CLIO Spring Summer 2014 – Gelpressos Go Pastel!

I always love me some CLIO.

I think as far as korean cosmetic brands go, at least the ones I know of, CLIO constantly pushes the boundaries of funky, classic, dramatic, dressy and reserved, all rolled up into one!

They have had their iconic moments with their sleek black liquid liners, followed by shiny and shimmery colored Gel-presso shades and because the typical look of darkened and jeweled liners feel too ‘been there done that’ for CLIO, they’re throwing all sense of restrains out the window for their Spring Summer look – cotton-candy pastels!

A collection of perfectly adorable shades that pack an intense punch of pigmentation!

Available in 4 shades to us, I have with me 3 to showcase.

I know, I know…

Again I am a little late on reporting about these because they have been out for awhile now and it seems that every display shelf I go by, Mintade appears to be a rather popular choice.

I can easily see why… how does one resist a pastel mint-green eyeliner?!

Following that I think Peace One Day (the purple) is getting quite a bit of love as well.

Before you dive headfirst into this pool of bubble gum pop shades, there is one thing you need to understand about shades this light and this stark.

While they may seem relatively harmless, being all gentle and soft, pastels that are this light tend to have a white base about them. This makes them appear a lot bolder and a lot trickier to wear on the lids than opposed to say… an intense metallic lime green.

I’m just saying it hypothetically.

But yes, who would have thought the pastel would knock out a metallic lime green in wearability. But here is me just putting these in perspective.

Though if you are a go-getter, feeling experimental and up for some makeup-fun in the most fuss-free of ways (because pastel eye shadow looks are so much more of a pain to werk than pastel liners), these would be absolutely perfect in spicing a simple look up!

If you are familiar with CLIO’s usual Gelpresso range of eyeliners you would know that they are famed for being smooth and creamy with the fluidity and intensity of a gel liner.

Though I felt that with these Pastel Upper Liners, a little bit of that fluidity and smoothness was lost.

It still draws intense and pigmented but it has lost a little of that sleek glide I quite enjoyed with the earlier variants of Gelpressos I have tried. Though to a certain extent it is still considerably soft and doesn’t tug or pull on the lids with wear – it just appears a tad drier.

The major plus side about these?

There is no need for sharpening! Can I get a resounding ‘YAY’?

If you’re nitpicky about your liners being perfectly pointed each time you use it, you would be glad to know that like all CLIO Gelpressos this comes with an inbuilt ‘sharpener’ as well.

Though I think it’s more like a tip moulder.

One interesting thing I found about these pencils would be how the manufacturing date is printed (clearly) on the pencil itself. Not on some box or piece of paper that comes with that usually ends up in the trash.

Now I’m not certain if the regular range of Gelpressos have that but I thought it was a good thing to have regardless if you pay attention to manufacturing dates or now.

So with all that said, here’s how the 3 shades I have on hand swatch:

The shade I am missing is a lovely soft beige-peach that I managed to swatch in the store (didn’t snap a pic). It is probably the most wearable of the lot, yet would still appear fairly distinct on the lids.

The creamiest shade, of the 3 I have, would be the red as that slides on perfectly without appearing chalky or feeling too creamy / thick.

It’s such a gorgeous red that I feel almost tempted to use it as a lip liner!

Now, about wearing these… CLIO has their own suggestions about it hence the name – Upper Liner.

These are meant to be paired with your usual and signature black liners, somewhat like Upper Storey Liners. Geddit?

If you’re stumped on ways you can flaunt these cheeky and oh-so-interesting liners, CLIO has some pretty cool suggestions for it be it if you’re feeling a little safe and simple today or want to get down and experimental with your looks.

I have a mind to give some of the creative and unique looks a try but as of now I have been donning these in a way that I know best – paired with a black liner, much like the first example in Mintade.

After all, that is the inital intention of these colored buggers, yes?

If you would like to be all decked out in CLIO when putting together these looks, be sure to check out their CLIO Waterproof Pen (or Brush) Liner in Kill Black (S$22.90).

I have actually used up one of each (yes, zomg) and loved it while it lasted so I do recommend you giving that a look if you are on a hunt for a decent black liquid liner.

 

With that said, I’ll wrap up this little introduction entry about these pretty nifty and very cool pastel eyeliners.

It really isn’t everyday that a drugstore brand launches such high intensity pastel shades that perform pretty well.

If you ask me, my favorite of the lot is Peace One Day (purple one – no surprise…) but Pink Stud intrigues me, a lot. Especially so when I am into this whole crimson eye phase as of now be it red liners, shadows or smokey cranberry looks. No thanks to being so drawn to (Orphan Black’s) Helena’s look though hers is a little more druggy-fied.

You get the drift.

So anyway, thanks for reading and if you’re up for some pastel fun or on the hunt for that perfect slick of red (as I am was), then do check these CLIO Gelpresso Pastel Upper Liners out!

CLIO Gelpresso Pastel Upper Liners retail for S$16.90 each and are Limited Edition.

Available at select Watsons stores in Singapore.

As you would have guessed, I have a Look Feature coming up so keep a lookout for that!

 

2 thoughts on “CLIO Spring Summer 2014 – Gelpressos Go Pastel!

  1. Hannah S. says:

    Pink Stud is such a cool colour- you don’t often see properly red eyeliners (Sleek is the only one I know who do it in pencil form) and I’m totally in love with red eye looks too! Having said that, all of the pastel Gelpressos look amazing and..now I want them all. So happy that I saw this post or I’d never have known about the new collection.

  2. icyabstract says:

    Hannah: Yes Pink Stud is quite a beauty and, like you said, so rare because true red liners are hard to come by! You should definitely give these a look, they are quite lovely to use and the colors are all very saturated even though they are pretty pale pastels. Glad to be of help and bring to light these pencils!

Leave A Reply!

