Fixing the Icky Skin Situation – Acne Facial at Aeon Medical

Hello!

Sorry I couldn’t get this post up sooner due to the many matters on hand right now but here’s a lookback at a facial session I’ve done at Aeon Medical about a week back when my skin was facing pretty dark times, breakout and all, and how Aeon Medical helped me through it by de-congesting my skin and nourishing it so that it would heal quicker and better.

IMG_7222

So after my quick little introduction to Aeon Medical (shortened because it’s easier to type), my next visit – this post – is a treatment based on the skin results that we had received via the Skin Analysis.

Initially Dr Kim had plans for me to do one of their best-selling procedures, the Winter Glow, which from his description does sound pretty darn amazing. I can see why Winter Glow was one of their best-selling treatments and slots were snatched up so quick they had to halt the promotion.

I know this entry isn’t about Winter Glow but let me explain that a little about that first because it is the next treatment that I had done and I am absolutely in love with it and will write about it asap, because I feel this need to share.

So, Winter Glow is really all about getting that perfect lifted, lightened and fresh face appearance. It’s most ideal for people with pretty good skin already, looking to simply better their skin or perhaps address eensy-wincy problems of dullness and lack of radiance to the skin.

The procedure itself combines laser (for skin brightening), RF (for skin lifting and pore tightening) as well as a blend of Maria Galland products (only the best, nourishing and luxurious) while ending off with a Cocoon Mask (the one I’ve tried, to smoothen, repair and overall relaxation / energizing of the skin).

All that combined into 1 treatment when if you were to go anywhere else this would probably be 3 different treatments where 3 different sessions would be required. So, tell me, doesn’t this sound amazing?

 

Though, I shan’t get ahead of myself because while I was scheduled for that, my skin just wasn’t cooperative and was in pretty bad shape.

I don’t break out often these days and even then it’s that lone spot or two, hardly ever this bad! So, my skin really couldn’t have chosen a better time to freak out on me… though no matter because upon analyzing my skin condition Dr Kim had the proper fix for me.

Given, he did explain that what they do in the Acne Facial (the treatment prescribed for my current skin condition) isn’t entirely ground breaking or too far different from maybe deep cleansing facials offered at other places, the idea is that this is simply a stepping stone – Step 1 – to the final goal of having better skin.

What’s more to allow one place to continually work on your skin would give both you and the clinic / salon experience to see how your skin reacts and understand the different stages and phases your skin goes through.

That said, let me walk you through the Acne Facial session I had, best recommended for outbreaks or those in need of decongesting your skin, where my skin was properly cleansed of oil clogs and also given some acne-controlling and healing treatments.

 

The Holding Room –

Before I start, I want to introduce you to that other holding room I had mentioned during my initial entry.

IMG_7223

The room that is decorated all plush, cozy and posh, complete with lovely diamante in the furniture, a stunning modern chandelier and even fairy lights to add to the atmosphere.

I haven’t seen this place in daylight but I am going to guess that it looks best at night.

DSC01198

DSC01197

And a frivolous thing to point out, but gives you a clearer idea of their meticulous nature, when they serve tea they provide you a saucer to remove the tea bag to.

DSC01201

After a little bit of photo snapping and tea sipping, I was ushered to the facial room after a quick conversation with Dr Michael Kim.

IMG_7229

 

Makeup Removal –

DSC01202

As always the first step is to remove the makeup and while this step is quite commonplace everywhere, I think one thing I’ve noticed about Aeon Medical is that they are incredibly meticulous in everything that they do.

DSC01205

DSC01208

It’s not something I can simply pin-point and bring to light but the sense that you get through the course of the facial, the attention to small things and time spent on the smaller things as well shows that trait. It’s likely the Korean influence of things, where being efficient, meticulous, effective and also soothing is important.

Here’s a look at the bumpy and annoying spots that littered my face and plagued my skin for a whole week.

DSC01229

DSC01231

DSC01233

They don’t look that bad in pictures but in person, trust me, it isn’t pleasant.

 

Extractions –

While I have said that I don’t mind the idea of extractions and (in fact) welcome them, when my skin is flaring up as such I actually cringed for what’s to come when the therapist informed me that she would be starting with the extractions.

DSC01235

I think my treshold for pain isn’t too bad so I was able to sit through it and not disrupt or disturb the therapist when she was busy getting the gunk out of my face.

Even on spots where it did hurt a little more – and she always checked if I’m alright – I said I’m okay so that she would continue as per usual.

DSC01239

I’d rather sit through that short ordeal of pain and have the icky stuff removed than opt for the easy way out and compromise on that!

 

Ampoules & Ultra-sonic Machines –

The next step was an ampoule – specifically for acne skin because it was both healing and also acne fighting at the same time – that was first dabbed and massaged into the skin.

DSC01240

DSC01245

To allow even better penetration of the ampoule and amplified effects, an ultra sonic machine was used to further ‘massage’ it in.

DSC01247

The head of the machine is this huge and smooth metal ‘bob’ (for lack of a better description) that the therapist slowly massages across all surfaces of the face – nose and little nooks and cranies like the small space between the nose and lips.

DSC01254

The machine starts off feeling cool but slowly warms up. There is no pain or any sort of prickling sensation, it just feels like this bulbous massaging machine that’s actually quite comfortable. I’m sure the effects are transmitted via ultrasound that you can’t feel anyway.

 

The Finishing Masks –

I like to think of a basic facial’s steps like a night time routine so the ampoule and ultra sonic step would be the the ‘active ingredient’ or the ‘serum’ part of the routine and this (masking) would be the nourishing and healing one which wraps it all up.

DSC01266

The first mask that was applied is a Sulfur Mask. Sulfur is a key ingredient for acne skin types to use because it helps draw impurities (like sebum and dirt) from the skin while tightening the pores and give your skin an overall clarity.

DSC01271

After the Sulfur mask was applied, the next step is to place a modeling mask on just to keep everything under wraps. It’s quite a common practice with most facials it seems as I remember even the old school facial sessions I attended as a teen doing something similar.

My guess is this helps to further nourish the skin and the encapsulating aspect of the modeling mask helps enclose it all and ensures absorption and all that.

DSC01272

DSC01281

I was left to rest, and let the mask set, for about 15 minutes or so before the therapist returned to remove the hardened masks and cleanse my face.

She also went ahead to put on some toner, and moisturizer (from Maria Galland, woots) to my face to help wrap up the facial session. Again, as with Maria Galland products, it felt really nourishing when she was massaging it into my skin and while it may feel rather thick initially, it sinks in eventually (relatively quick) leaving your skin soft, smooth and nourished.

I think I’ll really just cave eventually and get myself a Maria Galland moisturizer, they’re amazing.

DSC01289

That final step wraps up the whole routine and that was it but I wasn’t sent off empty handed with raw and sensitive skin.

 

Given my skin condition right now and how it requires special care, so they don’t clog or get inflamed, Dr Michael Kim ‘prescribed’ me a couple of Aeon’s house brand skincare products to use.

They’re pretty simple yet targeted (for Acne skin) stuff – a facial cleanser to properly clean out the infected areas (not to be used daily less it dries the skin out), a water-based moisturizer (so that normal moisturizers don’t clog the extracted spots) and a Spot Treatment that flipping hurts but I know it’s drying out the zits and killing the bacteria in the meanwhile.

I’ll do up a more indepth post to talk about their skincare products given that this post is running long and contrary to my usual impression of a clinic’s house brand, these aren’t basic in any sense and actually address the skin concerns in a very refined way – both purpose and also the texture / experience of using this. It could even standalone as a skincare range I’m sure.

So, more about these soon, alright?

 

Though meanwhile, back to my face!

Here’s a look at how it was right after the facial (which isn’t something I’m jumping to show because the spots are raw and red) and in comparison how much everything has healed in the span of a week.

DSC01296

Right after the treatment

DSC01297

Right after the treatment

Makeup-wise, I went with tinted moisturizers and lightweight yet nourishing stuff that offered a slight dose of coverage for skin tone evening purposes as opposed to a full coverage foundation. I even skipped concealer on the spots because – why clog them?

I didn’t know how I used to manage or prefer heavier foundation coverage on my bumpy breakouts back in the day but it’s not something I would feel comfortable with right now.

P1070057 copy

The next day, with tinted moisturizer (makeup)

P1070058 copy

The next day, with tinted moisturizer (makeup)

So after that scary ‘after’ image, here’s how it my skin looked a week after the Acne Medical treatment. With religious use of the skincare products provided to me, of course.

DSC01376

DSC01379

The skin healed incredibly quick, at least by my standards (I usually take awhile to heal), and I think the extraction definitely helped because all that congestion and gunk was removed so my skin can heal better without any ‘disturbance’. The treatments also probably provided some nourishment and help to nourish the skin and speed up the healing process.

Not to mention the skincare products I was sent home with that helped with after-treatment care as well.

P1120032

P1120033

Of course it takes the skin a lot longer to recover from the acne pigmentation (the slight darkness after a spot heals) that occurs even after the skin is healed and the bump is gone but I’m glad I got a little help Aeon’s Winter Glow facial treatment to lighten and brighten the skin! :)

That post is to come, real soon, because they’re only offering it (Winter Glow) for a limited time so the sooner I get it up, the better for you all!

 

Purple Divider

Thanks for reading!

Aeon Medical & Aesthetic Centre is located at Scotts Medical Centre @ Pacific Plaza (9 Scotts Road, #06-02/03)

Call 6733 2002 for further details on treatments, pricings and to make appointments.

For those curious about the Acne Facial I had done, mine was a little customized for my skin condition, breakouts by slightly dry, so what you get should you sign up may vary pertaining to your skin’s needs.

In terms of price, it’s around the range of S$1,000 onwards for a package of 5 sessions because where acne is concerned, follow-up is best but they do have individual sessions should you want that. Where skin is concerned, it’s always best to call to enquire for more accurate information!

One thought on “Fixing the Icky Skin Situation – Acne Facial at Aeon Medical

Leave A Reply!

