K-Drama Musing… – Surplus Princess

I seem to be doing a lot of K-Drama Musings these days, my bad! I’m just so so caught up with them right now it seems. As I had said when I first started this telly/tube series, I never was that much of a K-Drama fan.

No, seriously.

I watched a couple here and there only because they were highly raved and highly talked about but I was never addicted to finding another new drama (once I was done with one) to fill that drama-telly-tube void that you get once a drama you’ve been following religiously and super caught up about ends.

I mean it sucks and life gets momentarily ’empty’ but alls good after awhile.

Though these days I’m on a roll, really. It’s K-Drama after K-Drama and even when I’m not entirely done with one I start on another. It’s like as I am typing this, I’m a little sad about reaching the end point of said drama in the title (I’ll talk about it shortly) but at the same time I’m already considering some options to move on to once I’m formally done with Surplus Princess.

Should I see Liar Game? People have recommended Pinocchio… Or perhaps catch up on that Doctor Stranger that I’ve been meaning to…

So yeah, it’s addictive and it’s quite scary and hopefully I’m not alone in this.

 

But back to the point of this entry, Surplus Princess.

I’ll admit I got started on this drama for one reason and one reason only, Song Jae Rim, heh!

But as it turns out it’s quite a silly feel-good drama (where Song Jae Rim isn’t the lead, dayum) that’s just entertaining to watch. There isn’t a whole lot of logic in there and some people said it’s comparable, in terms of silliness, to that Paris Nail Shop drama (I don’t know, I haven’t seen) but if you’re okay with a little second hand embarrassment, a whole lot of silliness and maybe a little swooning over Song Jae Rim (or the lead guy, who’s got a nice smile) then I’d say this drama isn’t too bad to catch.

I mean, it’s only 10 episodes long… that’s not a lot of your time, yes?

Though this is one drama Hubs tried to watch but just couldn’t get into it. He couldn’t stand the silliness, much as he thought Jo Boa (lead girl) is pretty, he just couldn’t get pass all that whacky.

Which, I guess to each their own but I’m enjoying it and already at episode 6 though I swear I only started this less than a week ago.

If it’s anything to note, this show gets a bit pervy too in an absolutely hilarious and fangirly way but not so funny if you happen to be watching this with awkward people. Meaning, say your mom when a butt scene like this comes on… you know.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you…

And also, just something I thought I would mention but the name Surplus Princess is really a play on the words in korean because in korean ‘Surplus’ sounds very much like ‘Mermaid’. And if you haven’t already known, this show is somewhat ‘inspired’ by the Little Mermaid such that the lead girl is a mermaid turned human on a quest to find love (or die)… something along those lines.

Again, I don’t want to spoil it but if it sounds interesting enough, you should give it a watch!

So, without giving anything away this is my current K-Drama obsession and what I think of it. It’s something you should watch for some good (and ultra lame) laughs and a nice departure from the last sombre drama I caught (When A Man Loves).

I did say I needed a good laugh after that so, this fulfills the requirements very much.

Plus, there’s Song Jae Rim too, what’s there not to love. Heh.

I catch Surplus Princess over at GoodDrama but EPdrama has subs for it too, check those out ;)

 

Thanks for reading! What’s your current telly/tube obsession? Walking Dead?

3 thoughts on “K-Drama Musing… – Surplus Princess

  1. I have just finished watching Surplus Princess too, and I dont know what to watch next..you mentioned Pinocchio so I am looking for reviews and depending on that I may start watching it. Thanks for sharing.

Leave A Reply!

