Aeon Medical’s Winter Glow – For Perfected Skin & A Glow of Radiance!

Okay… here it is!

Though before I start I must disclaim: Lotsa pics, quite a bit of words but a whole lot of awesome in this post ;) Just check out this before and after!

DSC01405 copy

Remember that awesome facial I was stated to do in my previous visit to Aeon Medical? Yet at that point my skin decided to troll me by breaking out so Plan Winter Glow had to be put on hold.

Though thankfully my skin has gotten a whole lot better since then, the breakouts have stopped and the spots are healing up nice and well, it was in better shape to undergo the Winter Glow treatment this time around.

IMG_7835

I feel it was also quite an appropriate time to give the Winter Glow treatment a go since my skin was just getting better from an exhausting breakout that glow and shine were the least of its concern. In fact even my skin texture needed a little help and the sleepless nights / stressful deadlines I’ve been facing these days are of no help at all so a treatment to firm up my skin to give it that bouncy look, fresh radiance and a refined skin texture is very much welcomed!

If you’re looking for something like that to just perk your skin and complexion up in lieu of the upcoming Chinese New Year visitings, then read on to find out more about this pretty impressive (and pampering, might I add) Winter Glow treatment at Aeon!

So, as I had mentioned earlier, Winter Glow is an incredibly popular facial / treatment that Aeon Medical & Aesthetic Centre offers and it doesn’t help that this is a seasonal treatment, which means it isn’t going to stick around forever.

Primarily targeted for the end of year period (in conjunction with the idea of winter), this treatment was the answer to a refreshed, brightened and refined complexion even when your habits at that point are far from achieving that same rested and perfected skin effect.

You know how when you look at K-Pop celebrities and their skin is always so nice and smooth, taut yet bouncy and radiant (not the dewy BB Cream look) at the same time? That’s the softness yet polished look that Winter Glow is looking to achieve.

It’s a treatment that combines aesthetics (well, somewhat) procedures with pampering and relaxing steps like massages and masks so apart from delivering results on your skin, you’ll leave feeling relaxed and well rested.

I could go on and on about this, really, because I do feel quite strongly about it both in what I know of the steps already (because I’ve read about them / tried them elsewhere before) and also because I am rather pleased with the end results but I’ll control myself becuase I doubt you’ll want to see a whole wall of text alone so…

Let’s get to the treatment, shall we?

DSC01389

When I arrived, I was first ushered over to Aeon’s Chill Waiting Area (that’s what I’m calling this place from hereon) because I was quite early. I was offered a cup of tea and left to my own rather embarrassing selfie / self-timer devices so I’m mighty glad that this place offers complete cozy privacy.

Wouldn’t want anyone seeing my embarrassing behind the scenes antics, heh.

I know tea is tea but I do enjoy the different types of tea offered at Aeon. It’s like you get a random one each time and they’re all really yummy. I think I had a ginseng-something one this time around but I really can’t tell… it was good, that’s all I can say.

 

Makeup Removal –

After sipping tea and running to and fro taking self timer shots (so failed I must add), I was ushered over to the facial treatment room for makeup removal.

DSC01393

DSC01402

As usual, the makeup process was delicate and also meticulous. I especially like the gentle way they remove my eyeliner, because it’s generally quite effective (like 80% removal?) and the only parts that don’t budge are on my lower lashline, close to the waterline, so that tricky no matter who does it.

But anyway, that’s just makeup removal so… moving on!

 

Robe-ing Up With Cool Slippers! –

After all my makeup was removed, I was told that I would be moved to Dr Kim’s office for the aesthetic procedures since treatments that require aesthetic machines will be done there by the doctor himself.

While Jina (the kind and patient Clinic Manager) left the room to prepare a robe and these really squishy and comfy slip-ons for me, I decided to take this opportunity to snap some ‘before’ pictures.

DSC01412

DSC01405

DSC01408

I know the lighting and all isn’t the best but it’s obvious, to me, that my skin is facing ashen and fatigued days, looking a little dull and my skin texture suffering a little from the recent breakout. Needless to say, given that my skin isn’t going to be radiant or all bouncy and fresh.

Once Jina returned with the robe and helped me into it (along with the slippers) we shuffled one door down from the corridor into Dr Kim’s clean and bright office.

DSC01428

 

Clarity Laser Toning –

The first procedure to this treatment is the Clarity Laser Toning, a non-evasive laser treatment that targets and breaks down pigmentation in the skin in an effort to lighten them and give an overall brightened complexion.

DSC01431

This, was what I was most excited about because while I love the other treatments involved equally, I haven’t done anything to treat or better the pigmentation levels and uneven skin tone in an extremely long time.

To be nitpicky, I have noticed that my skin is getting a little darker at certain areas, mainly the crevices and while it isn’t an obvious thing it is the reason why I look that much fresher and better with foundation on even though I don’t have many issues with blemishes or skin redness.

If slight discoloration or uneven skin tone is something you’ve started noticing, then maybe you can consider some laser procedures because they really make quite the difference.

DSC01432

However Dr Kim did explain that since Clarity Laser Toning in used in conjunction with other treatments here, the dosage isn’t the most intense so the skin doesn’t have to go through too much. Those with more severe pigmentation issues may want to look at Clarity Laser Toning by itself.

As for discomfort, Dr Kim warned that I would feel a prickling sensation but frankly the only thing I felt was a tickle. It wasn’t painful or uncomfortable but that’s me. If you’ve got a lower threshold then maybe a prickle but I doubt it’ll be in the area of pain.

 

Diamond Lift (RF + Magnetic Pulse) –

After the Clarity Laser Toning comes one of my favorite facial procedures, the Radio Frequency one. If you read my thoughts on the many facial sessions I’ve done through the years, you’ll know that RF always has this special place in my heart because of the very immediate and noticeable effects that you’ll be able to achieve.

DSC01436

I’m not the only one to think so as I have girlfriends who love RF as well and their eyes light up at the mention of it because they are well aware of what you can get out of it – a more refined skin texture, skin tightening and lifting, radiance and a flush from within.

If you’re facing pore issues you may also notice that your pores will diminish a little or become more uniformed in size.

DSC01442

So, the machine that Dr Kim uses is one that I have tried before – the Venus Viva with the diamond head – and his reason for choosing this is because it emits a Magnetic Pulse as well which somehow seems to tamp down on the discomfort of heat discharged from RF while not compromising on the efficacy.

Now, I’ve had my experiences with RF (and even the same machine at that) but I’ll say that this is possibly my most comfortable experience ever. There wasn’t a moment where the heat was uncomfortable or something I had to ‘bear with’ for a little bit of the sake of refined and perfected skin.

DSC01441

The gel that was used, I noted smelt really nice and feels good, was remarked to be quite a pricey one and one application was all that was needed through my whole procedure. The gel didn’t seem to disappear away and seemed to hold well as a lubricant / barrier between the RF hand piece and my skin.

It is also comforting to know that Dr Kim is doing the procedure himself – not a therapist or apprentice etc – and this is an option he chose to do because he feels that all aesthetic treatments, no matter how big or small, can go wrong when left in untrained hands (or rather trained but not Dr level, definitely) so he would rather assure the patients and handle it personally even if it means he’ll be busier.

DSC01446

To monitor the temperature of the skin, to ensure the patient is comfortable and to prevent skin burns (which can happen with RF, ouch), Dr Kim uses an infra-red thermometer and scans the patient’s skin every once in awhile through the RF treatment.

See what I mean now, dedicated and meticulous! You know you’re surely in safe hands here at Aeon.

 

Cleaning The Skin, Skincare Steps & Cocoon Mask! –

Once the more aesthetic treatments were done, I was ushered back to the facial room where my therapist (Esther) helped remove the remaining gel on my face with a lovely hot towel maneuver.

It’s not quite a massage but it was very calming and soothing a step.

DSC01451

Do I look ninja? Ha!

DSC01453

After the gel was removed, Esther proceeded to prep my skin with the many steps of a skincare routine from toners to ampoules (I love that they use this, because ampoules are not cheap!), rejuvenating creams and of course a moisturizer to top it all off and seal it all in.

DSC01460

DSC01463

In true Korean fashion, the many steps of a skincare routine isn’t compromised.

DSC01471

DSC01475

Once my skin is all nice and prepped with skincare, Esther continued the treatment by layering a mask on, followed by this detoxing eye mask which was really new to me.

DSC01479

DSC01481

Dr Kim spoke about it during my session in his office earlier and warned that if your eyes are really tired, you’ll experience quite a detoxifying effect and he wasn’t wrong. It’s a stingy feeling that isn’t painful but brings to mind this image that the mask is sucking all toxins from around my eyes and also infusing it with moisture at the same time.

DSC01489

At least that’s what it felt like, stingy but not scary and quite nice even. It’s like being sadistic to see dirt being sucked out of your face… yeah, along those lines.

After the first layers of masks, a gauze was laid over my face and the Cocoon Masking step begins.

DSC01495

The Cocoon Mask, as I had explained the first time I tried is is a mask that works to encapsulate everything within this self-warming cocoon of foam. The temperature is kept comfortable and what you get is this soothing sensation over your skin as you feel a light pressure from the foam on your face that is both comforting and also warming.

The mask itself contains nourishing ingredients to plump and hydrate the skin as well as stimulate collagen production within the layers of the skin. It also works to promote better efficacy of the masks (and skincare) laid underneath it as it envelops your skin.

DSC01496

With the Cocoon Mask on, I was given a very relaxing neck and shoulder massage that felt extremely legit! It’s something you would expect when you walk into massage parlors and while TMI, the therapist doesn’t skim over the decolletage area either.

That area gets some attention as well and I’m only bringing this up because I know of friends who have mentioned in passing that they do like it when that area gets a good dose of massage yet most places don’t focus on that – usually only the shoulders, neck and upper back.

No pictures of the massage obviously because I was too busy enjoying it to snap – plus it’ll be tricky to snap anyway so I only have words for that segment.

I was left to rest with the Cocoon Mask on for a little while more after and once time is up, Esther returned to remove and foam mask (very adorably shielding my eyes from the light while removing it) and while I couldn’t see my skin there and then I did feel that it felt very refreshed.

DSC01510

These pictures were snapped right after the Cocoon mask was removed and my face cleansed of the foam remnants. Looking at it now, I think my skin looks pretty amazing with a flush and glow being emitted from the skin.

DSC01513

Esther proceeded to re-apply some skincare products to my face again before announcing that I’m done and directing me to the Chill Waiting Room after.

DSC01521

So healthy and radiant, I love!

DSC01531

 

Post-Treatment Chilling (Awesome Tea + Post ‘Selfies’)

After the Winter Glow treatment,  I was served another round of tea along with some chocolates at the Chill Waiting Room and I took this time to take a couple more vain selfie shots because I felt so pleased with how my skin looks.

IMG_7879

Granted I had no choice but to use the camera flash (which we all know is never forgiving on skin, too harsh and too stark), I think my skin looked pretty good given that!

Of course it’s got a little shine to it from the skincare laid on but I love how it has this fresh and brightened appearance, a bit of a translucence almost and of course that bouncy look to it.

DSC01568

DSC01566

eyebags cannot helped, heh maybe I’ll have Aeon help me with that sometime down the road…

DSC01562

DSC01561

DSC01554

I’ll say that my skin doesn’t need a whole lot of lift right now and my last RF session wasn’t too far away so the difference isn’t major but if you’re looking for a more perfected contour and could use a mild skin lift, you’ll see more viable differences in this aspect.

DSC01551

DSC01549

 

More ‘AFTER’ Shots! –

Now I hope you don’t mind if I just spam a couple more shots of myself but this time in a different time frame and context from the earlier one, which was right before the treatment.

These were snapped as I went about my daily life the few days after the treatment and it was a time that I was so happy with my skin that I actually skipped wearing foundation for a few days! I did the usual sunscreen and of course concealer under the eyes but that aside, and a little finishing powder for oil control, my skin was left to glow and shine through on its own.

Why cover it up when it’s looking so good, right?

IMG_7863

No makeup! No brows even, oops.

IMG_7919

Made up but without foundation – just concealer under the eyes and finishing powder (not tinted).

IMG_7972

Lunch time selfie of a day without foundation – the skin still looks glowy and radiant because there isn’t any foundation to fade away and all!

IMG_7973

Random selfie I took while OT-ing (after a whole day of work) – the concealer fading and liner smoking does make my makeup a little less than perfect but I think the skin is still looking pretty good after a whole day at work (no blotting too, oops).

Purple Divider

So, I know this entry has gotten exceedingly long but I had so much to share and talk about this treatment and even then this is me holding back on some parts of it already!

I could go on and on if I wanted to, I’m sure but instead, here’s this picture again to sum it all up.

DSC01405 copy

If you’re intrigued in Aeon’s Winter Glow facial so you can have your skin all perked up and refreshed for Chinese New Year, or if you want to treat a loved one to this so they can put their best face forward this CNY, I recommend for you to hurry and book a session (or package) now!

The Winter Glow facial treatment is a seasonal offering so it’s only around for a Limited time! Until Chinese New Year to be exact so, hurry!

There are some T&Cs to comply to given the immense popularity of Winter Glow, so here they are below:

Winter Glow facial is only available on weekdays from 10am – 5pm. Only first-time visits will be entitled to the trial / promotional prices.

 

Aeon is having a TRIAL promotion for their Winter Glow facial right now – S$190 for one trial session (full works, no different from mine) and entitled to sign on for a package of 5 sessions for S$2,500.

The usual price is easily double, so hurry and grab this promotion while it lasts! Also while the Winter Glow facial treatment lasts as it is only available till 18th Feb 2015.

Call 6733 2002 for more information & to make an appointment now.

Aeon Medical and Aesthetic Centre is located at:
9 Scotts Road #06-02 , Scotts Medical Center @ Pacific Plaza S228210

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Aeon Medical’s Winter Glow – For Perfected Skin & A Glow of Radiance!

  1. Whoaaaa this looks so nice! Thanks for snapping so many pics, it was just fascinating to me. They probably don’t have anywhere near where I am (Michigan), but it was fun to see. The before and after is just wooow.

    • Aww thank you for dropping by and I’m glad you had a good read! :D I hope the concept of treatments like this will reach you soon! It’s definitely a great procedure to instantly perk your skin up! :)

    • Hi there! Hmm, I don’t personally have too much experience with Diamond Lift but from what I know of it (in theory), I don’t believe it is the same. Perhaps it could give similar results but my understanding of Diamond Lift is that it’s more of a salon equipment than an aesthetic one so perhaps the dosage wouldn’t be as high as RFs. But I’m not too sure so don’t quote me on it, this is solely from what I briefly know of Diamond Lift :)

Leave A Reply!

