My Pampers Journey #1 – Undisturbed Sleep for Baby & Me!

Hello everyone!

I interrupt the usual slew of beauty posts for a brief intermission to share my thoughts, opinions, experiences (and of course baby snaps) about Pampers! Thanks to Pampers Singapore and OMY.sg, I had the opportunity to give the Pampers Baby Dry series a go and I will be talking about that via my Pampers Journey over the next 5 weeks, with beauty posts inbetween of course.

While diapers is quite a detour from my usual beauty talk, given how majority of my readers are female and with most at some point or another having (or have had) kids of their own, learning a little more about this basic and daily necessity is as important as knowing which eyeliner will last through the day and what lipstick can perk up your appearance ;)

Trust me, I was ignorant about it and learnt it the hard way through wet beds, soiled clothes and the list goes on…

When I was younger (college days), I used to think sleep was for the weak.

No kidding, I used to dislike sleeping and even if I did, it would be the bare minimum amount of hours – bed at 3am and wake at 8 plus in the morning – just to quickly recharge myself and get back to doing work or whatever else I had in mind.

Unfortunately while I don’t feel the same about sleep now, I need and crave it as much as I can, baby seems to have taken after my old mentality.

Whoever came up with the saying to ‘sleep like a baby‘ obviously hasn’t seen Baby K.

Okay, granted yes when she is asleep she does appear very peaceful and tranquil but getting her to sleep is a whole different thing…

If only babies could just, like adults, hop into bed and tuck themselves in, right?

But alas, life isn’t all that simple and this is baby playing around by ‘tucking’ herself in. Admittedly it is so adorable to see her acting grown up-ish but in her terms, this is all fun and games because look at those eyes! They don’t seem like they are ready for bed anytime soon…

It’s Way Past Your Bedtime, Baby…

Since her infant days, hubs and I had busied ourselves with finding out how to coax her to sleep, how to make baby sleep on her own, how to have her sleep through the night, so on and so forth.

Truthfully, sleep is one aspect that we really struggled with through the whole of baby’s little life thus far and even till today she doesn’t sleep through the night and has no set bedtime. She certainly doesn’t sleep at 8pm only to wake the next morning at 7am, as compared to what a lot of parents seem to flaunt.

For the longest while we were a little dampened by the lack of ‘improvement’ in her sleep schedule and definitely a lot more tired out as opposed to the pre-baby era where you could sleep and wake at anytime you desire.

Though I guess what I am trying to say is, while yes I agree there are many tips out there to help you prepare baby for bed, don’t feel despaired if your baby is very much like our little monkey here and refuses her bedtime. Everyone shares tips and tricks on how to help their baby sleep and sometimes reading some of these would in turn make you feel more despair when they don’t seem to work for your little one. Something must be wrong, right? Well, not always and every little baby is different. Perhaps rejoice that you have an inquisitive baby or rejoice in your playful little being wanting to stay up for more cuddles, kisses and playtime!

At least that’s what we choose to think because Hubs and I do come home late from work so we attribute baby’s late nights to her wanting to play with us.

See, monkey business in action!

Baby K’s Bedtime Routine

No matter how much a routine doesn’t help actually soothe her to sleep, we still adopt one because it helps us to get everything out of the way before we enter the bedroom and hopefully, in time to come, she will learn to associate that with bedtime.

I know it’s a long and tedious road ahead for our super active Baby K but one step at a time and you never know!

  1. First we wipe baby down with a warm cloth to freshen her up
  2. Next we change her into her PJs
  3. Then we change her diapers (and this lasts her through the night)
  4. Finally we brush her teeth and have her guggle / drink some water.

That’s the little routine we adopt and after all that is done, she does her rounds of waving goodnight and blowing flying kisses to the in-laws before we usher her into our air-conditioned room and hope she sleeps soon.

Uninterrupted Sleep Through the Night

Since baby is a late-sleeper, the last thing we want is for her sleep to be interrupted because truth is truth, babies need as much sleep as they can get for mental development and growth.

Studies have shown that a well-rested baby is usually more focussed through the day, more cheery, alert, and will be able to interact / play better through the course of the day.

Happy babies are usually easier to deal with and more fun to play with too so it certainly helps you if your baby is in a good and happy mood!

After all, who wouldn’t want to wake up to a (chubby chubby) face like this!

If a baby doesn’t get enough rest at night, they tend to be a little moodier, disoriented and also more prone to falling asleep any and everywhere regardless of how comfortable (or not) a position is.

Here’s one of us leaving the house in the morning and baby dozing off while initially being seated on my lap.

While we can’t change baby’s sleeping schedule (which we hope to eventually), what we can do to prolong her rest period is to encourage and enable her to sleep through the night without stirring or waking her.

As mentioned, even at 18 months baby still stirs awake at night to feed (more for comfort I’m sure) and I am still nursing her so according to statistics the next real worry for me would be damp diapers! Grr!

Dry Bottoms, Dry Bed

Thankfully (or not) for me, baby wasn’t the nit-picky sort that minded a wet diaper too much. Unless it truly was soaking damp and heavy then only would she start to point and pat her little bottoms, yes it’s quite adorable.

But the downside of baby not minding a damp diaper is that sometimes the diaper itself is damp to the point that it leaks onto the bed (while she sleeps) if it is already too full.

Another case would be with some diapers that are thicker and not as breathable, once damp these tend to remain

‘moist’ and this causes baby’s already sensitive skin to flare up and have a mild case of nappy rash.

Neither of the situations is desirable because in case of a leaked diaper, waking the household up at night to clean baby up, change the diapers, change the bedsheets and for me to change my pyjamas followed by probably soothing an already woken baby back to sleep versus a sensitive red and painful looking baby bottom caused by nappy rash are both situations you certainly don’t want to be in and Pampers Baby Dry certainly has the solution to these!

If you have noticed, the new Baby Dry series boasts a 12-hour dry-ness to the diapers allowing for baby to have a good night’s sleep. The diaper is thin and breathable yet don underestimate it’s absorbancy as it soaks up the fluids but yet somehow still keeps the surface of it dry to the touch (yes, gross enough but I touched it to be sure my baby’s bottom is not kept moist and damp through the night).

Thanks to the ‘Sleep-Layer’ within, you can ensure that the fluids are well absorbed and does not interfere with the comfort of the diaper.

Case in point, I particularly like how ‘slim’ Pampers Baby Dry still appears to be even after a whole night’s duty. Some other brands I have tried tend to really puff up and get really ‘soaked’ when worn overnight and I can imagine that the moist, damp and ‘inflated diaper’ feeling would be so uncomfortable for baby.

Though here’s how Pampers Baby Dry looks after being worn on for the whole night, it’s still fairly slim and definitely doesn’t look as if it has ballooned to the size of a float.

I didn’t manage to snap a comparison of how puffy any other brand worn overnight would be because I was too impressed with how dry and also how breathable Pampers Baby Dry seemed to perform overnight that that was all I made baby wear from here on.

I know it’s gross snapping a shot of a used diaper but I assure you, Pampers Baby Dry absorbs it all so well the diaper itself looks almost brand new though it has been used overnight!

Another feature I especially like was the ‘frills’ and snug protection that Pampers Baby Dry’s design offered.

Baby is one who loves to sleep on the side so chances of pee leaking out by the side is highly possible especially if baby happens to move too much at night or somehow the diaper isn’t worn well due to her being a wiggle-worm.

Though thus far, given the design of how Pampers Baby Dry is and how snug yet comfortably it fits, we haven’t had any issues and have been enjoying a nice and dry bed! This is the longest streak in awhile and I am keeping my fingers (and toes) crossed!

With that we can feel safe cuddling and snuggling with our little ball of a baby and not fear that she will pee / leak all over us!

And we can wake up to her cheeky and smiley well-rested self knowing that she had slept through the night comfortably with a baby soft dry bottom in the morning even in diapers that have lasted her a whole night!

I’m definitely very pleased with my Pampers Baby Dry experience so far and so thankful I got to experience this new range / revamp!

I’ll be sure to share what’s new about this Baby Dry range as opposed to what Pampers used to offer and how these added features loves your baby as much as you do.

Thank you Pampers Singapore and OMY.sg for this opportunity. Stay tuned for more about my Pampers Journey, this is only Part 1!

Do check out Pampers’s Everyday Me website for more information and parenting tips and tricks!

Thanks for reading and I’ll be back again with more shortly ;)

2 thoughts on “My Pampers Journey #1 – Undisturbed Sleep for Baby & Me!

  1. rhaindropz says:

    wow.. this is great dear.. i have tried papmpers here in the philippines but my baby got rashes =( so we switched to huggies now..

  2. icyabstract says:

    rhaindropz: Aww sorry to hear! Did you try the new and improved Baby Dry range, it’s got pretty good improvements! :)

Leave A Reply!

