Dior Summer 2014 – 5 Couleur in Atlantique (Swatches)

Right… what did I tell you about my entries often being mighty late?

Well, I do have a bit of an apology to make with regards to the delay of this entry. Not for me being too tied up to write it, which is also a reason but that is so expected of that I probably don’t have to apologize for it, ha.

Instead, the reason (or rather one of the reasons) I took my time with this (work aside) is that I wasn’t expecting much of it.

Sad but true, Dior’s 5 Couleur palettes have been getting more disappointing by the collection and while I will say that Golden Sand from the holiday pieces weren’t too bad, it wasn’t stellar either.

So perhaps I expected the same ‘meh’-ness to this but I was quite wrong…

Though it is a little late for me to be announcing this now and I can only hope that everyone may have assumed the same and gave this a miss thus leaving it still in stock at the counters? Heh.

The dressier and more color-packed variant in Dior’s 2014 Transatlantique Summer collection, Atlantique has strong and varying tones of beautiful blues along with a smooth medium-brown to help tone it all down. As much as it is able to, that is.

At a glance I will say this palette scares me, only because I haven’t done prominently colored or smokey eye looks in a long while, ever since I switched over to embracing glasses.

Though part of me is intigued with the combination and I would likely wear this is in the most subtle of ways, not doing enough justice to the gorgeous hues of blues but I will try and give you my take on this beauty.

One of the reasons I have been facing continual disappointments with Dior’s recent 5 Couleur releases is because of the pigmentation and texture that the shadows carry.

Given I wasn’t expecting full on intense swipes with them, the shadows are usually a little gritty or generally sheer hence making them seem very similar when swatched.

Though this is where Atlantique seems to have excelled and redeemed the reputation of 5 Couleurs a little because while the colors may be something I wouldn’t shout about (blue and me… hmm), the texture alone excites me.

Seeing them swatched along side each other, it’s almost as if they are beckoning me to create a look, just so I can see for myself how beautifully they would blend and work with each other.

Every color swatches distinctively and smoothly, with great pigmentation (by Dior’s standards that is).

I can’t even find a fault with the texture even if I wanted to because they are all quite lovely. From the icy translucent shimmer (which felt pretty smooth and not gritty) to the pearlescent mid-tone blue and even the darkened jewel-tone sapphire.

Even a color like that seafoam green, which can come off chalky, was smooth and not chalky once blended.

Call me impressed!

So yes, I know it’s a little late to rave if they happen to be sold out by now (I wouldn’t be surprised, it’s been out awhile) and my bad for picking up on this so late.

If for some reason these are still available, I highly recommend you to pick them up (though prices have been… well, pricey of late) becauase it is one of the better 5 Couleurs I have seen in awhile.

I’ll try to do up an eye look soon once I’ve mustered the courage to slap blue on my eyes once more. And to think I used to plop this on and head out, no problemo!

Dior’s 5 Couleur in Atlantique retails for S$102 and is Limited Edition – Part of the Transatlantiq Summer collection

Thanks for reading!

Leave A Reply!

