Lancôme Rambles: New Lancôme Hypnôse Star Eyes Palettes (Swatches)

Heya!

Thanks for the patience on here while I collect my thoughts in the midst of work madness, along with my words that seem to have left me somewhere along the way.

Though I wanted to quickly put up this mention and throw some spotlight to these pretty underrated but incredibly awesome offerings from Lancôme.

The Lancôme Woman…

Before I start though, I guess I wanted to ramble a little about Lancôme as a brand. From what I see, at least, Lancôme is best known for some of their skincare products – most notably Genefique and Visionnaire. However skincare aside, the brand has constantly been reinventing its makeup range that to date, I dare say their offerings are pretty darn awesome for the Lancôme woman.

By that – the Lancôme woman – I mean someone who is mature but youthful, dares to thread gently in color but likes to embrace sophistication, doesn’t mind sparkles but likes to do it subtlely. After all, when it comes to portraying Lancôme in makeup, it is always about an effortlessly put-together look that is easy to achieve and understatedly classy. Never flashy.

Thus they may not throw out the most striking of blues or have sparkliest of shimmer / glitter, nor would they have the most strikingly matte red lip look but it is always easy, effortless and frankly quite perfect.

So to put them against the hip and happening ranks of other brands out there, they may feel ‘plain’, ‘simple’, or always similar in their own ways but yet if you truly ask me to grab something that I know works, somehow a good number of the products always tend to be Lancôme offerings.

So anyway, long story short I just wanted to throw that out there because I just felt a little odd about why some of Lancôme’s staple and pretty awesome pieces aren’t as widely talked about or raved as much as items from other brands when they are just as good or even better.

Case in point?

These Lancôme Hypnôse Star Eyes Palettes.

There is more to the range, as I have talked about here but these three new additions bring with them a mix of textures for all y’all neutral lovers.

Because you can never have enough neutral palettes in your stash, right am I?

Off-hand I don’t have proper home-shots of these palettes in better light so you’ll just have to prevew it here via a warm ambient lighting but it’s good enough! I color adjusted them as slightly as possible but just enough for true-er tones to show.

What makes these 3 newcomers so different from what was already available?

Well, a new mix of neutral tones aside, these 3 palettes contain a more diverse mix of textures – featuring smooth satin shades amongst equally soft pearly or shimmery tones, to create a more dimensional eye look.

The earlier range of palettes are generally made up of shimmery or pearly tones, which are thankfully very fine and smooth allowing them to be easy to work with. Though if you are a fan of something more understated than you would have craved a smoother satin or matte finish amongst the shades, the darkest defining tone aside that is.

So, here is a small capsule collection to answer your call!

ST7 Brun Au Natural

DR6 Gris Au Natural

DO8 Taupe Au Natural

Of the lot, it’s no surprise that Taupe Au Natural and Brun Au Natural caught my eye first. As much as I think Gris Au Natural is a lovely and murky take on neutrals, I just didn’t think that it is a neutral I would reach for often enough.

After some pondering, I settled on Brun Au Natural because I felt the Taupe variant is a little too close to my beloved Lancôme Hypnôse Palette in Fraîcheur Rosée, no matter how pretty and sparkly that second from left swatch is.

Though I don’t have the palette on hand to swatch and show but I will soon!

After all, I still have more Lancôme lovelies to talk about first so that can wait, since it is permanent after all.

These Lancôme Hypnôse Star Eyes Palettes are permanent and retail for S$90 at all Lancôme counters island-wide.

Thanks for reading!

Leave A Reply!

