Look Feature: Dior’s Cheek & Lip Glow – A Flush That Lasts!

Alrightey, since this is one of the ‘hawt topics‘ of Spring 2015, I thought I would try to squeeze a mention of this as soon as I could manage (which frankly took awhile even) and share my 2 rambly cents about it.

DSC08568

To sum up my thoughts about this product thus far, the journey of discovering it and then using it, I would say that I probably started off on the wrong foot with this fella.

Though that said, I’m still not raving about this to no ends and while I’ve discovered its merit and how lovely it can be, I still do question whether it truly is a must-have or nice-to-have.

If you’re a sucker for packaging and already on the verge of cashing out this purchase then I’ll say go ahead and get it because you can do no wrong – it is quite nice, really – but for those of you on the fence of it and weighing the cost of it with how it works and how much mileage you can get from it…

Well, I can’t make the decision for you and I’m not going to push you either ways so I’ll let this entry speak for itself and hopefully after this you’ll have a better idea if its in the territory of ‘need’ or ‘want’.

Though who am I kidding, do we really NEED more makeup? Heh

From the words of Dior, the Cheek & Lip Glow is described as a subtle and instant rosy blush shade that works universally for all skintones. With a dab, the face lights up with a sparkling flush along with a breath of freedom, this instantaneous radiance and glow.

DSC08569

That’s mostly all Dior, not me.

Where this product is concerned, I think we should step back and look at the word ‘Glow’ a little differently from what we know because the glow defined in this product doesn’t encompass any sheen or dewy radiance but rather the aspect of Glow that Dior is selling here is a natural blush – a flush from within, a kiss of translucent color on the cheeks (and also dabbed on the lips).

It’s that winter blush or a healthy flush on a hot day and frankly, I think Dior did well with the universal aspect of it because I did feel that this is versatile enough to be worn lightly or piled on for stronger color.

DSC08570

What’s more, the applicator (as I had mentioned) is really quite adorable and while it is very tempting to dab it on your cheeks via that ball of cute, I do prefer transferring some product to my fingers first for better control.

 

Cheek Glow –

Where application is concerned, the lips portion is quite straightforward so I’ll focus more on the cheek area first.

Wearing the Cheek & Lip Glow on my cheeks as a blush stain is actually my favorite way of using this product. On the lips, it just falls a little short and isn’t as unique in formulation and experience plus I’m not entirely a lip-stain-look kind of a girl so I always top the lip look with a gloss or lustre lipstick anyway.

So back to the cheek application.

P1140033

Now I think when it comes to the Cheek & Lip, you should really practice caution because while my initial statement of it was sheer, light and translucent, the color actually came on quite strongly for me.

On my cheeks, that is, and a little bit is all I really need.

I used a little more for the sake of the blush showing up better on camera (cause you know, a camera can’t always capture the same magnitude of color as ‘real life’) but I had to buff on some light foundation after these shots to tone the blush down for day-wear.

P1140034

I don’t think I want to walk around with such a strong flush but hey, if that’s your style, you can achieve it with this bugger.

The liquid is light and cool on the skin and the application part is probably my favorite when it comes to using this because it seems to leave a mild minty and tingly feeling on. It goes away quickly, much like the watery aspect of the formulation, so don’t let the aqueous feel of the product deceive you – the minute it lands on the skin, the stain is at work so blend, eo seo (hurry, in korean)!

I demo-ed dabbing this on the cheeks first followed by blending it out just for pictorial purposes but how I really prefer applying this to my cheeks is first dabbing some to my fingers and blending that bit out.

P1140035

While the formula isn’t as watery as most stains that we know, it is still a stain and every exposure on the skin surface counts so I feel dabbing it on my fingers before blending it to the cheeks gives me more control over the color and also lessens the opportunity of that dreaded unwanted pink dot on the cheek from dabbing the color on.

P1140039

Doesn’t this look better and less ‘patchy’ than the one above already? Though I managed to make both work, I will say it really is easier to work from the fingers.

 

Lip Glow –

As for the lips, it is quite a straightforward thing to use and on me, it lends a pretty nice pop of pink though I think where this is concerned it will depend on your lip pigmentation. If you have more pigmented or darker lips maybe the color wouldn’t be too intense on first swatch.

P1140042

Though if anything, I have noticed that you can layer this – dab on the first layer and let it dry and stain before wiping the excess of and repeat – but for me usually 1 coat is enough for the desired pop of color.

P1140043

Upon initial application this will look all shiny, juicy and glossy but that shine goes away really quick and simply leave a stain, without much of a finish so it looks incredibly natural. Not that rather vibrant pink lips is natural but hey, that’s the illusion we’re giving right?

P1140050

P1140051

Since it is a stain, I do notice that it isn’t hydrating in any sense and while I would say it isn’t sapping like a matte lipstick clinging to your lips, it can be a tiny bit drying through the course of the day. Somehow.

And oh yes, one very crucial point to note but if you’re a regular lipstain user you would have expected this and sad to say, its still evident – the taste. It’s not good. It’s a taste very typical to lipstaining products and I can’t quite describe it but yes, it’s there. It goes away so just bear with it at first taste, every time you use it that is.

Grey Divider

As for the staining ability, this is quite amazing on the cheeks because it really stays and stays for me.

P1140065

Though for reference, my cheeks are generally quite ‘normal’. They don’t get oily through the day, not much at least, and sometimes I can get away with powder blush lasting quite alright – a little faded but I still look ‘alive’.

Though with this, it seems to look the same on my cheeks even after being out the whole day so for that, I’ve been reaching for this quite a fair bit on days when I want my makeup to stay perfect through the day – this paired with the Dior Star Liquid Foundation has my ‘base’ makeup set!

P1140054

On the lips, it does stain quite alright, for a couple of hours at most but it does seem to wear away through the day with eating, drinking, talking and all. If any consolation, the stain wears off well without any awkward ring-around-the-mouth sort of an effect – phew.

P1140055

So, long ramble done and I guess I have to say where this stands in my stash is the ‘nice to have’ portion. It’s growing on me a whole lot, really, and I’m almost inclined to recommend it only because it’s a lovely product that lends a flush that lasts well through the whole day but if I were to be strict with my assessment on it, maybe if I were never introduced to it, life would still be as normal.

A blush is ultimately a blush, if you know what I mean.

If you’re got one foot in the door with this already then I’ll say go ahead, it’s a nice purchase and you will enjoy the product but if you’re more critical about your splurges (though at S$60, this isn’t too bad) then I’d say hopefully this entry answer some questions or boxes you’re looking to be ticked!

Tell me, do you think this is worth the splurge / have you bought it?

 

Thanks for reading!

The Dior Cheek & Lip Glow is available at Dior counters now! This retails for S$60 and is Limited Edition!

Sponsorship disclosure

Leave A Reply!

