Oh No… Spikes, Spikes Errrwhere~

I could be the minority in this situation but… I don’t know about you though I felt a sense of dread, a sigh and also a little bit of an eyeroll that I managed to hold back when I caught wind about the upcoming Christian Louboutin Nail Polish collection.

Sure, there was the signature red polish that they have already launched (right am I?) in the USA that a good number of beauty bloggers had spoken about.

It’s this one here, in case you’ve missed it.

Yes it’s a bit excessive but it’s very Louboutin in a way. That red, the spikes, the over-the-top-ness and edginess, so all that I can forgive.

But now, there are talks that Christian Louboutin would be launching a 30 piece nail polish collection featuring a whole range of colors from poppy and cheery brights to moody and sultry dark colors, which frankly do look like a nice mix of shades.

image by fashionforlunch.net

image by fashionforlunch.net

image by fashionforlunch.net

Okay fine, I’ll admit, those cream shades look absolutely delicious…

Though I have one problem with this range of polishes, and that would be that spike.

I know many love it for being so edgy but I feel it is extremely excessive, and not to mention, incredibly difficult to store!

So while I haven’t actually gotten my hands on these to try, I can’t help but feel like this is yet another fashion label looking to bang on the cosmetic buck but then again… there’s no such thing as too much polish in the world, right?

While I can’t say I’m 100% on board with the Louboutin polish phase, I am intrigued, and curious but I sure as hell hope that somehow Louboutin would tweak the design of his bottles and make that ginormous spike removable ala the usual nail polish caps because carrying these bottles around otherwise could prove quite murderous!

Though knowing Christian Louboutin (the man who said that he dislikes the idea of comfort for shoes), I doubt we will see practicality and ease being incorporated into a design. It’s all about being high, high fashion.

So, tell me, what do you think about this Louboutin polish range? Any thoughts on the Louboutin polishes so far?

Thanks for reading!

Leave A Reply!

