Merry Christmas Everyone! Here, Have A Festive Manicure!

I wanted to do a On My Nails post and then a separate HOLLA It’s Christmas! entry but figured, nevermind… I always end up rambling way too much in my nail entries (for no reason, really) so combining the two topics could be a way to remind myself to ramble less.

Try to, at least.

So… yes, a VERY VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!

I don’t have this manicure on anymore, sadly, but that also means that I am able to report that while gorgeous the glitter here (as with all glitter in polishes) was quite a pain to remove.

IMG_5394

IMG_5396

Sigh, why must pretty glitter be such a pain.

I know there’s that whole soaking method to remove glitter but sadly it doesn’t work for my hyper sensitive skin. The last time I tried that, my skin felt like it was burning and got all red from irritation – not fun.

That’s probably why, despite how a glitter polish can lend such a lovely touch to a manicure, I avoid them like plaque because it’s just too much trouble to remove.

Though before I get to the glitter, let me show you how that rich red – Boss Lady, hurhur, cute name – looks on its own first.

IMG_5402

IMG_5404

IMG_5406

IMG_5407

I know I said I wasn’t going to ramble but given that this brand is new (to me and I assume to a good few of you lot), let me just talk about it a little.

I’ll keep it as brief as I can with some key details but if anyone is interested in finding out more about the brand I would most certainly do an overview / round up to come, once I get around to swatching up all the shades I had received.

I was provided with a nice selection of shades which I hope to get around to swatching and featuring but for now here’s the two pictured earlier.

IMG_5424

IMG_5423

I think overall I am quite pleased with the brand. I can’t say I love their polishes because there is a catch to them but the colors are nice and rich, opaque in one coat and the brush is functional.

IMG_5417

It’s almost perfect except for the fact that it takes forever to dry. Like, forever.

I think we’ve all been spoilt with the glossy and quick-dry polishes of late that this is a little reminiscent of polishes before the gel era. Should I have discovered this brand about 3-4 years ago I think it would sit well with the bulk of nail polishes of that time.

IMG_5429

Though these days with gel effect polishes that give you beautiful shine, a flawless finish along with an incredibly quick dry time so you can get back to your chores asap, this one just feels a tiny bit lacking.

That, and the fact that this polish doesn’t last a very long time which was why I didn’t manage to wear it till the Christmas period. About a week into wear it start chipping very obviously at the tips and I had no choice but to remove it and move on.

IMG_5436

It’s these little itty bitty bits that is turning me off from swatching the rest of the shades but in its own fairness the color selections are rather pretty.

I have a gorgeous deep teal that I’m curious to try. Perhaps this time I’ll pair it with that Sephora quick dry oil that I have and hopefully that will make the process of enjoying these polishes a little better.

IMG_5421

I’ll report back again! Though in the meanwhile if you’re curious to find out more from Madam Glam for yourself, you can hop by their website and give it a look!

p.s. they’re having a 40% now if you’re willing to take a chance and haul first, decide later.

Alrightey, I’m sorry for this entry becoming such a ramble even though I tried not to.

I didn’t want to just upload a Christmas greeting alone so hopefully pairing it with a manicure made it a little more worth your time to read through.

I hope that everyone is having a blast this Christmas be it if you celebrate it religiously or just enjoy the commercial aspect of it, the get-togethers and the gift exchanges.

Regardless which angle of Christmas you enjoy, as long as it’s spent sharing laughs with people you love, it’s a joyous celebration no less.

Merry Christmas everyone! <3

 

I’ll see you guys again once the Christmas festivities is over!

Leave A Reply!

