Benefit's Gimmebrow Gives Me Brows!

Ahem ahem, look at what I managed to dig up from the library of forgotten photos.

Hurhur.

If I didn’t go through those hair transformation days I could probably pass this off as a fairly recent review / feature but alas, I still had my ash blonde locks when I snapped these pics (boy, do I miss that blonde… though it was such a pain to maintain).

Even though this mention is highly belated, given I have had this on hand for…forever, I have been giving Benefit’s Gimme Brow a good amount of love across the blog and also on instagram because it is just so darn easy to use!

Before you close this window to run out to get it, let me explain why I like this because the instances that I use this are different from the times when I want a proper and defined brow shape.

So while I have been this teeny tiny tube (a little goes a long way I suppose), it does not substitute my beloved brow pencils and brow mascaras.

Right now, so here we go.

The first point, I should highlight, to deviate any form of shock or disappointment when you see this in person (assuming you haven’t), is just how small and handy this tube is.

When I said teeny tiny above, I really mean teeny tiny!

Though small in size, this little tube does comes packed with an innovative brush-on fibre gel that seems to mimick the concept of brow hairs. It is quite intriguing because while it is a gel that helps comb and cling on to your brow hairs, it does deposit a little color on the skin as well, very much like filling in your brows, but done well so it isn’t an intense glob of color on skin.

I know we all hate it when that happens with some brow mascaras…

Thus, the end product is actually very much natural.

I can’t decide if this product is best for someone with a pretty good brow shape already or someone with barely any brows (such as I) becuase it seems to be between grounds – it fills the brows but doesn’t perfect it.

So it really depends on what you are after but truth is truth, it will give you brows. Whether it be the sort of brows you desire, that is a whole different matter.

One thing I quite like about this cutesy little product is how small and precised the spoolie portion of it is. The small tip allows for easy control be it if you are combing brow hairs in place or drawing some on and possibly one of the reasons that makes this product work.

Benefit’s Gimme Brow is so tiny and small in comparison to Shu’s Brow Manicure.

See how Benefit’s comes with a fairly precise tip too.

Available in 2 colors – Light/Medium and Medium/Deep – I wouldn’t say it is the most versatile if you happen to have more golden or red tones in your hair because both shade offerings have a tad of ashiness amidst the warm brown.

Even Light/Medium can go on a little more medium than golden-brown so… those who fancy Japanese-esque blonde brows, these shades may not quite be for you. Though give them a chance, they can be quite pretty and introduce you to a lovely world of beige-brown brows!

The shade that I have and use is Light/Medium and I feel it works perfectly fine for me through blonde and brunette days.

Though I feel sometimes brow color is not only dependent on your hair color but also your skin tone and perhaps your choice of definition so… take my preference for lighter brows with a pinch of salt.

How To Use?

Becuase this product is quite a novelty, in that it draws on and combs your lashes at the same time, it could leave some wondering how to best work it.

Benefit does provide a quick guide on using Gimme Brow but generally, play around with this using short pressing motions (starting from your arch because it is okay to deposit most color there), brushing along your brow shape and with a couple of tries you should get the hang of using this.

The one little itty bitty thing about this product I don’t quite like is, while precise in point for those with a narrow-er brow, it doesn’t actually give you a precise brow shape.

There is only so much brushing on a brow with a fibre-gel formula can do and needless to say, it wouldn’t be as sharp and defined as drawing on some brows with a firm angled brow brush or brow pencils.

Though, the thing is this product doesn’t claim to give you a sharp clean brow line, instead it is said to give you “thick, lush arches” which it somewhat does as the fibres mimick the look of brow hair, giving you natural definition that isn’t too precise, sharp or… well, unnatural.

Here’s a little photo documentation of the varying steps of Gimme Brow’s application.

Since my brows lack shape, I would usually have to do a little cleaning up after brushing Gimme Brow on, to give myself a cleaner and more defined looking border to my brows.

So after brushing it on and defining it a little, here’s the end product (sans makeup on the rest of my face):

The end result is a very natural looking set of brows and if you are blessed with a pretty defined brow shape already, Gimme Brows could be perfect for adding some oomph and filling in the gaps!

If you, like me, have almost no brows to begin with – sparse fine hairs that hardly hold shape – what this does is to give you a very natural looking brow which is what we want sometimes on fuss-free weekends.

Because when you’re running out bare-faced, sometimes overly defined and crisp brows just don’t quite go…

And call me crazy but there’s just something about having lush, full, yet not entirely neat brows paired with a fresh and relatively bare-face that appeals to me so much. It’s almost as if somehow, in the perfect universe, you rolled out of bed and couldn’t be damned with anything when actually I spent 10 minutes infront of my mirror achieving that look.

Incase you can’t obviously tell what Gimme Brows has given me, here’s a Before and After comparison side by side.

In a sense, this product isn’t rocket science nor will it satisfy everyone out there but for me, I am extremely glad to have found this quick and fuss-free way to draw on (brush on?) some brows over the weekend when all I want is to frame my face yet not look like I actually bothered with makeup.

I love defined brows for more made up purposes but sometimes a natural way about brows has its own appeal.

Benefit’s Gimme Brow retails for S$35 and is a permanent item. Available at all Benefit stores (and Sephora Singapore) island-wide.

Have you tried Benefit’s Gimme Brow? What do you think of it?

Thanks for reading!

Leave A Reply!

