A Peek at Dior Spring 2015 (Photos & Swatches)

Heyo!

Sorry I’ve been away, somewhat. The busy-ness isn’t letting up yet and I had hopes that things would get a little smoother after this Saturday (a work event) but from the looks of it it seems like a steady stream of things flowing in with very immediate deadliines. Tsk!

Eitherways, I’ll try my very best to come back with more detailed product run downs or features of these items soon. I hope, at least.

Since they are already out at Dior counters (yesss, go check it out), I felt I should at least pop up a mention of the items that I have on hand so if anything catches your eye you can head on down to swatch / check it out.

 

So, Spring….

DSC08560

I like the idea of Spring where everything is so soft, fluttery and clean. Though where makeup is concerned, Spring is often the least exciting because everything is so soft, so light and so sheer.

For Spring 2015, Dior decided to introduce us to their Kingdom of Color which while fancy isn’t all that colorful.

It’s cute, it’s sophisticated and it’s all very Dior but if your idea of Color is loud, bold and bright then this Kingdom isn’t going to excite you very much.

I’ll get to the rest of the collection’s pieces in a bit but let’s have a look at what I have on hand first.

DSC08557

Starting with one of the more excitable (in theory and buzz) releases from Dior, the Dior Cheek & Lip Glow, this is a multi-purpose product for use on both the cheeks and lips.

The bottle is incredibly adorable, designed much like a lacquer except with that iconic Dior Addict ‘knob’ atop the cap, which by the way is removable for an easier to handle wand grip. See, very much like a polish.

DSC08579

I’m not the biggest fan of cheek and lip multipurpose items because I like my lipsticks and my powder blushes enough but I did take a liking towards YSL’s Baby Doll Kiss & Blush so I guess I was expecting this to stir up my heart in the same manner but it’s sad to say that I felt a little underwhelmed.

P1110003

The first thing you need to know is despite its very intensely saturated outlook, that bright cherry red bottle, the liquid within is sheer and clear. It seems to adopt the concept of a lip and cheek stain except in a more viscous (yet still somewhat watery and light) texture.

P1110005

Though while soft in pigmentation (from what I gathered with hand swatches), this does leave a pretty mean stain and very quickly at that so I’m presuming while it leads you to think it’s all aqeuous and light, you should blend and move fast with it.

DSC08582

I’ll report back on how application works out. Though I’ll say, I do like the adorable ball of an applicator and I think overall it looks cute and very pretty but somehow I just expected a little bit more to sweep me off my feet, or something…

We’ll see what I think about it again once I get to using it on the cheeks and lips. Perhaps it’s a better performer there.

 

Next up would be some Kohl Liners.

DSC08584

These are fashioned like chubby eye pencils that you can use either to line your eyes with or as a cream colored base for your shadows.

Breaking away from the light and fresh theme of Spring, the shades offered with the Kingdom of Color collection is largely smokey and dark, probably to compensate for the liner portion of this Spring Look.

DSC08586

The ones that we received are Pearly Silver (039) and Smokey Black (099). I think I would work a little better with the Smokey Grey, Smokey Brown or Smokey Blue option (the other colors available) but no matter, lets see what we can do with this Yin and Yang!

P1110010

I’m thinking smokey look but that’s quite standard and boring, right? Let’s see if we can inject a little bit of Spring into all this default smokey-eye-ness.

P1110009

The kohls are quite creamy and nice, saturated enough but not so much so that it slips and slides all over. Though I would still think that it’s a little too creamy for me to feel safe wearing as an eyeliner so perhaps I’ll start with using these as a cream colored base first.

 

Last but not least, the Dior Nail Polishes!

DSC08583

The only color missing from the lineup is Glory (and apparently one more – Majesty – which flew under my radar) which is a vibrant color that looks like it has its place in Summer collections. It’s not quite a peach, not quite a cherry-red but it’s vibrant and yet milky all the same.

DSC08577

The other color, the one that I have, is Lady – the softer and more demure counterpart.

Lady is a beige pink that seems to look largely pink once swatched but can lean a little beige in some photographs or lighting.

DSC08566

Though the star of the varnish line-up really is that topcoat you see right there, called the Eclosion Topcoat. It looks messy and ‘too much’ from the bottle but trust me once you brush it on it’s quite a spaced out mix of ‘confetti’.

As what a friend of mine said when she saw me swatch it on my week-old manicure just to test it out, it’s like a baby shower party on your nails and that’s not wrong.

It’s no obnoxious, it’s gently done and yet cheery at the same time with the mix of soft pastel confetti pieces. I’m not one who likes to wear glitter or any grit on the nail becuase of the hassle of removal but for this I think I will gladly make an exception.

DSC08588

It’s just too cute! Like everyone who has swatched it would say, it looks like cupcakes on your nails!

I’ll have my turn at swatching it and get back with pictures!

Grey Divider

My own pictures aside, here are some official ones with the rest of the pieces of the collection!

There is enough information online so I’m going to skip the press-style entry this time around but as always, if you have any questions feel free to ask away!

Kingdom of Colors Eye, Lip & Face Palette (Limited Edition)

 

5 Couleurs Eyeshadow Palette in House of Pinks & House of Greens (Limited Edition)

 

Dior Vernis in Majesty, Lady, Glory and Blossoming Topcoat (Limited Edition)

 

Rouge Dior Baume in Palais & Cotillon

 

Diorshow Kohl Professional Hold & Intensity Eye Makeup (Limited Edition)

 

Dior Cheek & Lip Glow (Limited Edition)

 

Sorry I don’t have the prices of these as I wasn’t provided them and haven’t got the time to pop by a boutique to enquire!

So, that wraps up this brief and initial impression of the Dior Spring 2015 collection.

I have been using some of these for awhile and have formed a bit of an opinion since drafting the outlines of this Overview up but I’ll save my opinions for the individual showcase entries to come! I hope I’ll be able to get to it soon.

I know I haven’t been around as often as I was during the end period of last year but that truly was some spam moment on here and while I enjoyed it, I can’t afford that same time right now. Though I’ll do what I can of course!

I have more entries in mind and a lot drafted, some part edited pictures lying around etc, so I hope to get all of that up as soon as possible, thank you for reading!

2 thoughts on “A Peek at Dior Spring 2015 (Photos & Swatches)

Leave A Reply!

