LOTD: A Lancôme-y Weekend

The last weekend was quite a Lancôme-y affair as I decided to pop by the Grandiôse mascara launch event that was happening at Sephora ION.

I know I often spotlight Lancôme on here but it isn’t for any reason other than the fact that Lancôme’s brand people are generous with their press pieces and are truly looking to spread the makeup love.

It also helps that the new makeup pieces that Lancôme has been putting out have been a joy to use and most of them manage to make their way into my list of daily used items, or even staples because of how easy they are to use (such as being lazy and skipping SPF with Blanc Miracle) and effortlessly polished a look they give (like the Blush Subtils with their soft radiance and flush).

 

So anyway, back to this!

I don’t often attend events over the weekend because it is hard to slot that in amongst errands and family time but because there was a fairly special significance to this event, I decided to pop by and join in the celebrations!

I didn’t put much thought into my outfit given I expected it to be a quick run-by so I did feel a little under dressed amongst all the other very glammed up people, but I wasn’t going to run my errands (after the show) in high heels, a skin-tight skirt along with a baby in tow so… such is life!

Seeing as it was a Lancôme event, I did have a mind to put together, as much as possible, a Lancôme face and it was also a good time for me to finally break into the Hypnôse Star Palette in Brun Au Natural which I have had sitting around but haven’t explored.

This palette is quite a run-of-the-mill neutral palette but leaning towards the golden and warm browns this time instead of the cool ashy taupes I seem to prefer these days.

I am also fiddling about with my new camera so if you do notice a difference to pictures here, that would be why.

The whole process of finding the right lighting, angle, position and way to snap face shots is a whole lot tricker and more of a transition than product shooting, which seems to work so long as the set up is right.

For the lips, I wanted to reach for my trusty Lip Lovers but decided to give some love to a dearly beloved but forgotten product, the Rouge in Love lipsticks.

BROWS
Shu Uemura Hard 9 Brow Pencil in Walnut Brown
Shu Uemura Brow Manicure in Honey Glaze

FACE
Vichy Normaderm Anti-Imperfetion Hydrating Care
Lancôme Blanc Miracle Liquid Foundation
MAC Select Moisturecover Concealer
Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage Palette (concealer)
Urban Decay NAKED Loose Powder (to set)

EYES
Lancôme Aquatique Eye Base in 01
Lancôme Hypnôse Star Eyes in ST7 Brun Au Natural
Starlash Lightning Waterproof Liquid Liner
MAC Powerpoint Liner in Engraved

CHEEKS
Lancôme Blush Subtil in 030

LIPS
Lancôme Rouge in Love in 132M

Purple Divider

About the Lancôme Grandiôse launch event, I didn’t snap many pictures of it because I wasn’t very well-equipped and all I had on hand, baby girl aside, was my iPhone which normally works great but just isn’t the best at zooming.

This little fella was so excited about the show, clapping away and so transfixed on the models walking up and down the miniature runway.

The turn out for the event was tremendous, which is all fab for Lancôme but we were quite far from the stage to capture decent pics without the right gear but it was a fun experience all the same with the outrageous and rule-bending makeup looks, couture fashion pieces and whatnot.

A very lively and edgy event all the same, that added a nice touch of glam to my otherwise very homey weekend.

Wrapping it up, Lancôme’s Grandiôse mascara is already available for sale at Sephora stores islandwide and it retails for S$60 a piece. I am still collecting my thoughts about it so I will share them soon, once I pick up words too…

Ha! Yes, I am still battling that word-block situation. I can still write entries but they are just not as fluid as I would like and take far, far too long.

 

Thanks for reading, the weekends are almost here again and I can’t wait for it. I need sleeeeeeep!

Do share, what are some of your Lancôme makeup loves?

Leave A Reply!

