New Site, New Slate

Okay, I will admit this whole new slate thing is also because I have been arm wrestling this blog import option and for some glitchy reason it just wouldn’t work right. I have imported my blog before (as a back up then) so I knew it was quite a straightforward affair but I’m not sure why it is such a chore right now.

Though given that, as I was fretting about how this can best be done, I thought to myself…

Why am I so adamant on including all my old entries?

To a certain extent, yes credibility because it goes to show that I have ‘history’ but readers who know me, and follow me, would know that I have been around and have been writing for a good while so…. maybe I should take this chance to start fresh and anew.

Plus I did do a good amount of customization to my older template so importing all that over could also mean code chaos for some entries so… just, nevermind.

I am still trying to get cozy and comfy with this wordpress hosted blog site and a good number of people did ask me, why not just self-host?

I have probably explained it a few times – while a large part in me thinks it would be so fab to own a .com, another part of me just isn’t sure about the commitment factor of it since I am not even earning from this space (even during times I do, it is incredibly sporadic). So… yes, I like the appeal but am also rather comfortable being hosted somewhere.

Though I can imagine once I get tired of not having the reigns I may consider self-hosting. And hopefully by that time, the idiot that is somehow squatting on icyabstract.com would have released it. Yes, can you believe it? Someone is actually site squatting!

But anyway

Welcome to my new site!

Let me do a quick run down on why I like this little new space better than my Old Onsugar!

  • So new and shiny!
    Self explanatory… Plus did you know that top left banner image changes with every refresh? ;)
  • The cool ‘functions’ enabled –
    aside from the sharing buttons below, if you’re reading my site midway and have to go, simply hit ‘Pocket’ to drop this into your Pocket account (if you have one) to continue reading later!
  • This site is mobile friendly –
    it loads easily on mobile devices (tablets or phones)
  • The RSS loads perfectly fine –
    if you had an issue with Onsugar’s RSS not displaying well, images especially, this one works well allowing you to head it from Blog Readers e.g. Bloglovin’

Speaking of which, do start following my wordpress site over at Bloglovin’!

And for those who hopped on here out of curiosity or something, you can still read my old entries over at icyabstract.onsugar.com. It dates all the way back from 2014 to 2008 so, go knock yourself out!

Thanks for reading and what would you know, it’s the first of August as well – new month!

2 thoughts on “New Site, New Slate

Leave A Reply!

