LOTD: Cheeks For The Eyes (With Sleek Makeup)

So the reno works are long done and I am now back to my own place – or in this case the in-laws place – and given how it’s been about 2 weeks, everything is settled and back to normal (even iffy camera settings, yay!).

I would love to showcase my toilet just because I am so pleased with it but I believe it could just be me… I think to anyone else, it’s just a clean and new toilet so, nevermind!

Moving on from that, during my temporary stay at my parents place I rediscovered a couple of left behind pieces of makeup, including the whole stash of LA Girl blushes that I hoarded back in the day (omgawd embarrassing video).

Trying them again I realized, once more, that they are such under-appreciated makeup pieces because the colors are so lovely with decent pigmentation and a nice range of colors from cranberries to golden peaches, soft pinks to beige browns.

 

But yet somehow, the brand and this product went unnoticed. I doubt they are available right now (I don’t see them at Guardian anymore?) so I shall skip that mention and instead talk about this thing that I have a bit of a love hate relationship with.

This ole, Sleek Makeup Peach Shimmer Glo Face & Body Highlighter!

The hate part is really more of my camera, or maybe the sun… or both. Let me explain why.

This Sleek Makeup Peach Shimmer Glo Face & Body Highlighter is incredibly illuminating. It gives you a gorgeous shine, very reflective and gorgeous (in a shine sorta way) but given that this is Version 1.0, it’s not the most refined. The powder is a little gritty and the chunky shine does unfortunately emphasize pores and also any imperfections in the skin.

Thankfully it isn’t too bad in person but it photographs way worst and it doesn’t help that I had to shoot this series of shots with a strong sunlight, which always magnifies any small imperfection as well. Hence my skin looks quite blotched here but frankly speaking it’s all the shadows and unflattering powder-camera-play.

But it is a lovely sheen (in person more so), I’ll say that.

Though while it is nice enough on the cheeks on good skin days, how I love wearing this isn’t on the cheeks but actually on the eyes!

The gritty texture is forgiveable there because our lids typically don’t face the same texture issues and if anything, the dimensional shine of it really helps make an eye look especially gorgeous.

Is it not lovely?

Well, if you are curious about this after this mention of mine, you would be glad to know that Sleek have done their part to reformulate and re-release this in a seemingly smoother formula.

You can find it on this page at Sleek Makeup, and they seem to have kept the shade range the same as before, but with a better powder and more Bobbi Brown-inspired compact.

Just for the record again, the one I have here is Peach Shimmer which is very pretty to wear if you have a warm skintone. I know we’re past the golden bronzed era of summer but a little shine on the skin is always loved! Temptalia had reviewed the revamped version, check it out here.

 

Thanks for reading this random quick feature where I shopped my abandon stash and pity I didn’t have more to showcase from home-home but, till next time! I still have a mighty stash here at my place to shop!

Do you like a glowy cheek look? What’s your favorite for it?

Leave A Reply!

