Look Feature: Naked On the Run – Texture Mish-mash!

So this is it, the day!

The day that Urban Decay’s Naked On the Run goes up and running (oh joy, I can’t stop with the punny references) so if you’re looking to get your hands on it, do hurry down to ION Sephora!

I doubt it’ll be possible to be in amongst the first few right now because those who really want the Naked Vault are probably already in queue (right? I’m guessing…) but you could still make it to be one of the First 100 and walk away with a deluxe sample of Urban Decay’s Anti-Aging Primer Potion!

Eitherways, good luck to all heading down. Remember, it’s ION Sephora and it’ll launch 6pm today (5th Dec).

Now on to the look, here’s my attempt at fusing a matte and shimmery color together for a fusion of textures.

I will say that in pictures the look didn’t quite come out as distinctive as I would have liked, partially due to the fact that I’m also perfecting the idea of mixing textures since I’m more accustomed to wearing pearly, frosted or sheened eyeshadows alone. But I think this is an okay start and you’ll like see more texture mishmash from me!

Though in the meanwhile, here’s my rough stab at it with the deeper end of the palette spectrum.

PC020006

Somehow it photographed a little more intense and darker a mix of browns as compared to how it looks in person but no matter, just an observation.

PC020017

Naked Look 3

Given the pairings available, I could go light (with Fix and Resist – the ashy beige matte and cool taupe metallic) or darker and smokier as I did here.

I had the matte shade (Dare) in the inner corner and all over the lid actually with Stun (the gold shimmer strewn brown on the outer corner.

The effect of the look was a little different from what I had in mind, probably due to the texture of the shadows and that Stun has a refined touch of gold shimmer instead of the piece-y gritty sort but I think it ended up being quite alright. Though I’ll definitely explore this texture mix again with grittier, sparklier shadows!

PC020037

Here’s a blurry shot to capture the shimmer. I don’t even know how many times I’ve said ‘shimmer’ in this post…

PC020027

PC020026

PC020015

PC020028

For the rest of the face, the cheeks are largely the same as what I had used in previous Naked On the Run looks – with the bronzer as contour and blush as blush – but this time around I loaded up on 5050 on both the cheeks and also high points of the face for a more glowy and radiant finish to the skin.

Continuing the texture mix, instead of glossy and shiny lips from the Naked Gloss within, I cheated here and went for a satin finish on the lips instead.

My inital intention was matte but as it turns out, Laqa & Co’s Fat Lip Pencils weren’t as matte as I had remembered them to be.

PC020043

PC020045

I must say, when you consider mixing and matching textures and not just colors alone, it makes the whole look rather interesting to put together.

PC020023

PC020010

PC020060

I apologize for the fact that my eyes always looking so bloodshot in the mornings. I’m not quite sure why but they look better as the day progresses. It must be the fact that I’m totally not a morning person, ha!

PC020064

BROWS
Shu Uemura Hard 9 Pencil in Walnut Brown
Shu Uemura Brow Manicure in Honey Glazed

FACE
Vichy Normaderm Anit-Imperfection Hydrating Care
Lanôme Absolue Liquid Foundation
MAC Select Moisturecover Concealer
Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage Concealer
Tarte Smooth Operator Micronized Clay Finishing Powder
Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Incandescent

EYES 
Urban Decay Primer Potion
Urban Decay Dare – all over lid (NOTR)
Urban Decay Stun – outer half of the lid (NOTR)
Urban Decay 5050 – brow highlight (NOTR)
Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Liner in Stag


CHEEKS 
Urban Decay Naked on the Run Blush
Urban Decay Naked on the Run Bronzer (contour)

LIPS 
Laqa & Co Fat Lip Pencil in Ring of Fire

Grey Divider

The Lighter Texture Mix Variation!

Now, hijacking this post a little, I was about to end it with just showcasing that one variation of the matte and shimmer mix but both curiosity and the need to document it got the better of me so I explored the lighter texture mix options I had mentioned at the start of the post.

I didn’t bother to create a brand new entry for this because it’s quite a simple look and aesthetically it isn’t very much but for those considering all aspects of this palette before acquiring it (why even consider, just get it!) here’s a look you can explore.

PC030002

Naked Look 3 lighter

PC030008

PC030015

I can envision this being a look I’d throw on quite often when I’m not sure if I feel up for shimmer or matte – why not both right?

PC030018

 

With that, I’m going to round up this dedicated mention to the Naked On the Run Palette and as always I hope that amidst my spam of looks that sometimes may not differ too much from each other, you found this helpful and informative!

Don’t forget to run down if you want to get your hands on this!

Urban Decay’s Naked On the Run Palette will be launching 5th December (6pm) at ION Sephora. This is Limited Edition.

 

Cutting that long ramble down, I’m signing out of my blog for a bit though I do have some posts scheduled and planned so this space wouldn’t end up dead but I guess for me it’ll be a bit of a break – a fun and tiring one so… not so much of a break-break but whatever, I’m rambling again.

Okay, see you guys shortly and stick around for more posts I have planned!

Thank you again for reading!

Sponsorship disclosure

4 thoughts on “Look Feature: Naked On the Run – Texture Mish-mash!

Leave A Reply!

