Skin Rambles – My Current Skincare Routine & Eczema Battling

Hello you guys!

Hope everyone is doing well amidst our insanely warm and stuffy weather of late. Without a doubt, the hot and humid months are upon us. As if Singapore isn’t hot and humid enough already!

Nonetheless, this heat, humidity and stuffiness isn’t the only thing dampening my moods as I seem to be slipping into a state of constant drab-ness. I have been feeling so lackluster and uninspired of late, not just for the blog but at work and all. It seems like my well of ‘creative juices’ had dried up in the heat and I’m left with nothing but a void of words and a constant distracted / uninterested feeling.

I hate this phase I am going through right now but I would like to think that perhaps it is just fatigue and the amount of workload getting to me – too much to think about my mind can’t seem to calm down enough to process my own thoughts.

Regardless, I just wanted to ramble aimlessly about nothing at all but yet about something in particular. It feels soothing to do this without having to assure that my rambles must be of a certain standard hence, right now, here I am taking the mic to ramble on about what I am currently using on my skin.

Are you interested to know? It can get a little lengthy, as if it isn’t already, hurhur.

So… skin!

Well, starting with skincare, I have been using the Jet Concepts Liquid Laser skincare for a good while and while that yielded pretty good results – I do genuinely see my skin recovering from zits and spots much quicker – my skin has been craving something a little milder, simpler and thirst-quenching.

With that, I have since popped back to my L’OCCITANE Angelica skincare routine because, as I had mentioned, this is a fail-proof, mild and great way for me to treat my skin to nothing but moisture and a gentle healing process.

It’s a great way to ‘cleanse my skin’s palate’ in a sense, in between any strong serums or harsh infusions I may be using.

Here’s a run down of what I am using in my current simple and fresh skincare routine:

  • Angelica Transparent Face Soap (not pictured, but see here)
  • Angelica Face Toner
  • Iris Angelica Essence Sublime (bottle #2!)
  • Angelica Hydra Vital Cream and Hydra Vital Gel
  • Oshairee White Wrinkle Filler Eye Ampoule

Most of the stuff I am using now have been featured on my blog at one point or another though there are some new-comers and contenders to this routine.

First of all, the Angelica Hydra Vital Cream and Hydra Vital Gel are new additions to the L’OCCITANE Angelica skincare range, set to replace the current Hydration Cream (that will be discontinued).

I will be talking about these proper in an entry to come but these cream and gel variants feature the good ole Angelica infusions (water, root oil etc), along with an inclusion of an extra nourishing ingredient.

All that, coupled with a new, light-weight and refreshing formulation, these are said to get along better with Singapore’s climate while still providing your skin with the same dose of hydration and a soft veil of protection.

Another new thing to my routine would be this Oshairee White Wrinkle Filler Eye Ampoule!

I am actually quite excited about using this because the people that have recommended it to me sing praises about it and how it does help with puffiness around the eye area and of course easing soft lines / wrinkles.

Unbeknown to many, fine-lines and creeping wrinkles about my eye area is actually a huge concern of mine. It isn’t noticeable from a distance (thankfully) but they are there and you will get to see them in due time, when I put my entry about this product up. I am still in the midst of testing it so I can’t speak for its efficacy just yet but I am keeping my fingers crossed!

Though the serum aside, I absolutely love the cooling roller-ball applicator used to dispense and massage on the eye serum. It makes it an absolute joy to use and I can easily look past any hygiene concerns I might otherwise have. It’s just too nice an applicator!

So anway, all that to come in due time but for now, at least here’s an idea of what I am using on my face as of now!

Face aside, I have been facing some skin woes and eczema annoyance of late.

That’s the reason why you see some redness and bumps on my fingers in some pictures and if you have seen me in person of late you would notice bumps and rash along my legs.

It’s really not pretty but I have been plagued by eczema my whole life that I am quite accustomed to this. Though of late they have been worsening to the point of the ‘outbreaks’ not even getting better.

Those familiar with eczema would know the rash typically comes and goes but this time around it has been coming and not going. In fact it seemed to be getting worst so I knew something had to be done and arranged a session with the National Skin Centre.

I haven’t gone there since I was 10!

I was prescribed a round of Fucicort (steroid cream with anti-biotic) and a milder step-down cream for when things got better, as well as a QV Flare Up wash because I had already put myself on a Cetaphil routine, the doc didn’t prescribe that for me.

So yes… after a few days my skin is certainly seeing a great improvement! I don’t want to speak too soon (like I always do) but… if this keeps up I’ll be back to nail swatching business in no time, yippee!

p.s. I don’t swatch my nails when my eczema is bad because removing polish is a pain, a true pain with the polish remover in contact with my rash and whatnot.

All you neglected bottles of polish, mama is coming for you real soon! Just hang tight!

You guys too, I’ll be back in action once I iron down this madness at work (I keep repeating myself, ha) but hopefully with that out of the way my mind can be more focused and calm in churning out posts.

Thanks for hanging by and thanks for reading, I’ll catch up again real soon!

Leave A Reply!

