On My Nails: piCture pOlish’s Blue Dog + A Whole Lotta Rambles!

Who knew that you’d find dogs at sea!

Pardon the randomness of that sentence and here, let me explain…

According to piCture pOlish, their nail color Blue Dog (which is a lacuqer in collaboration with Vampy Varnish) is termed to be the wolf pack of the sea.

Now, I don’t really know what that means but what I do know is that this is one gorgeous, gorgeous color.

On that note, if someone can explain to me the definition of a wolf pack of the sea that would be awesome. I am still trying to comprehend the association and also relevance of Blue Dog to that… Do they mean dog as in wolves and then blue being the sea? Cause that’s a lot of cheese going on in some small sentence.

So about the color, as gorgeous as it is this is one annoying bugger to photograph. It also happens to be one of those polishes that  look better in the bottle because it’s just that much more shimmery, sparkly and pretty.

Once on the nails, the shimmers do seem a little flatter and more microscopic given that we wouldn’t be holding our hands up to our faces most of the time but when you are going about doing your thing and an itty bitty piece of teal-blue shimmer catches the light and sparkles at you, it is quite a lovely sight.

For the most part, this polish applies well and is nicely opaque in 2 coats (1 will give you a translucent grey-ish base with shimmers suspended within). The brush that comes with is easy to work with and the polish seems to be lasting quite well on my hands even though they are about a week old now.

As for the color, it is a little hard to describe being a little blue and a little grey at the same time. If anything, it is almost like a greyish deep blue? In these shots it does appear a little light but in person, depending on lighting conditions, it looks a little darker.

Though regardless it is a lovely color to don and it is easy to match any outfit or situation. The shimmer bits are really fine too, so they don’t hinder the removal process and come off quite easily.

So, okay, the point of putting up a nail entry is so I don’t type a whole load of words so I think I’ll stop here.

Purple Divider

Of Suits Season 3, Battery Chargers & Mad Work Week…

Remember when I kept complaining about the word block issue that I was facing. About how I really wanted to write and mention about a zillion and one things but somehow when I actually got down to it no words would reach me and I’m left hanging, trying to paint a portrait of my mind with absolutely nothing?

Okay, I exaggerate but that does sum up the situation very well from my perspective.

Thankfully, that seems to have passed… a little. I still feel a little stumped for inspiration and when it comes to writing a certain type of entry but I think it’s not too bad now, words seem to be coming back to me…

I do attribute a little of this brain revival to the recent Suits marathon I had undergone.

https://i0.wp.com/wrestling-network.net/public/images/2013/07/suits-season3-featured-wn-17072013.jpg

I had spoken out Suits, way back along with Outsourced, and since then it’s been awhile since I had gotten my Suits fix and boy was it good to marathon whatever was left of Season 2 along with Season 3.

Though now I am a whole pile of anxiety because all of the western dramas I have been catching are in the works and I have nothing to see – Egads! No Walking Dead, no Orphan Black, no Orange is the New Black… I think I’ll have to get back to where I left off on Penny Dreadful.

That or Running Man…

 

In other news, I’ve finally gotten my hands on the XiaoMi battery pack!

I finally have juice on the go! Though frankly my iPhone 5S’s battery is still quite alright but there are some days I have to be out the whole time without any access to a USB or powerpoint and during those days, I die.

Or rather, my phone dies.

So I’ve been on the lookout for a powerbank for awhile and all my friends (along with reviews online and basically the whole world – almost) recommends this or sings praises about it. Given it is fairly inexpensive, okay… I mean dirt cheap, I had to pick it up to give it a go.

At the price of of S$13.99 for a 10,400 mAh charger, what’s more is there to consider!

I’ll be honest and admit that I haven’t used this fella yet, though I have been good and charged it up proper but given the madness at work to come – next week is a full out events week at work so, a lot of running around and moving things around, screaming at people… all in a days work – I think I’ll be able to properly put this to the test and hope it keeps me well-juiced up for the whole day of being in contact with people and running around!

So if you are looking about for a new juice pack, go give Xiaomi a look. Typically they restock every Tuesday at 12pm but it’s best to just check their Facebook page for more information.

 

So with that said, this entry has gone on long enough and I’ve also wrapped up another point about this week being mad so, I’ll see you when I see you alright but don’t expect much to come for this period and perhaps a little after while we unpack and get the whole post-event kinks ironed out.

I can’t wait to get this period over and done with! I swear every year I dread yet love (cause it’s quite fulfilling an event, really) this 1 week of September…

Are you a Suits fanatic?

Are you a XiaoMi User? Frankly their phones are not too bad (hubs has one)!

Leave A Reply!

