What is Your Vice? – Urban Decay Vice 3 (Photos & Swatches)

We’re drawing close to the launch of this little guy (and okay, maybe little isn’t a good way to describe it) and I am mighty excited!

The Urban Decay VICE installment is actually one of the more exciting releases of the brand, I feel.

Of course the NAKED range will forever have my neutral-loving heart but out of all the whacky eyeshadow boxes and renditions that Urban Decay does, the only other one that I felt drawn to would be the Vice series.

So, why do I only have a Vice (Vice 3 at that) on my hands now?

Well… you know me, eyeshadows aren’t actually a vice of mine. I can resist them quite okay because lovely as they are, I feel that I can get away with or replicate them with what I have. But of course, it’s always nice to have something new, something pretty and something like Vice 3.

When Vice 1 was released, I remember thinking to myself that the whole palette looked absolutely gorgeous – so edgy, so wearable (in my mind back then) and soooo nice.

Now, looking at Vice 3, I went back to see images of Vice 1 (and 2) and felt that of the 3, I think I like número tres the best.

This one. Vice 3.

Why?

Because compared to Vice 1 and 2 at least, 3 is a whole lot more wearable but don’t let that discount the edge because it’s still got plenty in the form of shades like Heroine, Bondage, Alchemy, Sonic and Dragon. The rest of the palette holds well in it’s own way and the neutrals are there with a good purpose too – to help gel this whole palette together.

I like that because you don’t get a whole palette full of pow-wow that you can’t use it alone since we’re all about portability and sticking with one sole product for a whole look these days.

If you’re a neutral sorta gal, don’t let Vice 3 scare you because it’s very simple to use. And if you are the sort that likes it vibrant and smokey, Vice 3 has just enough of that for you as well!

Before we get to the color and swoon about the shadows in terms of both shades and quality lets get the other stuff out of the way first.

Grey Divider

When you pick up a Vice 3 palette, apart from the 20 eyeshadow pans, you’re also getting a thin zip pouch (cute but nothing to shout about, really) and also a double-ended eye brush within.

The pouch helps to keep this very reflective palette from being imprinted with finger prints or scratched if you intend to bring this for travels. Otherwise, the pouch is also able to house tablets the size of an iPad Mini, should you have one.

It isn’t a cushy pouch in any way, really just fabric sewn together so it’s cute if you’re head over heels with the Vice 3 design – of motion blurred lights – but otherwise, I chucked mine aside a little unimpressed.

Cute, Urban Decay, but let’s get on to the real stuff!

The double-ended brush is good enough, since Urban Decay doesn’t disappoint with their synthetic fiber brushes. Though it’s worth noting I personally don’t use the brush within the palette unless I really have nothing else proper on hand.

It’s cute that it comes in the same lime-green that adorns the base of the Vice 3 palette.

On one end you get a blending brush looking… brush, which works great for buffing that crease color out.

On the other, you get a… shorter version of a blending brush? It’s almost like a stumpy crease brush which I have some of in my stash but those are often left untouched. It’s good if you like placing strong colors in your crease but the stiff nature of it leaves me from picking it up much.

I like my blending brushes a tad fluffier, but it’s a good brush no doubt.

Grey Divider

So, with all those said and done, let’s move on to the colors now, shall we?

While at a glance this palette can look very… messy, and I mean that in the whole “zomg so many colors” sort of way, you’ll be surprised to know that they are actually carefully arranged within the palette to give some semblance of an order.

Each ‘column’ is almost like a quad of its own, with colors that compliment and match each other well enough to create a look with. We have

  • the neutrals column
  • the vibrant column
  • the purple-gold column
  • the cranberry-hued column
  • the smokey column.

Does this now make a lot more sense to you?

As with most of Urban Decay’s eyeshadow offerings, a large amount of the eyeshadows in Vice 3 did not disappoint.

The mattes were buttery and smooth with good pay-off while the pearlised or metallic shades were intense in both color and shine with a creamy formula that imparts amazing pigmentation.

There were a couple of shades that seemed a little powdery or lacking in intensity when swatched but those were the rare duds of the palette because overall, this still feels like a gem to own.

I can’t help but think Din Tai Fung (a chinese restaurant) when I see that brown…

I especially liked the intense colors (the whole row of reds is love!) within this palette and felt the smooth matte neutrals were good enough supporting roles. They’ve lovely alone too, no doubt, but if you wanted neutrals only I think Naked 2 Basics is more up your alley (more info about that one to come!).

Here’s a close up of some pretty shades I zoomed into (well, literally with a camera) when I first marveled at the palette.

Enough said, I think you want to have a look at the swatches.

Column by column now, so you can see how the colors look when paired with their column, though of course you can always mix and match it up.

So, that’s that for the swatches and a look at the palette!

To countdown to the launch of this beauty, at Sephora, this Thursday (30th October) I’ll be dedicating this whole week’s entry to featuring looks from the Urban Decay Vice 3 palette – Whoop!

If you’re looking to get your hands on a Vice, this should be the one to get!

In other news, the rest of Urban Decay’s holiday offering will also be launched this Thursday (30th October) at Sephora!

That includes:

  • Urban Decay Shadow Box (Permanent)
  • Urban Decay Black Magic 24/7 Liner Set (LE)
  • Urban Decay Naked 2 Basics Palette (Permanent)
  • Urban Decay Aura Naked Illuminated Shimmering Powder (Permanent?)
  • Urban Decay Naked Basics Double-Ended Brush (Permanent)

Urban Decay’s Vice 3 Palette will retail for S$88 at Sephora starting 30th October 2014.

Vice 3 is a Limited Edition Palette.

Thanks for reading!

Sponsorship disclosure

4 thoughts on “What is Your Vice? – Urban Decay Vice 3 (Photos & Swatches)

Leave A Reply!

