Lifted Eyes & Pampered Skin With Immortelle Atelier!

I know a lot of us live very rushed lives with hardly any spare time to indulge or pamper ourselves. Even when we do any form of pampering activities, we often have a ‘time slot’ for it inwhich we rush off to yet another appointment or errand right after we are done.

So much for pampering, right?

In the realm of spas and treatments, we have seen quite a technological leap whereby these days machines are often used to help quicken the facial treatment yet still provide and promise the same cleansed result. While a quick pop by these facial services definitely get the job done, especially so for the time constrained, sometimes it is nice to indulge yourself in a little more time and a lot more pamper.

Truth be told, it has been a good while since I had treated myself – or rather, my face / neck area – to a facial session as pampering, calming and soothing as this one. And I have clearly forgotten how therapeutic and indulgent face massages can be especially when done in the right environment – perfect plush blanket, soft music and soothing botanical aroma.

It’s absolutely indulgent and while photos can’t capture the whole situation I can try my best to relate this absolutely calming and much needed rejuvenation.

What’s more Immortelle Atelier offers this absolutely stellar ‘Intensive’ Eye Treatment which I absolutely enjoyed and am raving about to no ends. It is amazing, simply said, read more about it below!

Grey Divider

Stay tuned till the end because, as always, Immortelle Atelier has some really great deals for Icyabstract readers! They are pretty awesome deals for a treatment I thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend, so stay tuned!

Grey Divider

 

So… tucked away in a quiet little corner of United Square is this very quaint-looking and delicately furnished facial shop that is Immortelle Atelier.

The minute you spot the shop and the entrance, you’ll be greeted with a very ‘backstage’ set up meets French-boutique sort of vibe. It’s clashy but it’s so feminine and beautiful at the same time. It’s almost like saying, we’re here for you be it if you want to be stage-perfect and ready to shine or looking for a calming and tranquil space to relax your mind.

Previously located in the Chinatown area, Immortelle Atelier had shifted over to United Square to cater to the busy moms (and working ladies or home makers) who need a quick refresh and break from the hustle and bustle of life.

I popped by after work and was offered a cup of tea (Jasmine, I think) before I was brought to one of the facial treatment rooms. For the small square space they had to work with, the room was nice and cozy. It didn’t feel cramped even though it could have been and the furnishings (soft lush carpet, such a plus!) along with bedding accessories made it feel so comfortable overall.

I especially enjoyed the furry comforter they provided. It was like sleeping with a furry little kitty – warm and cozy.

The lighting within the room was kept dim most of the way so I do apologize for grainy images. I shot with RAW and was able to turn up the picture so you can actually see what happened but graininess is something that happened as a result, I can’t escape that bit for sure.

 

Makeup Removal –

As always, the very first step was to remove my makeup and while I didn’t explain above, Immortelle Atelier mainly uses Maria Galland skin care products (hence the posters in their waiting area). This brand is new to me but according to my therapist, and also after some googling once I got home, Maria Galland is a brand rich with heritage and is deeply devoted to offering natural, quality and also indulgent skincare.

A globally renowned brand amongst those of the trade, Maria Galland supplies to a large amount of top beauty salons so I was glad to be introduced to this and also to experience these indulgent and positively delightful products.

Being all about peace, wellbeing and a well-rested experience, most of Maria Galland’s products have a soft botanical scent to them. It isn’t cloying nor over-powering but they lend a hand in the relaxation process along with the soothing music and ambient lighting (along with the really comfortable throw) at Immortelle Atelier.

Product-wise, the Maria Galland creams and cleansers felt watery, yet still creamy, aqueous but also luxurious. It had made me intrigued enough about the product to consider some of their items. Immortelle Atelier also sells some pieces of the Maria Galland skincare brand at their boutique.

So anyway, the therapist did a double-cleanse for my skin (soo calming I tell you!) before proceeding to access my skin concerns.

After accessing my skin, my therapist (Julia) commented that I have fairly good skin – phew! – though it is a little fatigued and stressed out from both environmental exposure and perhaps some lifestyle choices too. Oops, I should really stop keeping late nights.

Given that, she opted for a anti-stress facial (which consists of multiple massages to relax the tired skin), their famed eye treatment just to relax the taut eye muscles, and some deep cleansing steps just to properly clean out my skin once more. It seems like no matter what, my skin is like a lint roller and it just sucks dirt to it.

I swear I have a proper cleansing regimen and I hardly slack off it!

 

Extraction –

I’ve spoken about extractions before, the pros the cons, the lovers and the haters. I mentioned that as much as it hurts and as much buzz as there is around extractions, I actually really like them.

I think machine cleansing is great for the time constrained peeps and if anything, sometimes machine can clean in a way that human hands can’t but same goes. Machines can’t extract or cleanse pores the way extraction can and for me, I feel that often times my skin truly feels cleaner after a manual extraction process.

Of course, I must also disclaim that it is best to leave your face in hands that are professional at doing this because it can be painful or go awfully wrong if extractions aren’t done right.

Thankfully for me there isn’t all that much to extract, only a few problematic spots and blackheads around / on my nose.

Since only a couple of points of my face required an extraction, my face wasn’t left sore or painful after. I didn’t have to walk around with a whole bunch of red spots post-facial either (as you will see later).

After extracting, Julia soothes a layer of toner over just to calm the skin and also because the mild astringent quality helps constrict the pores post-extraction.

 

Meridian Eye Treatment –

Thisssss, this is awesome, you must read this portion even if you somehow decide to speed-read the rest of this entry.

A famed treatment here at Immortelle Atelier, their Meridian Eye Treatment lends the technique of the traditional chinese massage method ‘Gua Sha’. Those who are familiar with that massage method may recoil in shock at it being used on the eye area, but let me just say – it’s not the same of course.

The technique and thought is the same, to relief any taut tension and muscles from the area but the way it is done is obviously different because the eye area is such a delicate spot. I assure you there is absolutely no pain in this process and I actually found it really relaxing.

Firstly, your therapist will apply some thick balm to help ease the movement of the ‘bone’ tool that is used to massage the eye area.

After that, your therapist will go through a series of soft rubbing and point-pressing sort of movements around your eye area ranging from your socket, to your brow-bone. Again, let me assure you that this is not painful at all.

This massage reminded me of the body massage that I have to do regularly to help ease the tension in my neck and back because somehow my meridian passages get congested very easily.

I had no idea that the eye area gets ‘knotted’ as well, until Julia started easing some knots on my lower socket away and I could feel that familiar motion of her ‘pressing the knots out’. I really can’t describe it as well without making it sound scary but those who do similar treatments will likely grasp what I am trying to get at!

The eye treatment takes 30 minutes in all, so that’s about 15 minutes for each eye and after your therapist is done with your first eye they’ll usually stop to let you see the difference between the massaged eye and the not massaged one.

I expected the eye to feel more relaxed after but I wasn’t expecting to actually see a visible difference in the eyes, much less the face! It appears that the whole cheek and eye area of the side that was massaged is lifted and that in turn makes me look a lot more awake!

It’s quite amazing, see for yourself!

So after that comparison, Julia proceeded to work on my next eye and I just sat back (or rather lied back) and enjoyed the massage.

 

Massage Time! –

Now, this part I really really enjoyed.

I enjoy massages of all sort, especially face massages! With more facials moving towards the technological side, I’ve realized that lesser places incorporate massages into their facial routine, which some people may prefer since it saves time but a face massage just makes you feel so pampered and so good after.

What’s more, it helps lift the face too (no matter how temporary)!

The neck isn’t forgotten about either!

A bit of a random point to mention but I noted that my therapist, Julia’s, hands always felt warm and soft on. It’s a small thing to pay attention to but it definitely adds to the overall relaxation process, to have a warm touch instead of icy cold hands.

I never thought I would mind or nitpick on things like the temperature of the therapist’s hands but, it truly was enjoyable.

 

The Purifying Mask –

After the very enjoyable face and neck massage, Julia proceeded with the masking session and recommend a purifying one for my skin. She said that this mask would help draw the impurities, clogs and oils from my skin out and leave it cleaner and fresher after.

Julia also went ahead to put a cold eye mask on the eye region to relax the eye area after the treatment.

While we left the mask on to do it’s job, more massaging went underway and this time it was a scalp / head massage – bliss!

 

Cleanse Off, Cream On! –

After leaving the mask on for a bit and leaving me to relax on my own after the scalp / head massage, Julia returned to remove the mask and also proceeded to help my slap on some skincare.

The skincare that she used would be a toner and face cream from Maria Galland, followed by an eye cream (which felt so creamy and nice!), all of which came with a little application massage as well. I can’t get enough of the massages and wish someone would apply and massage my nightly routine on for me, ha!

They even do a little shoulder rub and back massage (not just a quick pat all over) once you’re up from your lying position before they head out and leave you alone to change to your clothes.

 

Post Facial Face! –

So after you’ve seen my face in all sorts of unglam from the facial, here are some post-facial shots with no makeup and flat hair but it’s good enough to show you how rejuvenated my skin looks and feels!

Again, it’s quite hard to actually translate the cleaner skin or to measure the amount of tension that Julia massaged away from my face but the whole lifted complexion, brighter eyes and smoothened skin after says enough for itself!

The key area to note would be how my eye lids seem less puffy and the whole cheek area is so much more lifted than before. Maybe it’s only partially lifted but the difference it makes in making me look a little more awake is awesome.

And then following that, here are some shots taken the next day with a little foundation and brows on. Just to better showcase the smooth canvas my skin is, so as to allow foundation to go on flawlessly.

And a closeup of my eye area (which I had also posted about on instagram) just because I am so so amazed with the eye treatment. My lids are less puffy and my hooded lids aren’t as hooded anymore! They seem lifted almost and I don’t have as much issues with eyeliner smearing in the outer edges!

It’s quite something and I’m so impressed.

Unfortunately this lift isn’t permanent, of course, and to upkeep this you will be recommended to go back to Immortelle Atelier for the Eye treatment about once a month or so, depending on your needs!

I know I’m definitely going back for another session – I need and love it sooooo much!

If you’re curious about the Eye Treatment too then I’ve got a treat for you!

Purple Divider

Promotions For Icyabstract Readers!

So, yes, just for my readers I am so glad to be able to share this amazing promotion which I had suggested to Immortelle Atelier about and they gladly agreed to!

Simply mention my name (Sara or Icyabstract) when you call to make an appointment and request for any (or both in 2 separate sessions) of the following promotions!

  • Promotion #1 – The Buy 1 Get 1 FREE
    Bring a friend along when you buy a Meridian Eye Care Treatment (S$48 for 30 minutes) and your friend gets to enjoy her session FREE!
  • Promotion #2 – Book A Facial & Receive An Eye Massage FREE
    Buy a facial session (any session to suit your skin) and receive the Meridian Eye Care Treatment for FREE!

For further information, the prices over at Immortelle Atelier are actually really affordable. The pampering session I received (and talked about above) is the Instant Anti-Stress Facial and it costs S$68 per session (of 1 hour)

 

So hurry, call Immortelle Atelier now (6259 9001) to enquire and book an appointment – they function on an appointment basis so no walk-in allowed.

If you would like to find out more about Immortelle Atelier, head over and LIKE their Facebook Page for information on promotions and offers!

Immortelle Atelier is located at 101 Thomson Rd #02-08B, United Square Mall

Thanks for reading!

 

Sponsorship disclosure

One thought on “Lifted Eyes & Pampered Skin With Immortelle Atelier!

Leave A Reply!

