition so it can better absorb all the other products that we lay on it!

Do share, do you go for a facial session on a regular basis?

Thanks for reading!

Leave A Reply!

