A Little RF Facial For Instantly Perkier, Radiant Skin This Holiday Season!

I don’t think it’s something I need to say even more of but, yes, the Holiday Season is upon us!

Everyone is probably busy scrambling for gifts, planning out parties, gatherings and of course attending them and during this frantic and hectic period, we all still strive to put our best face forward and not look like we could use 9032984 more hours of sleep even when that is the truth, right?

While most facial sessions, be it the machine ones (e.g. Diamond Peel) or the manual massage ones, are great to relax your skin and get most of the groundwork done – cleansing, prepping, exfoliating – there are just some things that those can’t do and that would be stimulating your skin cells and the collagen within your skin to give you a temporary (albeit awesome) lifted, radiant and flawless skin look.

And that is where RF Facial comes in! Radio Frequency facials!

DSC01083

E Medical Clinic, where I had my RF Facial Session done.

DSC01084

Pantry area for customers to help themselves to water, coffee, etc.

I had the privilege of attending one just before my baby girl’s birthday weekend (which involved a lot of parties, friends from way back and relatives) and I didn’t get much time to put on much of a game face on (hustlin’ about prepping both the place and the birthday girl) so this facial definitely helped me look a ton better. Or rather because it made my skin look awesome there’s little else I needed to do to just look clean and fresh.

I even had a couple of friends and guests even commented that I looked really good (ahem ahem, shy now…) and some even went ahead to comment about my skin looking well maintained. Which is a little far from the truth given my rushed nightly routine but heh, okay, I’ll take it. ;P

IMG_5019

Long story short, if you’re looking for a way to instantly (the whole procedure takes 30 minutes tops) lift and smooth out your skin, then this is the answer to that!

I’m sure you’ll have one less thing to worry about as you throw on your (flawless) party face and yet still take perfect selfies without a need for a skin smoothing filter.

Though of course, I feel I need to disclaim a little where RF Facials are concerned because what this facial session does is stimulate the production of collagen and skin renewal within your cells so if you have a fairly good base to begin with, the results will be amazing. If your skin has some other concerns, like acne or really uneven skin texture, then perhaps another treatment will be more suited.

Another disclaimer, because RF Facials use radio frequency to get the job done, those with very bad acne situations (like a big patch of red and angry) are not advised to do this. Pregnant women or those with metal inserts in the body are not advised to do this too.

Grey Divider

Alrightey, after that wall of text, let’s get to the facial session which was about as quick as a blink of an eye really. I think I spent a little more time in the waiting room than on the facial bed, heh!

DSC01087

Though to be fair, they are facing a peak period right now.

Everyone wants to get their holiday game face on, ha!

So, let’s have a look at how this is done, shall we?

DSC01090

Removing The Makeup –

Starting out, the first thing to do is to remove all dirt and impurities on the face so the treatment can work best so Carmen, my therapist, removed all traces of my makeup before proceeding.

DSC01093

DSC01094

Though the lipstick I had on (MAC’s No Faux Pas) proved to be extremely tenacious so you’ll see remnants of it on the lips in closer shots, my bad!

Faded lippie isn’t a good look but I guess the plus side is this bugger is insanely hard to remove so it’ll last you incredibly well through the day!

So, moving on!

The Cooling Gel –

As this is an aesthetic clinic, the whole procedure is very much efficient and no-nonsense so after my makeup was removed, Carmen went ahead to slap on some cooling gel on my skin.

DSC01102

This cooling gel is to help conduct some of the heat from the RF Machine and also to offer some slip and slide to it as Carmen works the machine’s head over my skin later on.

The RF Procedure –

The RF Machine that is being used here at E Medical Clinic, Venus Viva, is one of the latest in this field. It heats up incredibly quick and is also very efficient and dishing out the right about of stimulation to the skin as effectively and safely as possible.

DSC01086

The head of the machine, or hand piece as it is also referred to, is known as the Diamond Polar because of the slight diamond shape to it.

I found the shape and little ‘nodules’ on it that helped to transmit the RF waves very comfortable on the skin. The way it is structured and also the way Carmen was wielding it on my skin made it feel like she was running a selfwarming massager over my skin.

DSC01105

DSC01106

I liked that Carmen was also very attentive to the amount of gel on my skin’s surface and topped up another layer once it started to wear down.

DSC01114

This way the whole process felt really comfortable and the warmth didn’t cause any discomfort or prickling sensation to my skin since there was always a nice barrier of gel.

DSC01118

I recall my first encounter with RF Facial was quite alright but I could definitely feel the heat more then (and I had to go through 3 hand pieces then too!) so this really quick and comfortable approach to RF is definitely very much welcomed.

Each side is worked on for about 10 minutes and the machine will beep to signal that one ‘session’ is over, followed by turning itself off so no matter how much you’re chatting with the therapist noone is going to lose track of time here!

DSC01120

Once it’s done, Carmen proceeded to wipe the leftover gel away and hand me a hand-held mirror so I could see the difference for myself.

DSC01121

The Left Vs the Right –

Carmen worked on the right side of my face first (your left!) so that I could compare the results and even within looking at a mirror I could feel the skin on my right cheeks tightening and being lifted already!

DSC01133

DSC01135 01

Granted my skin isn’t extremely deprived of collagen or an extreme case of sagginess and age hence the difference isn’t world’s apart, I can definitely see and feel the improved skin texture and condition already, I can’t imagine how drastic an improvement it would be for older women or those who really need a lifting effect to bring back some youthfulness to their face!

Okay, here’s a more detailed low-down of the difference I spy, incase you can’t quite tell. As I said, it’s a slight difference but enough to make you look better without it being noticeable.

I’m sure you can see in the pictures how the right (your left) appears more smoothed, radiant, taut and of course lifted!

Completing the Look –

After showing me the comparisons, Carmen went ahead to finish the other side of my face while I snapped a few pictures just to document it and then enjoyed the rest of the way.

DSC01138

While there aren’t any massages involved, the hand piece rolling over my cheeks with a comfortable heat was actually quite soothing. I didn’t think I would say that about an RF Facial and those who have gone for RF Facials before will know what I mean when I say they aren’t made to be comfortable and enjoyable.

It isn’t usually uncomfortable but I feel like you have to brace yourself a little when you’re going through them, the price to pay for good skin, but I didn’t feel this way here and that was nice.

And voila, after a quick 20 minutes, we’re done!

DSC01142

The After(s)! –

So, here on it’s going to be a little compilation of how my skin looked right after, once I got home and the next day.

DSC01151

Even as I’m typing this facial up a whole weekend after I had done it (it’s posted a little late due to my intended Urban Decay Naked On the Run spam), I’m still marveling and admiring my skin in the mirror. The lifting part is truly lovely but I think what I enjoy most about RF Facials is the improved skin condition overall.

Here’s a snap I took from my mobile camera in Sephora’s pretty good lighting right after my facial session. I like how my skin looks rosey, lifted and so supple! #nofilter!

IMG_5035

Another perk about RF, aside from a lifted effect, is that it helps refine your skin texture and also minimize your pores. I don’t have the biggest issue with pores but in recent years they have started being rather pesky and appearing more prominently than I would like, making me turn to skin-smoothing primers for a truly smoothed out skin appearance.

DSC01171

Though look at my skin post RF! So smooth and flawless!

I haven’t been using a primer since the session and I’m still enjoying some pretty good skin days. It’s not a permanent treatment so I’m enjoying it while it lasts. Let’s have a couple more pictures showing lifted and refined skin!

DSC01182

DSC01179

The lifted cheeks effect also gives me a slightly more defined V to my jaw but nothing drastic since it isn’t targeting at improving your jawline. It’s just the overall, once you pull something up the rest goes along as well and it looks better overall.

It’s the sort of skin bettering that will have people saying you look really good, fresh and put together but yet there isn’t anything in particular that they can pinpoint about why you look better except maybe that your skin is looking exceptionally flawless!

So, what do you do when you are glad about your skin because it’s both lifted and rather flawless looking? You selfie! Here are some shots with makeup on, about 3 days after the RF session.

IMG_5276

IMG_5282

As seen on Instagram

Purple Divider

For those who may have questions about this, the RF Facial isn’t invasive and there isn’t any downtime involved as well. At the most you’ll have some slight redness right after the Facial session but that subsides really quickly to a natural flush and would be gone after a couple of hours.

What you’ll be left with is a temporary good skin period where your skin feels smooth, and lifted (resulting in more pronounced cheekbones for my face shape), and of course the skin texture a lot more evened out providing a smooth canvas be it with or without foundation.

Overall your skin just looks fresh and good though one thing to remember about RF Facials is that the results are temporary.

The promise of duration here is 2-3 weeks and it is highly dependent on your own skin-type, lifestyle etc because what this facial does is stimulate more collagen cells but these cells have their own lifespan and unless you go for regular sessions, your skin will fall back into it’s usual collagen cycle. So don’t worry, you’re not going to see a super adverse relapse or anything, it’ll just slip into what it used to look like.

If you’re interested to perk your skin up and look good for all the festivities coming up – Christmas, New Year, etc – then book an appointment at E Medical Centre now!

They have online appointment making services available here so go ahead and book now!

Thanks for reading!

E Medical Centre is located at Bukit Batok, Orchard and Toa Payoh. Click on the locations to get the exact place that they are located at.

The RF Facial I had done in this post is S$500 per session. There might be package options available, but do check with the front desk there to be sure!

Sponsorship disclosure

2 thoughts on “A Little RF Facial For Instantly Perkier, Radiant Skin This Holiday Season!

Leave A Reply!

