Surratt Beauty At Takashimaya! – Swatches & Pics

Incase you haven’t heard, Surratt Beauty (founded by Troy Surratt) has very quietly and discreetly crept into our sunny little island!

I heard some whisperings and caught some wind about Surratt Beauty being available to us a little while ago but I had no idea it was this soon!

I’m not complaining though!

It was only of late that I started taking interest in the brand but only very slightly. I didn’t mange to dive into their sea of products – which in this case is thankfully not too extensive. I have only managed to scratch the surface of Surratt via their blushes; I have 2 on my wishlist but I’m afraid I could be adding more…

Their range is good enough with a good number of shadows, blushes, lippies and some base products to complete a look but not huge to the extent that it has you overwhelmed on where to start.

I am also pleased to report that, as of now at least, we have the entire collection available at Takashimaya (Level 3)! Woots!

Not a stray eyeshadow or two, a handful of blushes or missing a whole range – we have it all from their lip crayons to concealers and such so if you’re new to the brand and want to see what the buzz is about or have been eyeing this brand for awhile, I highly urge you to head down and give it a look!

In the meanwhile here are some pictures I managed to snap and swatches I managed to do while hovering over the counter for a period of time.

T’was Friday and I was waiting about in town for the hubs so I’m glad the Sales Assistants over at Beautique (the retail outlet at Taka Level 3) were kind enough to give me the privacy to swatch & snap while still being on the ball with makeup removers and wipes!

A little background about Troy Surratt that I had read via Rougedeluxe’s very informative lowdown about the brand is this makeup artist extraordinaire (Troy Surratt) was a protege of Kevyn Aucoin and was subsequently very inspired / fascinated with Japanese beauty products. It’s no wonder that to a certain extent while this is very much marketed as a ‘western brand’ it seems to lend that soft asian touch that brings to mind THREE and ADDICTION – in a couple of ways but I’ll get to that.

The products, as you’ll see later, are nicely saturated but not scarily so, they are easy and quick to work with and do emphasize largely on quality as does Japanese departmental-store makeup brands.

The concept of Surratt is much like ADDICTION whereby you can buy the products individually or decide to choose enough to make a palette from. Though unlike ADDICTION where the individual packaging is pretty sturdy and decent, Surratt’s is a little simplified – a clear acrylic ‘sleeve’ which while pretty isn’t overly sturdy.

I feel it’s good enough but don’t we all just love customizing a palette?

It comes in the same amount of options – a 4 pan or 6 pan and we’re talking eyeshadow size here. A blush is equivalent to 2 blocks of eyeshadows so… you do the math and palette jigsaw!

The ideal situation, much like how I customized my ADDICTION palette (which I’ll talk about soon), would be 4 eyeshadows and 1 blush in the bigger pan option. It’s a splurge that’s for sure but a very pretty one if you pick the right colors that you take with you anywhere and everywhere!

 

So anyway, that’s the concept behind Surratt’s products, let’s have a look at some swatches now!

In terms of the quality I really like what I swatched. I can’t give a proper impression because my experience with the brand thus far is only fingers and the back of my hand but from that, the blush and eyeshadows are nice and soft, creamy but dense powders that don’t pill up or result in fallout once swatched.

It blends incredibly well and feels like it would be a dream to work with.

Here’s a look at the blush first – they range from lightly to intensely pigmented and give a nice diffused look that would be most beautiful when worn.

Surratt Artistique Blush – S$42 each

I skipped out swatching 2, I believe simply because I didn’t have anymore space but of the lot the 2 blushes I was eyeing would be Ponceau and Aureole. So stunning!

Moving on to eyeshadows, this I did manage to swatch the whole lot. It involved a lot of wiping and having shimmer-bombed hands after but it was well worth it because now I can slowly picture ways to put together a palette for myself down the road.

 

Surratt Artistique Eyeshadow – S$33 each

Surratt Artistique Eyeshadow – S$33 each

Surratt Artistique Eyeshadow – S$33 each

Surratt Artistique Eyeshadow – S$33 each

While I say ‘shimmer’ above, the shimmer factor in these are very nicely done. It isn’t gritty nor obnoxious and instead melds into the color to provide a nice reflex, adding depth and dimension in a subtle and sophisticated manner.

Some shades felt notably drier compared to others which were a total creamy dream – especially Greige, exceptional quality – but even then it still feels smooth and blends well. As you can see above, they all still look and swatch beautifully.

With blush and eyes set, of course we can’t forget the lips!

Surratt offers 2 lip products (lip liner and gloss aside) to choose from – the Automatique Lip Crayon and Lipsliques.

 

Automatique Lip Crayon – S$45 each

The Lip Crayons are, as the name goes, very much like matte-finished chubby pencils. They swatch intensely and are very saturated. I can’t remark on how they will feel like the lips but if I recall right, it’s not slippery or buttery but it doesn’t tug much either. I have my eyes on these and can’t wait to try them out!

I swatched all the Lip Crayons above.

 

Lipsliques – S$50 each

The Lipsliques are Surratt’s take on lipsticks as they come housed in a sleek twist-up and long bullet.

The formula is akin to Japanese lip products where it feels moist, has some transparency and yet is nicely saturated at the same time. I wouldn’t say it is ‘creamy’ but I think glossy lipshine with a juicy glide sounds like a better way to describe these. I’m not sure if they set eventually or stain with wear, you’ll have to test that to see!

I didn’t swatch the whole range because it comes in way more than just these few!

p.s. Some don’t have names because I couldn’t recall which one I swatched, oops.

 

Last but not least (in terms of what I checked out), would be these Smokey Eye Batons which I find very interesting.

This dual ended pencil-powder-stick comes with a creamy twist-up liner on one side and one of those sponge saturated with powder on the other.

Surratt claims this to be the perfect way to throw on a smokey look with ease – simply smoke on the cream liner and then smudge it out with the powder on the other end for a perfectly smokey and edgy eye look. These come available in 5 smoking hot variants, because a black smokey eye is so been there done that.

Surratt Smokey Eye Baton – S$55

I particularly like Cendres when I swatched it. The cool mid-brown and champagne eyeshadow goes so well together for a simple smokey day look.

Purple Divider

In all, I think there’s a whole lot to discover about this brand be it if you’ve been hearing buzz about it online or are completely new to the name.

It’s a nice sized collection thus far with great products on hand and although your wallet might wince a little at the prices, Iris (of Rougedeluxe) has informed me that it is quite comparable to the price range at Libertys in London so… I guess it’s not too bad.

 

I’m just really excited that we managed to get this brand on our shores so soon! What’s more I heard that they will be adding makeup brushes to their line up real soon and the quality of which is said to be comparable to Suqqu. Le gasp!

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that they’re as lovely and not as expensive (as Suqqu)!

 Surratt Beauty is now located at Takashimaya Departmental Store (Level 3), along with Koh Gen Do, Cowshed, Appa Kappa and more!

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Surratt Beauty At Takashimaya! – Swatches & Pics

Leave A Reply!

