LOTD: That Nude-Ombre Lip Obsession

So, even though words are failing me now, makeup sure isn’t and I have been going through my own fair share of… makeup phases. You could call it that.

One that I have been dabbling in for awhile would be the Nude-Ombre lip look. I have sported this on numerous occasions be it a more dressy variant or a more subtle one for a natural / daily look. It’s just that I haven’t quite gotten around to talking about it on here, word block and all.

Until now that is!

So… for those who may not have seen it, what is a Nude-Ombre lip?

Well, frankly it isn’t a very new look because I’m sure this has made its rounds on runways and the editorial makeup scene.

It is only of late that it is brought to the mainstream makeup scene, possibly by some K-Wave but eitherways I am not here to debate its origin or how this lip look got its shot to stardom.

I am simply here to express my love for it and in a very dramatic LOTD, no less.

I assure you, there are more natural ways to wear the ombre lip but lets start with a bang, shall we?

I will give you a product breakdown but if you must know, like right now, what I used for my lips is MAC’s Lip Erase in Dim (Pro) and Lancôme’s Lip Lover in 362 Bordeaux Tempo.

I happened to be in a dramatic crimson-toned eye makeup phase as well… hence the dramatic eye and equally dramatic lip mix up. Heh.

Well, makeup is about bending the rules, yeah?

If you ask me, what is it about this Nude-Ombre lip look that I like… it would be a little hard for me to explain. But something about them gives this slightly natural (ironic for a dramatic look), sensual and yet girly vibe. That, and I have always liked the ‘berry-stained’, post-kool-aid or ice-pop sort of a lip gradient.

Except this is doing it in a whole new and deliberate way with a pretty clear nude and color portion. As opposed to a gradient lip look with varying intensities.

As much as these give a ‘effortless’ (I don’t care to apply my lipstick properly y’all) look, it actually requires a little more effort than the usual color-within-the-lines way of slapping lip color on.

Depending on how dramatic you prefer it to be, there could be some lip concealing involved, blending after the color goes on and even more concealing to perfect the look.

So it isn’t as effortless as it seems… but it sure looks it!

BROWS
Lancôme Le Sourcil Pro Brow Pencil

FACE
YSL CC Cream in Apricot
Urban Decay NAKED Skin Loose Powder

EYES
Lancôme La Base Paupières Pro in 01
MAC Eyeshadow in Real Drama
L’oreal Infinite Wear Eyeshadow in Brazilian Duo
Star Lash Liquid Liner in Black
MAC Powerpoint liner in Engraved

CHEEKS
Model Co Cheek & Lip Tint

LIPS
MAC Pro Lip Erase in Dim
Lancôme Lip Lover in 362 Bordueax Tempo

Frankly, this look would have been a lot more ‘put-together’ and not as avant garde-ish as it looks right now if I had thrown on some proper lashes or maybe even false lashes but with me and glasses these days, lashes just get in the way of things.

I have also noticed that, maybe it is due to me skipping out mascara for a good while but wearing it again seems to irritate my eyes a little. Grr. It isn’t expired / old or gross either.

Ah well.

Though enough of me and this, for now. I’ll probably be back with more nude-ombre lip looks that I have done and snapped during the peak of this obsession.

As of now, while I still love nude-ombre lips, I haven’t been throwing them on all that often. I have a bit of a new phase creeping up on me and that is the pink-red-hued eye sort of a look.

Almost like you’re tired, but it is kept edgy with a slick of eyeliner but overall not over the top because I still need to look normal for work.

So anyway, that will come soon so until then, thank you for reading!

Leave A Reply!

