On My Nails: A Grape (And Also Very Great) Affair – The Body Shop Color Crush™ Nails

Wow, just… wow!

I didn’t expect to feel this strongly and be this attracted to a polish from The Body Shop’s Color Crush series. No offense really, but remember my awry first impression? Which was subsequently salvaged… but still!

I cannot stop singing about how beautiful this purple is, in my books at least.

IMG_4277

You see, where nail colors are concerned, purples are one of my absolute favorites. Be it a pastel purple, a dark moody one or even the loud and pink-toned magentas that wear well for a couple days before you get sick of how vibrant it is.

Of course I’m open to all sorts of other colors too as long as it isn’t orange but yes, purple would grab my attention first.

I assumed that I had seen (most of) it all when it came to this color that I always gravitate towards but this purple right here, is so familiar yet so new to me at the same time.

It’s vibrant, but pale, bright but pastel, so perfect!

IMG_4282

It’s a creamy purple that is part bright, somewhat midtone yet a little pastel all at the same time. I really can’t get enough of it and I’ve had this on for quite a good period of time partly because it lasted really well, through almost 3 weeks of wear, and also because I really liked the shade and couldn’t bear to remove it.

It was only when the growth / new nail portion finally got to me that I figured enough is enough and moved on to other colors.

It’s beautiful, really.

IMG_4285

Unlike the peachy shade earlier, I did bother to throw on a topcoat over this because it seemed like it needed a bit of that for a glossier shine.

IMG_4294

It’s fine without and if you’re only wearing it for a couple of days at most it could probably live the wear but, why would you only wear a gorgeous shade like this for only a couple of days, right?

IMG_4295

IMG_4301

Oh yes, I believe in my excitement I may have forgotten to mention that this shade is called A Grape Affair (french name: Lilas Mauve). I feel that in the case of this polish, I prefer the French version of its name because A Grape Affair sounds very… OPI to me, somehow.

No?

I’m pretty sure they have a purple by that name actually (inner voice: Yes they do).

IMG_4298

Grey Divider

A couple of days into the wear of above-mentioned manicure, I received a press kit from MAC and it contained a lovely pale pink shimmery number (from their Holiday collection) and much as shimmers are pretty to wear, I know well enough the pain it ensues upon removal so I decided to layer it over A Grape Affair, on one nail to serve as an accent nail.

I think it’s quite pretty and lovely how the colors work together.

IMG_4706

IMG_4711

The MAC Nailpolish (Just Jewels) turned out more opaque than I had expected – I was thinking sparse glitter / shimmer in a largely transparent base – and I did think it was a beautiful color to wear. I was mildly tempted to do a full manicure with it but… as I had said, it was a bit of a pain to remove even on one nail so I’m glad I spared myself the pain.

 

Alrightey, I think I’ve rambled enough about my love for this beautiful purple and the incidentally lovely combination that I chanced upon thanks to a very timely press kit.

To turn things back to The Body Shop, I think their colored offerings are actually quite pretty both in tone and textures so should you be looking for a cream colored polish (say this purple, or teal, or perhaps a seafoam green), do check The Body Shop’s Color Crush Nail Polishes out!

To give MAC some mention, this polish is also now out at their counters and is Limited Edition so if a sweet and shimmery candy jewelled nail polish ‘topcoat’ is what you’re after, you had best head down!

 

Thanks for reading!

The Body Shop’s Color Crush Nail Polish retails at S$12.90 each.

Sponsorship disclosure

Leave A Reply!

