Beauty Issues Plaguing You Right Now…

Inspired by Karen (of Makeup and Beauty Blog)’s entry about Beauty Issues Beseiging her as of now, I have decided to compile my own list… just to round up the little nagging thoughts in my mind and dis-satisfaction about my own skin.

Of course, I feel entries like these must always be prefaced with some disclaimer, not for any justification purpose but just to say that naturally the word ‘issues’ is used in the most frivolous of ways here.

Plus, as much as these itty bitty problems sometimes has me scrutinizing my own skin and wishing better, I have accepted that a lot of this is part of me and sometimes I do see some light in these otherwise ‘problems’.

Of course there are no light in some of them but let’s just say it could be worst and I’m glad it’s not.

First up…

Brows, Or the Lack Thereof.

A long standing makeup woe, my lack of brow definition is something that has plagued me for a long while and in some aspects while I am grateful for it (because I don’t have to bleach them lighter when my hair gets lighter), what I would give to just throw on some clear brow gel haphazardly or just comb my brow hairs in place during my makeup-off-days.

See here, no brows:

With brows:

Now that I am accustomed to how I look with my brows filled in, I try to at least comb on some brow definition even during quick weekend runs.

Thank god for Benefit’s Gimme Brow which does gimme brows, in the most natural of ways. It isn’t the best for shaping but it does a good job of shading and making it appear as if I had these natural frames to begin with – when I sadly don’t. Boohoo.

Fine Lines. Yes, you read right.

I know. Every single time I share about the woes of me spotting finelines around my eye area, everyone’s first response is “psssshhhh, but you’re so young!

And deep inside I am thinking… how is that helping me right now.

Sad but true, for some reason I have had very fine lines creeping about my eye area since my early 20s. It could be my eye rubbing habit which I am trying insanely hard to curb and control right now, or it could be me pulling around my eye area during contact lens wearing days. It is likely a combination of both, along with some genetics but given that, no amount of eye cream slapping has helped me along with it so far.

I’m still trying and looking around, hoping one day I can find that miraculous cure but I understand that if it is genetically inherited (somehow, grr), there is really no way around it.

Watery Eyes Be Gone!

My eyes sound so problematic right about now.

Aside from the issues of fine lines, I also suffer from uncontrollably watery eyes. Though as far as this issue is concerned, there are good days and then there are the incredibly horrid.

It doesn’t help that my eyes seem to be especially sensitive these days with me being way more susceptible to having them (my right eye especially) run like it is attempting to drain the moisture out of my body through that over-active tear duct.

On a stay-home day, I really couldn’t care less but on a day I am all dolled up with makeup and liner, it’s a huuuuuge pain in the A–. I already have some issues with keeping liner on in my outer-corner and with this thrown it, it’s basically a liner melt-down in that corner, the minute I draw it on.

Le sigh!

So I have learnt that as much as possible, during these liner meltdown periods, I simply sport the upper lashline flick and leave my lower lashline bare. Hence you do see this upper-liner-only look on my blog a little more often these days even though I very much prefer to line my lower lashline too for added depth.

This also implies that on most of these days I try to shun events and appearances outside of work, casual friends and home. Hurhur!

A Traffic Jam In My Skin…

So I used to have pretty good skin days and was quite the envy of some pals I know. Though frankly, and sadly, those days are over.

These days, as my skin has started to sink back into its hormonal pile of mess (post-preg and all), I’ve been facing rather erratic moodswings from it – sometimes dry, sometimes oily and most of the times clogged.

Part of it is also my fault and my slight neglect to my skin care routine (simplifying it loads, no masking sessions, not as much pampering…) and also some neglect to skin maintenance but all that has added up to rather clogged pores about my skin these days. I hardly have pore issues but these days I catch myself slapping on a pore minimizer (ala Dior’s Pore Minimizer or Benefit’s Porefessional) more often before foundation.

Of course, I think I have a lot more issues but before this turns into a body image counselling post (you know I am using this light-heartedly, yes?), I shall sign off and wrap these up as my main concerns for now.

Though a good number of them have been concerns for a good while (brows, anyone…) but at the same time when I step back from the mirror and look at myself as a whole, I am glad that while I see my own shortcomings, I find a way about it and hopefully being aware of them would allow me to assess and treat them, making me a better version of myself!

So, tell me, do you personally have some issues that are troubling you and just getting under your skin (hurhur)?

Thanks for reading!

p.s. so it’s madness back at the slaughterhouse work (you know I’m joking yeah?) so even though I haven’t been back much I guess I’m dropping in to say I’m booking myself out of blogging activities this week and maybe next but hopefully not. We shall see how quickly i can kick these all out of the way but… I guess I just wanted to say that regardless if anyone really wandered or not.

p.p.s Seems like the news feed RSS thing isn’t fixed yet and onsugar isn’t getting back to me about it either. I highly suggest anyone getting their feeds via that to maybe follow me on other platforms if you are keen on getting my news! Again, thanks for the support <3

Leave A Reply!

