The Temporary Housing Situation Make Up Bag!

Heyo! So if you pop by my space quite regularly – weekly or even daily (woo, I love you then!) – you would know my current housing situation.

If you don’t perhaps this post would serve well to shed some light on that though I’ll still reiterate anyway.

The place I usually stay at (with the hubs at the inlaws) is currently undergoing some renovation works (which turned out to be quite a tiresome process for all no thanks to sloppy and shoddy workers, bah) so Hubs, Baby K and I moved over to my parents place in the meanwhile because it is a much more conducive environment as far as a baby is concerned.

We wouldn’t want her running about a dusty and broken concrete-slab laden floor where there are dangerous tools lying about everywhere. Not to mention, the rowdy and rough workers banging about with their huge buckets of tiles or conrete. A nightmare really and I’m glad I didn’t have to be a part of that.

It’s just the cleaning up after I’m not too keen on but… you can’t have it all.

So anyway, yes, reno works should be wrapping up this week but I did promise to give a little mention to the Makeup Situation at my parents place. Or to put simply, the pieces I brought with me during this 2 week long stay.

 

Frankly, I didn’t have to bring that much. Just the basics that I rely on daily because as far as cheeks, lips and eyeshadow alternatives, I actually left a good amount back at home-home (what I call my parents place) to sift through and choose from.

But I brought some of my own anyway…

Let’s have a quick look at what I brought okay?

 

The Face Base

I had some issues breaking down what to shoot within a picture and how to categorize them but I’ll say this is the bigger bottles of face stuff, from moisturizer to liquid foundation and sunscreen.

Left to right now,

  • Biore UV Aqua Rich Whitening SPF50 PA+++
    Pretty straightforwad, this stuff is sunblock that I am trying to use up. I think it’s on its last few squeezes now, the end is near…
  • YSL Youth Liberator Liquid Foundation
    A foundation I quite like for daily use when I want a more luxurious glide to the face with a skin-loving and skin-care loaded foundation. I don’t reach for this on days I want to head out or look fresh and nice post-work because it does wear out by evening. Though I still love it because it is comfortable and enjoyble to wear – almost like skincare when it is actually foundation.
  • Dior Diorskin NUDE Liquid Foundation
    This is another foundation I like to reach for regularly but with different expectations from YSL’s Youth Liberator. Unlike that one, which feels comfortable and skin-care like (I want to say BB Cream but it’s not the same), Diorskin NUDE is very much a liquid foundation that lends a second-skin sort of finish. It is easy to wear, light-weight on and wears relatively well through the day. Overall it’s a really nice foundation to use daily to mimic the look of better skin. Coverage is about a medium bit buildable.
  • Biore UV Aqua Rich BB Cream SPF50 PA+++
    This one is more for weekend purposes where I can quickly slap on my sun coverage and also a little bit of skin coverage at the same time. It goes on fairly lightweight without much stick but I do prefer quickly setting it with powder after. The oil control isn’t fantastic but it’s good enough for my weekend use.
  • VICHY Normaderm Tri-Activ Hydrating Care
    Pretty much, this is a day cream. I like the Vichy Normaderm range when I used it awhile back and I particularly liked the day cream from the entire routine I was sampling at that time and while this is a newly reformulated version, it feels and works just as well if not better. I love the Normaderm range for calming my skin should it get irritated or itchy, which was the reason why I turned to this again during that random bout of skin itch and congestion I got fairly recently.

 

More Base, Samples & All

  • Sephora Tub – Dior Star Liquid Foundation
    Housed within that little tub is a sample of the Dior Star Liquid Foundation which I have been loving to bits. I have a full sized bottle now (thank you Dior!) so I’m trying to finish up this sample. I brought it along because of my picks above, I don’t have a proper long-lasting foundation so this was handy to bring.
  • Dior Capture Totale Base de Teint Multi-Perfection
    I failed to realise how much Dior base I brought along with me (it’s not a lot but mentioned consecutively, it sure sounds like it) but I had a sample of this base and I just had to bring it. This is a Dior base I had been lusting over ever since I read raving reviews about it a good while ago. It wasn’t till recently that I discovered I had samples of it lying around, which I took to using almost immediately of course. This is a beautiful base and it deserves an entry of its own. Maybe once I buy the full size!
  • Lancôme Teint Miracle Corrector
    I brought this along to give it some use but of late I haven’t been reaching for it too much either. I don’t generally incorporate this into my routine and only use it on days I look completely zombiefied and could use the extra brightening under my eyes.

 

The Setting & Concealing

  • Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage
    I loveeee this concealer duo and have some hitpan action with the blemish side of it (I don’t always use the undereye corrector side cause it’s pretty heavy duty). It’s really high coverage so a little goes a long way and I know I’m always covered with this (hurhur)
  • Urban Decay NAKED Skin Loose Powder
    The one loose powder to set them all (erhem, see reference)
  • MAC Select Moisturecover Concealer
    This little guy is for the undereyes and I’ve got a review / mention of it coming up soon so I’ll elaborate more on there!
  • MAC Mineralized Skinfinish Natural in Medium
    The weekend dusting for quickly refined and illuminated skin. I don’t use this daily because the shade is a tiny bit pink and light for me but not so noticeable when used as a light buff across my face.

 

The Eye Basics

  • Lancôme Aquatique Eye Base
    A slightly shimmery and emollient eyeshadow base from Lancôme that’s great for the everyday use because majority of the base shadow I sweep on all over my lids have some shimmer quality to them. Plus given the emollient and smooth nature of this, it’s really easy to blend over the lids!
  • The Body Shop InstaBlur Eye
    I brought this along to give it a go and some use too but it’s not reached staple level just yet though I will admit it is nice to reach for and use. I have some fine line concerns and mildly crepe-y skin where my undereye is concerned (genetics I believe…) so a little priming there is nice when I have the time.
  • Dior Backstage Eye Prime
    This one is another eyeshadow base I really like too, for the matte finish and while I don’t reach for it as often, (as the Lancôme) because it takes a bit of work and blending to get on, it’s beautiful when I want that satin or matte lid look.

 

 The Rest of The Eye Army

Now… I realize I don’t have to bring this many (if you consider this many) eyeshadow palettes for 2 weeks away from home but you gotta have options, right?

  • Lancôme Hypnose Eye Palette in Brun Au Natural
    The warmer neutral cousin of the Fraicheur Rosee palette within my stash, I’ve been giving Brun Au Natural more use (than Fraicheur Rosee) these days because creamy soft warm browns are quite a thing I’m into these days. The warm brown bit, mainly because when am I not into neutrals, right?
  • Make Up Store Marbled Eyeshadow in Rosso Asiago
    I’ve declared my love for this little pot already (here) and it’s no wonder that I’ll pack it along with it. It’s a beautiful glistening champagne, warm and auburn-ish eye look all in one. So easy to slap on and all you need is this one pan.
  • Shu Uemura’s Brave Beauty Orange Palette
    This one I packed along to give it some use so I can hopefully feature some looks from. It should still be available (if it’s not sold out already) and I’m liking it for the options of going warm, pink-hued or even going a little sultry-neutral with some cranberry hues.
  • Maquillage Palette in BR722
    The only seemingly cool-neutral palette of the bunch. I often find myself benefiting more from cool and taupe-y colors, probably because I was all about warm browns way before and a little change in taste is nice too, but these days I seem to have gone back to the warmth though even then, this palette is still HG status and I can always count on it to whip up an eye look.

 

Finishing & Contouring

Some slightly miscellaneous but still important face products to bring along!

  • Make Up For Ever Contouring Kit
    Featured within this is a 2-pan kit for contouring and highlighting though what I like about this is that the highlighting portion isn’t shimmery, glittery or too fair so it makes for a great product to set the edges of my eyeliner without making my undereye area look ghastly or shiny (eeps). The contour is a nice brown that straddles between warm and ashy so it perfects the look of a shadow and is versatile enough for most skintones.
  • Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette
    Once in awhile, or more often than once in awhile, I like to dust my skin with some finishing powder. Some days I feel I need more glow, other days more radiance (the healthy color sort) and sometimes absolutely nothing except a little skin perfecting / blurring so this palette is perfect to tout along.

 

The Cheeks

On hindsight, I really didn’t have to pack any blushes given I have a drawer full here… but just in case.

  • Lancôme Blush Subtil in 030
    This is a go-to blush shade for me so I packed it along for situations where I’ll need to brighten my cheeks and add a soft flush of pink at the same time.
  • Dior Blush in Rose Diorette
    I don’t give this enough use at home since it’s tucked away in a corner in my drawer. It’s a lovely soft-pink on the cheeks and given the soft pigmentation of this, it’s quite hard to go wrong in the bleary-eyed mornings.
  • YSL Baby Doll Kiss & Blush in Corail Affranchi
    This was a just-incase thing but I actually haven’t used it yet the whole week and a half I was here. Heh!
  • Laneige Styling Romantic Blush
    This one is something I brought to rediscover and boy do I love it! I forgot how pretty a shade this is to lend a healthy flush that threads between pink and coral. The soft golden sheen (even softer than Lancôme Blush Subtil 030) gives a nice glow to the cheeks as well.

 

The Lip Service

To make it a point to discover and use The Body Shop’s Color Crush lippies which I didn’t give enough attention to otherwise, I brought the set (and minimal lip alternatives) along with me so I can focus my attention on these! I’m giving them some use right now so expect a mention (finally) about them soon!

TBS Color Crush aside…

  • Lancôme Lip Lover (forgot the shade!)
    Because I never know if I want a casual and glossy lip look over the weekends. I truly love these Lip Lovers and have converted so many friends.
  • Rimmel Apocalips in Apocalyptic
    There isn’t a alarming ringing hawt blue-pink within the TBS shades so… just incase I wanted to rock that look, I brought this along.

Grey Divider

Now I know this entry is as long as it gets, and unnecessarily so, but looking back at my hastily grouped and snapped product pictures I realized I missed out a whole bunch of them, liners to be exact, so here’s a point form mention of the heroes I forgot to shed light on.

  • Shu Uemura Hard 9 Pencil in Walnut Brown
  • Shu Uemura Brow Manicure in Honey Glaze
  • Starlash Lightning Waterproof Liquid Liner
  • Lancôme Artliner in Black
  • MAC Powerpoint Liner in Engraved

Et voila~

 

That aside, this isn’t all because I brought along a bag of products to shoot during my stay (so at least I get some productivity going too) and from there I have picked out, shot and also placed a couple of items into the pile of things to use just so I can give them some use during this period.

Yes, it’s not the best shot but low lighting conditions during the night time isn’t the best time to shoot. I didn’t manage to finish shooting everything I brought (and we should be able to move back this weekend already!) but I’m glad I did get some shooting done and I have given a few of the items above fairly regular use to form opinions about how they wear so expect some reviews and mentions soon!

 

Pardon the length of this post, I got a little out of hand with rambling about why I brought what. But what’s new, right?

I think it’s best I round it up here and I hope in some way this ramble has been interesting and informative to give you an idea about some of the items I use on a daily basis and some I am (re)discovering right now. If you have any questions about any product, feel free to drop me a comment about it!

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “The Temporary Housing Situation Make Up Bag!

Leave A Reply!

