Urban Decay’s NAKED On the Run – For The Peeps Who Are Always On the Road!

So here’s the low down if you’re getting Naked On the Run this Friday (5th December at ION Sephora, 6pm).

PB230087

Right.

I know how wrong that sentence sounds but when it comes to Urban Decay, I’m past the point of trying to correct myself and making it sound right. I’m so used to thinking of ‘Naked’ as the term of an Urban Decay range that sometimes I forgot that in itself it means, just that, being naked. Like nude.

See even when I say nude I think of a nude beige lipstick or something…

Our minds are so wired around makeup.

PB230089

My point being, I don’t think anyone would have the intention of running naked (no seriously, why would you?) but if you’re always on the go and you like your makeup quick, fuss-free and relatively subtle but not invisible then you fit the target audience of Urban Decay’s latest Naked On the Run palette!

PB230036

An all-in-one palette, this hefty case of rose gold is just base and brows (and maybe brushes too) short from being the perfect lug and go, though in it’s own right it’s quite an accomplished travel palette already.

The first thought I had when I saw this was – whoa, it’s a lot bigger than I expected!

PB230039

With a MAC lipstick for scale

I mean, I wasn’t sure what to expect since I had only seen it online but somehow a part of me expected it to be smaller, being travel and all. Though in some aspects, it’s quite nice that Urban Decay still went the whole way with a lavish look and a luxurious metalic rose-gold effect to it, instead of a cheapy rattle-y plastic feel.

If you ask me this is really best for having out on your vanity to quickly throw on your daily look because everything is in easy reach of the palette from your liner to shadows, cheek and lip color and even mascara, if you do that.

PB230043

I don’t know how comfortable I would be actually lugging it about for my travels because it is quite ‘solid’ and ‘weighted’ but if I was pressed for time when packing and can’t be bothered to rummage my drawers for options then throwing this in my luggage would suffice.

Along with a base, some brow products, a loose / compact powder for the base, an eye primer and of course some brushes.

So that’s just an idea of what else I feel I would need to pack apart from this piece of pretty right here.

PB230045

The inconvenient aspect of it – being a little larger and weighted – is also a reason why I like it because it isn’t just super compact and small. It has some weight to it, some heft and that just makes me feel like you’re getting so much more for the price.

PB230040

The pans of eyeshadows, blush/bronzer and a highlight shade (for cheeks or eyes) within are all nicely sized so you don’t have to worry about getting your brush aim right on bleary-eyed mornings during your travels.

In fact, the Naked Nourishing Gloss within is a full-sized item! What would you know! The eyeshadow pans themselves are comparable to the Vice 3 pan size too.

PB230050

Of course, given the ‘NAKED’ theme, the shades within this palette are all out to give you that neutral and natural look be it if you want it minimal or smokey (but soft and neutral).

It’s not going to be able to give you a whole range of looks but if your comfort zone and usuals sit within these permutations of browns (warm, ashy, slightly rosey) then I think you’ll be right at home with this.

PB230044

There is a nice mix of 3 metallic shades and 2 smooth creamy mattes, a good move on Urban Decay’s part.

I especially love that warm slightly copper-gold deep brown at the very end because it’s got some stunning shimmer action going on. I couldn’t wait to use it so I have included it in some looks to come real soon.

Like, tomorrow soon.

PB230055

Here’s a swatch of the lovely browns in the palette.

They’re all such yummy shades I had to snap this palette pronto and use it right away. I got this palette on Friday and I was already using it on Monday, that’s an incredibly quick photo turnover time for my standards!

PB230063

PB230066

Look at the shine on those metallics!

PB230060

And that gorgeous shine on that golden brown

 

Speaking of eyes, we have a travel-sized 24/7 Glide On Eyeliner in Stag and given my recent experience with these, I really like them because they stay put and don’t budge (very much) on my liner-eating watery eyes.

If any liner can last well through a day on my eyes, that’s a clear winner in my books.

PB230051

I’m utterly impressed with them and if you’re traveling, the last thing you need is a liner mishap so these are a great go-to for an ease of mind for your eyes.

 

Another eye item within is the Perversion Mascara, in a sleek travel-sized tube, which I’ve heard about quite a fair bit when it launched not too long ago.

PB230052

Modeled after Urban Decay’s very popular 24/7 Glide On Liner shade (in Perversion of course), this promises to be as rich and black as the liner.

Though I’m not much of a mascara user these days so I can’t judge how it properly wears but I brush some of this on my lower lashes and it seems to give me rather nice definition there. It’s not intense because I would only go for a light coat but I like how the brush (which was bigger than I expected) seems to hold and grab each lash really well.

 

The only thing I feel I would swap out within this palette is the Naked Gloss (in Sesso) – only because I don’t personally prefer gloss but since we don’t have a Naked Lipstick range (yet! UD, I’m waiting) this is the only thing to cover the lips.

Literally. Hurhur, I’m so cheesy now I’m sorry.

PB230053

The nice thing about this chubby tube of gloss is the spacious well it is housed in. If necessary, I’m sure you could slide a shorter lip liner or maybe even those chubby lip pencils or slimmer lipsticks in should you wish to swap it out.

But shh, don’t say you heard it from me.

PB230070

Though to give Sesso (the Naked Nourishing Gloss within) some credit, it is beautiful and natural, soft and easy to wear. The shade is a translucent medium pink that is really wearable, strewn with fine pink shimmers within to bring some shine to your pout.

It’s just I have my own beef with lipgloss and I shouldn’t take it out on here to affect my fair judgement of it. For the sake of reviewing this proper I have also been making myself wear this more often and in truth I really do like how comfortable it wears and glossy it looks, just not so much when the wind picks up

Here’s a swatch of both Stag and Sesso.

I skipped out on swatching Perversion mascara because it’ll simply be a swipe on my hand and what does that say about it right? It’s black, and we all know that so let’s save that ‘swatch’ for another time on my lashes!

PB230074

 

That aside, rounding up my long ramble about this palette would be the cheek colors – there’s a bronzer and blush duo housed within as well as a highlighter pan that’s slightly larger than the eyeshadows but smaller than the face color pans.

PB230042

I believe the intention is for you to choose to wear it as a brow highlight (because there isn’t one otherwise) or as a cheek highlighter as well.

PB230048

The color itself is a pale ivory with a subtle sheen, not shimmery or glittery at all, so I believe it would be great for either purpose. That’s what we all love when we travel right, multi-purpose products.

While the bronzer looked pretty orange in the pan and swatched fairly orange against my hands, it turned out alright once I dabbed it on the face so, don’t be afraid that it swatches like a lobster bisque here.

PB230078

Here’s a closeup on 5050 because it’s a great subtle highlight that I enjoy dabbing on both my brow bone and cheek bones.

PB230080

Purple Divider

Okay, so I know I rambled on a little and went into detail with some products but overall you can say that I’m quite impressed with Naked On the Run and also really enjoyed having it on my vanity over the last few weeks (and many more weeks / days to come)!

And have I also mentioned that all the products within (Perversion Mascara aside) are brand new and Limited Edition – exclusive to the Naked On the Run palette.

PB230057

Way to go Urban Decay to give you an incentive to need to own this palette. The term Limited Ediion just lights up a spark in our mind and short-circuits the unit called Willpower.

Of course this may not be everyone’s palette, less everyone’s travel palette, but it’s one you don’t really need much persuasion to get because neutrals just work.

Almost everyone loves a good neutral because it’s so easy to wear and when you have a quick face option put together in a well designed palette, what’s not to love!

It makes for a great gift too if you happen to know someone looking to get Naked (okay, bad joke) or someone who loves the Naked line and would be totally stoked about receiving this under their Christmas tree.

It’s highly recommend given the price and size of everything, S$85 isn’t too bad for this box of quality!

PB230091

If you’re up for getting this palette, here’s a bit of a repeat of information that I had talked about earlier in this post. Only because it’s such a great deal and I really hope one of you guys manage to score it!

Grey Divider

Naked On the Run Early Bird Promotion!

The Urban Decay Naked On the Run palette will be launching at 5th December, 6pm sharp. Though if you’re hardcore about it you might want to get there earlier because the first 2 who purchase the palette will receive the Naked Vault for FREE.

The next 4 will have the option to purchase the Vault (worth S$550) at a steal of S$388!

Then of course the First 100 will also be given a nice deluxe size Urban Decay Anti-Aging Primer Potion so you can prep your lids proper before you use Naked On the Run!

Grey Divider

So, are you going to be On the Run down to ION Orchard on the 5th of December?

 

Thanks for reading!

Urban Decay’s Naked On the Run retails for S$85 and will be launching on 5th November, 6pm sharp.

This is Limited Edition.

Sponsorship disclosure

3 thoughts on “Urban Decay’s NAKED On the Run – For The Peeps Who Are Always On the Road!

Leave A Reply!

