Shupette’s Silk Cushion Cheek Color (Pictures & Swatches)

Here’s more kitty lovin’ coming your way!

I know back in the day when I went on my non-stop Lancôme rampage (because we would be kindly given a whole slew of items that were released) I felt a little apologetic about talking about one single item without a ‘break’ in between though these days I seem to feel it’s more therapeutic this way.

Do I make sense?

Because, in case of this, if I were going to talk Shupette, why not just lay it all down consecutively for a whole week even so those who wish to know are able to check it out all at one shot without (much) disturbances, yeah?

It makes filing and the whole flow so much easier too. Tell me it’s not just my OCD-self….

 

I mean I doubt you all would want to be jumping around from kitty cat to a bath product, to maybe some hair stuff, makeup and back to little ole kitty cat, yeah?

I guess it loses that momentum somehow… so anyway, my point is, this is kitty cat week so cat ladies, sit tight and hang tight!

PA170106

This next kitty cat product (okay, am I annoying you by saying kitty cat?) is one that I’m actually a little undecided about. It’s really just me sorting my own feelings because those who have tried this product end up really liking it and so do I, actually, it’s just that it comes with a couple of catches and tiny hoops to squeeze through but I guess I don’t mind.

So anyway, this product here is a cheek product, a rarity within Shupette’s very extensive collection. You would think there would be a couple more cheek options within this cutesy collection given that’s the easiest to market to a youthful audience but no, there’s only 1 cheek product in 2 color variations.

What’s up with that, Shu?

PA170109

Though to appease us a little, I would say that the formula of said cheek product that was included within this collection is quite glorious.

It’s one of those formulas you can’t quite explain because it’s so interesting and cool yet it works incredibly well at the same time. Though as a personal conflict, the only beef I have against it is that it’s part-cream.

You know me, cream products and I don’t always get along.

I seem to have conflict with many many things in this beauty realm – cream cheek products, lip pans… I’m bothersome, I know.

But anyway, as I was saying while this is a little bit of a cream-like product, it’s not actually cream either so this is where I started to open myself up to the product and accepted it a little.

It’s a bit of a dense cushy mousse-like product that swatches creamy but blends on to a smooth powder-like finish on the skin. It’s not tacky on and in no way shiny or greasy either.

If I had to compare it to something, I would say it vaguely reminds me of those Maybelline bouncy blush things that were all the rage a little while ago.

PA170110

Housed within a really simple and functional packaging with a clear top (I like this aspect) so you can easily see the product, simply twist off the cap and voila.

For all the incredibly state-of-the-art packaging we’re seeing these days, something about a plastic and simple case like this feels mildly nostalgic. Or I could just be over-thinking, as I always do.

As I had mentioned, this comes in a miserable selection of 2 shades – Orange and Pink – and the shocker is that I chose Pink.

PA170107

So cute those kitty cat paw prints!

I’m the sort who would rather opt for coral / peach / orange first before I settle for pink but given how cutesy (and pastel-hued) the Shupette Palette is, I figured the Pink shade would be more of help to pair up some looks.

PA170113

Here’s a closer look at the intriguing texture of the product.

Again, it’s like a smooth dense mousse but slightly creamy and rather smooth once swatched. The formula isn’t slippery or greasy at all, which makes it quite nice but given how I like to use this (over my whole getup – yes, even powder), it proves to be a bit of work to properly blend it all in.

A little more dabbing, blending and even more blending to even the color out is required but it’s possible to wear this color over your already-done base without disturbing the foundation, powder or concealer.

PA170114

That said, I think that would be the little hiccup I have with this guy – that it takes a tiny bit more refining and time than if I were to simply swirl and dust a powder blush on with a brush but the result is truly well worth it because the flush this lends seems to look so natural (and so adorable too) that I can’t help but reach for this more often than I would like.

I’ve tried using a stippling brush and a couple other options with this but I figured the best way around it is still using my fingers.

PA170115

PA170119

There’s just something so special about this (and cream products, mainly) that hugs the skin so closely that it seems to replicate a cheek flush most naturally and perfectly.

Much as I love powder blushes for their ease I will agree that creams do have that advantage over that natural factor and somehow it’s just different when you’re using a cream product as opposed to a powder, but the hassle that it comes with often turns me away.

It’s nice, though, that this one lessens a lot of those hassles (and thicky creamy greasiness, though no less elbow grease, heh!) and has actually opened me up to using it and preferring it more than even my powder options most times.

It works great for workdays with a full out look and weekends for a natural look, I’m really enjoying it if you can’t already tell!

Have I already mentioned that this blush just lasts and lasts through the day? I don’t bother setting it with a powder (or another blush) on top; I simply dab this on, blend, and voila! Unless you are very oily and would have to dust some powder on for a peace of mind, I think this trooper can last you through your everyday too.

PB050028

Lip color is one of the lip pans from Shupette Has It All Palette

It’s a pity this is Limited Edition, really, and from what I have seen of it (on BritishBeautyBlogger, here) apparently there isn’t a whole lot of product in it either but I’m sure it’ll be nice while it lasts.

I hope to see more of these Silk Cushion appearances in Shu Uemura collections to come and, of course, in more colors please!

 

Thanks for reading!

Shupette’s Silk Cushion Cheek Color retails for S$45 each and are available at all Shu Uemura counters island-wide.

This is Limited Edition

Sponsorship disclosure

One thought on “Shupette’s Silk Cushion Cheek Color (Pictures & Swatches)

Leave A Reply!

