On My Nails: CLIO Professional Neon Stylers in Bring It On!

It’s unbelievable how much work I have right now, from various sources (I have work-work, and then freelance stuff and not forgetting being a personal assistant to a chatty toddler), and on top of that it is even more unbelievable how amidst all that I still managed to squeeze out a little bit of time to paint my nails with all these matters on hand.

But what’s a girl to do?

When you have to perk yourself up to be ready to kick some work-ass (work, I mean, I’m not kicking anyone…), you’ve just got to do it because you wouldn’t believe how much that does for your state of mind.

A fresh coat of lacquer alone can make you feel all ready to take on the world. Women, we are so funny that way.

So, speaking of perking yourself up there’s nothing perkier to don than neons and I happened to have these CLIO Professional Neon Stylers on hand that I was curious about so I grabbed the green and slapped that on!

 

I didn’t know what to expect with these (I donned a base coat in the event of staining – which it didn’t seem to, thankfully) but they actually surpassed what little to no expectations I had of it.

Alas, nothing is perfect in this world so even though this color was intensely opaque in one coat, glossy and creamy enough to make me skip a top coat and dried relatively quick, the brush on the other hand… I have something to say about.

It isn’t a bad brush but it’s far from good too.

I think CLIO was on the right track with it but perhaps the material used for the brush bristles weren’t the most ideal because they felt quite prone to splaying should you be careless with dipping the brush back in the bottle. The bristles weren’t very densely packed too, a little fluffy almost, which made it quite scary to use for a polish brush – don’t want to get polish on the sides of your fingers!

But somehow, if you’re careful enough about application and also re-dipping, it works out to be okay. I just noted that the bristle quality was a little lacking and felt I should report on that but application itself was perfectly fine for me.

So after that very wordy description about this polish, did I also mention that this is a UV polish?

In the spirit of partying, booze, UV lights and smokey clubs (okay maybe not in that spirit but the term UV lights brings that to mind), CLIO had released a collection for you club-goers to find a way to stand out – very literally because these UV things glow like a scary hovering blob – amidst the dim situation of clubs.

This polish, Bring It On, happens to be 1 of 6 nail polishes launched in that collection and while I’m not going to a club anytime soon I thought I would just try and show you the UV aspect via the cool UV torch that CLIO had attached within the press kit.

It’s quite hard to gather what to look for from that image alone (as opposed to a club setting) but let me explain what you are looking at. Typically most shades will fall into the shadows, e.g. my darkened fingers, but the polish seems to have a UV base that gives it that stark white look.

If you are a club go-er I think this polish is going to be quite a lovely one to have given how it truly shines in a UV lighting environment. What’s more your friends will always, more or less, know where you are just by searching for hovering nails in the dark, ha!

The UV factor aside, I was also surprised to discover that these polishes carried a scent to them. It’s a soft and powdery fragrance which seems to bring Baby Powder to mind. It isn’t excessive but nice enough and it lingers on for about 4 days or so. It gently wafts by everytime I bring my hands to my face to adjust my hair, do my makeup etc and it’s just a nice touch.

Very lovely and the scent alone is reason enough to check this out!

Grey Divider

While we’re on the topic of bright and neon nails, I know it’s not quite the season for it right now given Fall is swinging in fast and furious but rule benders will be glad to know that these aside, Ciate has some neon nail offerings too!

For all y’all fashionistas who want to amp your outfit up with statement and bold nails.

I chanced upon this hawttt pink Ciate nail polish in their Neon Nail set (in super cute bottles) at Zalora should you want them!

Also, I’ve got a discount code for my readers – ZASARA15 – so plop that in for 15% off your order!

 

Alrightey so, this is a long ramble for a nail entry, pardon me I believe I got quite carried away! Neon nails isn’t a look you would wear all year round but it’s so seasonal and fresh to don one every now and then that it’s just perfect to have them in your stash, for whenever.

Thanks for reading!

Tell me, do you like to wear neon colors on your nails?

 

Sponsorship disclosure

Leave A Reply!

