In Some Dior News…

Okay, one more (forrealz), before I go!

I am mass churning these out in pictorial style because they are all already out and about (in Singapore) so it’s best I get word of them out first before I return from Japan a week later and it’s suchhhh old news.

Though yes, I do know that most of the time I am trailing and jogging behind makeup news, a little breathless and a heaving heap of mess but… for once, I shall run along with the masses?

Wait up for me!

So anyway, you’ve seen pictures of these, you’ve probably heard a lot about them, especially because the makeup scene was abuzz with news of these interesting Dior Lip products.

Is it a lipgloss? No.

Is it a lipstick? No.

Is it a lipstain? Not really…

So what exactly are these?

Dior calls them Fluid Sticks, I call them awesomely glossy and pigmented lips in a swipe!

If juicy translucent jelly lips that pack quite a punch are your thang, then pop by your nearest Dior counter right now to grab these up!

Available in an array of 16 colors, this water-based (yes, you heard right) lip formula is made to slide on moist and cool on your lips and leave a close hug of glossy pigmentation as the water evaporates with wear, leaving you a dense layer of color and shine.

I know the first question on many people’s minds would be how these compare to the YSL Glossy Stain. Well, off-hand (and this is really pre-mature), my impression would be these run a little thicker (but they’re still runny in comparison to glosses) and aren’t as aqueous as the Glossy Stains but the eventual ‘dry down’ feel of a dense balmy layer feels very similar.

I’ll give you more thoughts / information about these along with a proper swatch and showcase to come.

Though in the meanwhile here’s a little selfie of how Artifice (one of the 4 IT colors), a vivid orange-red, wears on me. To give you an idea of how they wear, with lovely pigmention and a jelly shine.

I don’t care that we don’t have ‘seasons’ here but these are so perfect for that whole summer-gloss makeup trend, especially so for people who don’t typically like glosses! Ahem ahem, me.

As I said, this is a quick touch and go, so I hope the pictures themselves serve as a good feast in the meanwhile.

Lips aside, after Dior had successfully launched their Gel Top Coat (not actually a gel, but gives that plush glossy effect), it was only a matter of time before they infused that same glossy long-wearing quality into their usual line-up.

Well, that time is here as Dior is doing an overhaul and replacing all their current Dior Vernis with a new and improved formula – the Dior Vernis Couture Effet Gel.

I’ve only got one of these babies swatched, in one of the 4 ‘IT’ Colors (complementing the Fluid Stick range), but I’ll give the rest a go once I get back!

Though in the meanwhile, you can head on down to a Dior counter (I recommend the Backstage Studio at ION) and give these a swatch to see how glossy and plush they are!

Do approach the sales assistants before hand to check if what they have are stocks of the new Gel Effect polishes as they are in the midst of replacing the range and it could get a little confusing for them and us alike.

So, did I do this in record time? A quick lowdown of what’s new at Dior right now.

I have some word of the Summer collection to share too but… I think I’ll save that for when I’m back. I feel like I’m running the clock here because I still have a whole luggage to pack so ciao for now!

Again, don’t forget to catch me on instagram if you would like to see glimpses of my trip!

One thought on “In Some Dior News…

Leave A Reply!

