MAC Holiday 2014: Heirloom Mix – Sweet Sentiment Blush & No Faux Pas Lipstick (Swatches)

Where MAC Holiday collections are concerned, I usually adopt 2 approaches to it. Okay, maybe 3, depending on the situation…

It’s either – I love it so much I learn every aspect and product of it or the sheer quantity and options confuse me so much I freak out and blank out at it.

This year, and in recent years, I’ve been adopting the second approach of steering myself away once the holiday collections hit.

 

Sure MAC puts out a huge array of options and products in beautifully festive and gorgeous packaging but I guess when faced with this many options, some of which resemble their permanent or pre-released items, I just get so confused I shut myself off entirely.

Case in point, I had no idea there was a third Holiday collection – Keepsakes and Objects of Affections aside – called the Heirloom Mix and that’s where these pretty face color pieces are from.

I guess my point is, that there’s nothing wrong with a smaller festive collection and that’s what I have been preferring these days but, of course it’s not like MAC to do it since they thrive on options on quantity so, let’s have a look at 2 items from MAC’s sea of holiday makeup.

PC170037

Someone needs to hand me a directory already!

Grey Divider

The Heirloom Mix collection houses a more individual approach to products, as opposed to the sets and bags in the other two so if you’re looking at individual lipstick pieces or blush, this collection should be a good place to start.

PC170035

These aside, I do have one more item from the Heirloom Mix collection, a kohl liner I think, which I’m still hesitant on featuring. I haven’t gotten around to using it and fear that by the time I get to it could be too late so, we’ll see how that goes!

But back to this, the 2 items I am showcasing here are similar in tone – of being pinks – hence I decided to feature them alongside each other instead of individually.

To give you a little more backstory about the Heirloom Mix collection, you’ll find 5 matte lipsticks released with it and 2 Mineralized Blushes. Of that lot, I have 1 matte lipstick and 1 Mineralized Blush to talk about – Sweet Sentiment (the blush) and No Faux Pas (the lippie).

 

First up, let’s have Sweet Sentiment, the Mineralized Blush, because I want to take this time to talk about how far MAC’s Mineralized Blushes have come!

PB230225

I remember when I was crazy about them back in the day, when they were still relatively new and only starting to crawl about in the makeup realm.

Even then, when their textures were not as refined and sometimes felt a little gritty on, they were snatched up all over and in such demand.

These days it seems like MAC has learnt to step up their mineralized releases despite their huge initial success even with a fairly crude, or should I say unrefined, formulation.

Though here and then there are still some pieces that are reminiscent of their starting baby steps, Sweet Sentiment isn’t one of them. This mineralized blush comes in a perfected dome that is smooth the touch, not powdery at all and blends really nicely on the skin with a brush – no powder kick up or powder cloud with use.

PB230226

Of course this smoothness cannot match that decadent buttery and creamy feel you get with certain brands and certain products, it’s a fair improvement no less.

PB230227

The color is a nice dusty mid-pink which doesn’t appear too unique but I like that it straddles nicely between being a nice pop of pink yet with a soft enough dusty tone to prevent it from being too ‘bright’ on.

The dusty tone of it doesn’t seem to turn ashy once on the skin either which is a plus for those with tanner / deeper skintones since most often dustier shades can turn ashy and cool on them.

PC150031

I’ve found myself reaching for it quite often because it picks up well on the brush and a quick dab is all you need to blend some colors on your apples!

PB230231

 

Moving on to a lipstick that compliments this blush so well, No Faux Pas which certainly is no faux pas!

PB230154

A vibrant pink lipstick, this has a bit of red to it to keep it from being too stark or too bright and allows it to work well on deeper skintones too.

PB230155

In the case of hot pink lipsticks, sometimes tanner complexions struggle with how ‘pink’ and stark fuchsia can be but this is a nice pink option that is actually rather wearable. It’s funny to say that a loud fuchsia lipstick would be wearable but it truly is, if you’re up for a pop of color of course.

PB230159

I don’t have many (or any… actually) of MAC’s matte formulas because I usually prefer their Amplified and Satin finishes but I will say that I was pleasantly surprised with this. For a matte, it glides on smoothly without any tugging and while intense the color is controllable too.

You know how some lipsticks are so intense you just need a lip brush with it for that precise application otherwise it seems to just get all over the place and smear everywhere? Thankfully this doesn’t seem to be like that.

It didn’t feel lip-sapping on through it’s very long wearing period but it’s definitely not a hydrating lipstick either.

PB230160

Overall I was really impressed with its lasting power and, of course, love how bright a pop the color is.

You can get away with quick neutrals on the eyes, a crisp black cat-eye, a sweep of Sweet Sentiment blush and this on the lips – that’s a perfect and fresh look right there!

PC150030

In fact, I took a cue from the sudden ‘look inspiration’ I got while drafting this up to create said pop-pink look with clean and neutral eyes so that entry is coming up next!

I’ve also talked about a couple of other much loved products that I haven’t gotten around to featuring singularly so you can read about that ramble very soon!

Though in the meanwhile, if you’re looking for a last minute gift or still thinking up that perfect holiday look then I suggest giving these pop colors a look at your nearest MAC counter!

PC150025

 

Thanks for reading!

MAC’s Sweet Sentiment Mineralized Blush and No Faux Pas Matte Lipstick are part of the Heirloom Mix Holiday 2014 Collection. This is Limited Edition and had launched 24th November 2014

Sponsorship disclosure

Leave A Reply!

