On My Nails: A Little Attitude + Sephora’s Express Drying Oil

It’s been awhile since a nail post hasn’t it!

I’ve been pretty good about keeping my talons colored at all times, though not good enough to remove and swap out a color at the first signs of chipping but hey, good enough!

Compared to my almost 6 month long abstinence of nail color due to time constrains and eczema issues, I have to say that it’s nice to once again have color on my nails and get to change that up according to my mood. Bright and summery one day, moody and dark the next.

In this post, I’ll be showcasing the last of my piCture pOlish loots (featured here) and this color, Attitude, was not one that I purchased. It was one that Eliza had picked out for me and I can’t say how perfect a shade it is for me. This girl knows me so darn well, thank you love <3

 

Attitude is a mysterious purple that leans a little blue. It’s almost like a galaxy reflected in your nails – the blue tinted sort of cartooned galaxy instead of the dark starry space kind.

The shimmer within this is stunning, almost as if they each have a role to play – there are the prominent silver ones that glint and shine from the darkened base while the softer shimmers lend a subtle sheen, adding dimension to the nail color.

What’s more you’ll be glad to know that while the polish is strewn with shimmer (like, really packed), it wasn’t difficult to remove either.

How perfect is that?

So that’s how Attitude looks under sunlight, and it is actually rather true to what it appears like in person – soft sparkles on a dark base with a nice glowy sort of sheen to the base color.

Though for representation sake, here’s how Attitude looks under really bright and harsh lighting, just to show you the concentration of the shimmers within.

It’s gorgeous yes, but it is a little obnoxious if you ask me and we have a lot of glitter or shimmer polishes out there that can achieve this effect rather easily so I feel that what Attitude can achieve with it’s mix of prominent and subtle shimmer is really quite unique and gorgeous.

Purple Divider

Aside from piCture pOlish’s Attitude, I also want to give a little mention to Sephora’s Express Drying Oil.

What this is, is basically an oil that you drip on the nails and it acts like a topcoat, as well as quickens the drying process of the nail color you have on.

It sounds incredibly interesting and to date I’ve never tried anything of the sort. The only quick dry thing I have tried would be top coats (like Seche Vite) and even those are painted on very much like nail polishes are, not dropper-ed on and surely not an oil.

So with that, I found this Sephora Express Drying Oil very fascinating and fancy-effects aside, I’m actually quite happy to report that this does work fairly well.

It is a little messy to use given the whole oil factor and dripping it on your nails and all but if you put a tissue, kitchen towel or cotton pad under your nails while you do it, it’s no big deal. What’s more given this is an oil of some sort, I would like to think that it actually helps to hydrate the skin around your fingers a little more. I’m not sure if they market this as being hydrating or nourishing to your cuticles but my dry cuticles seem to be facing better days after I’ve started incorporating this into my nail routine.

It could be a coincidence with a better skin cycle, who knows.

Though what I do know about this is that it in the inital period of wear (maybe the first day or so?) it gives you a mega glossy and pretty shine which is rather incredibly given you just had to drop one drop of oil over your polish. Though the plush shine does subside by day 2 and it becomes a pretty okay shiny finish.

Not mega wow but it’s decent enough on for someone who can’t stand muted nails, aka me.

I can’t feedback on the added wear time of this because piCture pOlish polishes wear really well on their own already so.. perhaps I’ll get back in future if I test this out with MAC polishes or something.

In short, I think this is a rather nifty product especially for those who don’t have a lot of time to sit around and paint a pristine top coat after you have already spent this long on your nail color. What’s more we all know topcoats, especially the awesome fast drying ones, get gunky real quick and become more of a pain than a help so having something like this would be great!

Daily use aside, I can see this being of help for photoshoots, considering it instantly gives you hi-shine, plush and glossy nails that are so picturesque.

I really should have made this a review entry of its own but… ah well, what the heck. Go check this out if you’re a nail fiend or if you know a nail fiend. I’m sure this would make a nice stocking stuffer now that the holiday period is around the corner!

 

Sephora’s Express Drying Oil is available at all Sephora outlets.

piCture pOlish’s Attitude is available on their website here.

Thanks for reading!

Leave A Reply!

