LOTD: A Little Iron Maid-in, REM, and Moderato with Balm Jovi

Heyo!

Today I’ve got a bit of a throw back LOTD for you. Actually, apart from this I do have a couple more ‘look back’ entries as I sift through my stash for things that I had once loved and give them some love all over again.

PC170027

As much as I enjoy racing the clock with new launches and the rush of products to try and feature during the holiday influx, I quite like the aftermath where everything suddenly quietens down. Not entirely shush-shush of course since we’re already hearing some buzz from Spring collections and upcoming product launches.

I guess along with the lull I’ve been feeling (that post holiday haze), I have been drifting into a bit of a lazy makeup but in an effort to prevent myself from being too comfy with neutrals once again, I’ll attempt some stash revisits and put in an effort to doll up and document it. After all, who’s to know if I’ll be able to do it once my new job happens so… why not spam now at least, right?

 

The first on the stash-revisit or stash look back, whichever, list is The Balm’s Balm Jovi palette which I was extremely stoked to haul when I had first gotten my hands on it.

Sadly I only managed one LOTD feature of it which definitely doesn’t do this pretty palette of colors justice so, here’s another shot at it!

If you’re looking to get your hands on it, you can try TheBalm’s website or perhaps Sasa (locally) if they still have it in stock. I got mine from TheBalm when they had their half-off sale waaaaay back.

PC170017

After opting for safe and neutral options with the palette the whole while I’ve had it (which I’ve only used maybe only 4-5 times, oops), I’m going for a little more color this time!

PC170002

PC170009

PC170012

I feel purples like this, to me, still threads in the safe and neutral zone. Of course it isn’t as effortless and easy as browns but it’s still rather simple to pull off and pair.

PC170011

PC170003

I really love how REM looks. It’s a grey purple that is easy to pull off and may not seem like much but it has this gorgeous glint in it that flashes a little gold and a little pink as well. Absolutely beautiful to wear!

PC170013

PC170014

PC170015

The rest of the face features products from Balm Jovi too – from the blush to the cheek highlight and also the lip color. I considered going with the red lip pan (or lipsynch as the palette calls it) but decided to go soft and natural instead.

I’m a little out of it with the red lip phase, too much bold in the holiday period, but I’ll go back to it again when I feel it.

PC170030

PC170018

PC170025

p.s. spy the little photobomber at the back

PC170032

Products Used:

BROWS
Shu Uemura Hard 9 Pencil in Walnut Brown
Shu Uemura Brow Manicure in Honey Glazed

FACE
Vichy Normaderm Anit-Imperfection Hydrating Care
Shu Uemura Sheer Refining Mousse Foundation
MAC Select Moisturecover Concealer
Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage Concealer
Tarte Smooth Operator Micronized Clay Finishing Powder

EYES 
Dior Backstage Eyeshadow Primer
Balm jovi – rem eyeshadow
Balm Jovi – Moderato eyeshadow
Balm Jovi – Iron Main-in eyeshadow
Balm Jovi – Adagio eyeshadow
Eyes Eye Do Liquid Liner
MAC Powerpoint liner in Engraved

CHEEKS 
Balm Jovi – Don’t You Want Me Blush
Balm Jovi – Solid Gold Highlighter (also Mary-Lou Manizer)

LIPS 
Balm Jovi lipstick pan in Milly

 

So that’s that! Kicking off the new year with some oldies! Given the quiet of this period I was mentally trying to work out posts and entries and thought I would do Surratt next but I’m afraid I’ll have to put that off a little bit more. I’ve got a ‘higher purpose’ for the Surratt Spam so in the meanwhile, more looks, more stash-lookbacks and also some upcoming stuff!

Yes, you heard right, the 2015 beauty calender is in motion!

 

Thanks for reading! Happy New Year once again!

I groan to think I’m already 25… mid twenties (not complainin’ about age, just saying). It’s scary how quick time flies, really!

Leave A Reply!

