Ready Yourself! A Look At MAC’s SS2015 Collections – Cinderella, Toledo, Bao Bao Wan, Julia Petit, Miley Viva Glam & More!

Hey all!

So, I had the great and really overwhelming (but awesomely so) opportunity to preview a whole slew of collections coming soon to MAC Singapore and the best part is that the release date of these aren’t too far off either!

As they say, MAC’s Collections just keep coming!

IMG_9012

The reason I indicate MAC Singapore above is because some collections are already launched in the US (namely Viva Glam Miley I believe, and MAC Toledo) but we haven’t gotten them yet though they’ll be out soon, real soon!

In the meanwhile though, I thought I would just throw all the snapshots I took of that wondrous evening into this one long rambly MAC article. I didn’t manage to snap / swatch every single item across all collections else that would have qualified for individual posts but, my phone was dying so… this ramble overview will just have to do!

I think I have enough snaps and information to give you an idea of what’s to come at least and MAC had sent us back with an assortment of items which I hope to get to featuring soon!

I hate to constantly bring up New Job but given how it’s looming so closely now, just 2 weeks away – or even less, I feel like I’m working against the clock getting all I want to say up before that deadline.

So anyway, here’s a look at the collections! Starting from the soonest to be released to the latest!

MAC Viva Glam Miley Cyrus

Available: 15th February at all MAC Counters

I’ll first say that I’m no fan of Miley, though I’m not sure why I even bother disclaiming that but I’ll admit that when I first caught wind of her collaboration with MAC, I was a little perplexed. I mean, she’s so controversial… right?

But then again MAC has always embraced controversy and ran with it, and also succeed might I add, so I shouldn’t be surprised but Miley or not, I’ll say one thing and that is the Viva Glam Campaign from MAC is a good one and aimed to help a cause – find a cure for AIDS.

If you’ve been into MAC for awhile, you’ll know that all profits from the sales of Viva Glam lipsticks (and glosses) go towards the MAC Aids Fund so… there’s really nothing better than buying a beautiful lipstick for yourself and supporting a cause at the same time.

IMG_9042

So, onto the Miley duo, I’ll come back with more information and swatches about it but I’ll say that while I can’t agree with some of Miley’s entertainment choices, I think we’re on the same page with lip colors gurl~

Miley Cyrus’s Viva Glam lipstick features a vibrant, relatively neutral actually, pink in an Amplified cream finish. The best finish in terms of comfort and pigmentation from MAC, I feel.

The gloss on the other hand is a little glitter bomb featuring a sheer hot pink base color with tons of shimmer thrown in. Absolutely stunning!

As said, I’ll get back to this in another post before I get carried away here so… moving on!

Items in this collection:

  • Viva Glam Lipstick in Miley Cyrus
  • Viva Glam Lipglass in Miley Cyrus

Grey Divider

MAC x Cinderella Collection

Available: 26th February at TANGS, 6th March islandwide

Well, I can’t say we weren’t expecting this after hearing about the upcoming Cinderella live action movie and knowing MAC’s past stints and collections or should I say collaboration with Disney films.

IMG_9022

I didn’t manage to capture many shots of the Cinderella collection while at the preview because I think I got a bit distracted by other stuff after shooting these quick snaps but overall I’ll say this collection is quite lovely.

It’s soft and it’s easy to wear overall with a neutral brown palette, beige lip options (lipstick and lipglass) along with some lovely iridescent powders to bring that effortless Disney princess glow to live or maybe the beauty powder for this natural color to the cheeks.

Though there is one thing that you might want to keep a look out for from this collection and its the MAC Studio Eye Gloss, available in 2 color options.

IMG_9020

While the term Eye Gloss sounds highly editorial and a little unfit for us regular people to don even for functions and evenings, I was mildly surprised at how much potential these eye glosses have.

They could actually work!

They’re dense and incredibly sticky, which sounds a little uncomfortable though I can’t say because I did not try it out, but they really stick and hold to the skin once you pat it on! The effect they give is the same glossy, shimmery, editorial sort of lids that glistens as it catches the light.

If anything, if you do have this immense curiosity to don that runway look of glossy shiny eyes then this is where you can start!

Items in this collection:

  • Lipstick in Free As A Butterfly (S$33)
  • Lipstick in Royal Ball (S$33)
  • Lipglass in Happily Ever After (S$33)
  • Lipglass in Glass Slipper (S$33)
  • Eyeshadow Palette in Stroke of Midnight, 6 colors (S$80)
  • Eye Gloss in Lightly Taupe (S$45)
  • Eye Gloss in Pearl Varnish (S$45)
  • Fluidline in Little Black Bow (S$33)
  • Fluidline in Macroviolet (S$33)
  • Iridescent Pressed Powder in Coupe D’Chic (S$46)
  • Glitter in Reflects Pearl (S$45)
  • Pigment in Evil Stepmother (S$45)
  • Pigment in Pretty it Up (S$45)
  • Studio Fix Lash in Boldblack (S$35)
  • Beauty Powder in Mystery Princess (S$46)

Grey Divider

MAC Penciled In

Available: 27th February at Tangs, 1st March islandwide

This is a collection that is rather exciting because first of all, it’s all about the lips and the hot favorites from the lips (as far as MAC goes) at that!

Next, this collection is going to be permanent!

IMG_9039

Well, a good part of it is permanent already and I’m talking about the lipsticks featured within. What MAC had gone ahead to do is pick out some of their most popular lip shades and created a matching lipliner (as close as possible) for it, how awesome is that!

IMG_9038

Most times, if you’re an avid lip liner user, you’ll have to go with something nude if you can’t find an exact match or close match to your lipstick, what’s more lip liners usually get forgotten about and it’s not often that you get 3 – 4 tones of reds for lip liners so I think this collection is quite genius.

IMG_9026

IMG_9030

You can now prep your lips with a lip liner that matches the deep purple hued lipstick you’re thinking to use, isn’t that exciting?

Taking it a step further, MAC had also launched complimenting lip glasses for the 3 most popular shades (across the lip color genre) – Ruby Woo, Candy Yum Yum and Heroine.

Excites!

Did I already mention that this is permanent? ;)

Items in this collection (not mentioning lipsticks):

  • Lip Pencil in Edge to Edge (S$29)
  • Lip Pencil in Fruit Cocktail (S$29)
  • Lip Pencil in Chic Trick (S$29)
  • Lip Pencil in Talking Points (S$29)
  • Lip Pencil in Follow Your Heart (S$29)
  • Lip Pencil in Nightingale (S$29)
  • Lip Pencil in Candy Yum Yum (S$29)
  • Lip Pencil in Cyber World (S$29)
  • Lip Pencil in Ruby Woo
  • Lip Pencil in Rosy Rim (S$29)
  • Lip Pencil in Heroine (S$29)
  • Lip Glass in Candy Yum Yum (S$30)
  • Lip Glass in Heroine (S$30)
  • Lip Glass in Ruby Woo (S$30)

Grey Divider

MAC x Isabel & Ruben Toledo

Available: March islandwide (I’m assuming 1st?)

Well, well, do I even need to explain more about this collection?

If you haven’t heard or seen it then maybe you’ve been a little busy with work, or perhaps just came back from a relaxed holiday away from the internet because the MAC x Toledo collection seems to be all the rage across all beauty blogs (namely the US ones) over the past month.

I’ll do some quick backstory and introductions for the benefit of those who truly do not know / don’t care to know maybe… but the reason for the whacky and graphic prints as well as the rather diversed color selections across this collection is because the Toledo collection is a collaborative work from MAC with both Isabel and Ruben Toledo, a husband and wife design team.

The husband, Ruben, is an artist (from illustrator to sculptor) while Isabel has a keen eye for fashion and colors. Together they work well together and their relationship has a sweet backstory too from the high school sweet heart days.

IMG_9013

So, moving on from that the Isabel & Ruben Toledo collection sees an injection of spunk and color unique to the couple and I enjoy the graphic yet slightly fashion-y imagery of this collection.

IMG_9081

The color options within are really fun too as we see MAC bring back their famed Ombre blushes, of which 2 were wildly popular ones – Azalea Blossom and Ripe Peach.

What I particularly like about the collection is the multiple options of red where the lips are concerned and while some may find that a bit repetitive (why not more color options and less red?), I think it’s an interesting move. What’s more there is a story to it as well, given Isabel’s love for red lip colors.

IMG_9078

IMG_9080

That’s evident from Ruben’s illustration of her on the Toledo packaging as well. Yes, the graphic and abstract profile is his illustration take on his wife Isabel.

IMG_9066

IMG_9075

I have a couple of pieces from this collection to show but it’s really only a miniscule showcase compared to the size of the collection so I do suggest you to head down and swatch up a storm once this collection launches!

The packaging is quite an adorable one with a matte feel (eeks, matte and white, I’m a bit scared though) instead of MAC’s usual glossy cases.

Items in this collection:

  • Eye Palette in Bellgreens (S$75)
  • Eye Palette in Violentwink (S$75)
  • Eye Palette in Moodyblu (S$75)
  • Modern Twist Lash in Vynil Black (S$40)
  • Modern Twist Lash in Calligrafy Navy (S$40)
  • Modern Twist Lash in Tarot Purple (S$40)
  • Modern Twist Lash in Chlorafill (S$40)
  • Pearlglide Intense Liner in Designer Purple (S$33)
  • Pearlglide Intense Liner in Chlorafill (S$33)
  • Pearlglide Intense Liner in Petrol Blue (S$33)
  • Lipstick in Oxblood (S$33)
  • Lipstick in Barbeque (S$33)
  • Lipstick in Victoriana (S$33)
  • Lipstick in Tenor Voice (S$33)
  • Lipstick in Opera (S$33)
  • Lipstick in Sin (S$33)
  • Lipglass in Oxblood (S$33)
  • Lipglass in Barbeque (S$33)
  • Lipglass in Victoriana (S$33)
  • Lipglass in Tenor Voice (S$33)
  • Lipglass in Opera (S$33)
  • Lipglass in Sin (S$33)
  • Blush Ombre in Ripe Peach (S$52)
  • Blush Ombre in Azalea Blossom (S$52)
  • Blush Ombre in Kindergarten Red (S$52)
  • Nail Lacquer in Faint of Hear (S$25)
  • Nail Lacquer in Venus Red (S$25)
  • Nail Lacquer in Vixen (S$25)
  • Brush, Powder Brush (S$68)
  • Makeup Bag (S$50)

Oops, now that’s quite a list huh!

Grey Divider

MAC x Bao Bao Wan

Available: 6th March Ngee Ann City and Robinsons Orchard. 12th March at TANGS Orchard

Firstly, this collection isn’t going to be available islandwide so if you’re interested in checking it out or picking up some pieces, do note the released locations above!

IMG_9031

So… I’m sure most, like me prior, may not have an idea who Bao Bao Wan is. If you do, that’s great, but if not she’s a rather established Jewelry Designer hailing from China and also part socialite as she’s been seen at big name events and such.

After learning about her, I searched her up and will say that her jewelry pieces are quite exquisite and most of which look incredibly premium and up-market so it’s only right that her collaboration with MAC reflects the same with its sleek matte packaging that interestingly enough appears a bronzey-pewter but has soft green reflects within.

IMG_9032

The eyeshadow palette is really a work of art with its gold rims and the sparkly mix of eyeshadows within. I was kindly provided the eyeshadow palette (Bao Bao’s Jewels, no kidding) within my press pack and can’t wait to attempt a look for you guys.

I’m a little worried at the amount of shimmer involved but… when you gotta shine you gotta shine, right? Ha!

IMG_9033

IMG_9037

IMG_9034

The rest of the collection is quite lovely too, from the lipsticks to the polishes and the beauty powder. Overall I think that the assortment within this collection (and the packaging of course) is quite nicely done and definitely worth a look!

Items in this collection:

  • Lipstick in Forbidden Sunrise (S$33)
  • Lipstick in Lavender Jade (S$33)
  • Lipstick in Romantic Breakdown (S$33)
  • Lipstick in Burmese Kiss (S$33)
  • Eyeshadow Palette in Bao Bao’s Jewels (S$75)
  • Beauty Powder in Summer Opal (S$46)
  • Nail Lacquer in Kashmir Blue (S$25)
  • Nail Lacquer in Imperial Green (S$25)
  • Nail Lacquer in Sunset Tourmaline (S$25)

Grey Divider

MAC x Julia Petit

Available: 20th March at TANGS Orchard, Sephora, ION Orchard and Ngee Ann City

Phew, okay, last collection that I have on hand to preview right now. Are you guys still with me? I know it’s been quite a long post so let me just run through this one a little and wrap it up!

While I forgot to snap an overview shot for you guys, I did do a little more swatching for this collection (thankfully I did so as I only have a piece to showcase in detail) so I hope the pictures are helpful!

IMG_9050

Another quick introduction, Julia Petit is rather renowned Brazilian Blogger. Again, not someone I am in the know of but I assume if you’re rather into fashion and such you may have heard of her along the way.

IMG_9051

Being a beauty junkie herself, Julia did put a good amount of thought into the collection and products. Instead of going out there with all sorts of colors, Julia wanted her collection to be practical for women of all skintones and across all climates. She’s all about textures, mixing and matching of them as well as transforming a look with it so that’s what you’ll see through her pieces.

IMG_9047

IMG_9048

IMG_9060

IMG_9049

IMG_9062

I think the simplicity and practicality of her ideals does show through and yet it doesn’t compromise entirely on color and offerings too as you can put together a very wearable sweep of colors on the lids, a crisp flick of a liquid liner and bold matte colors on the lips.

IMG_9052

IMG_9055

I think that’s quite a polished yet wearable and practical look and probably what Julia wanted to achieve and share with the world! Or ‘the sisterhood’, as she says.

Items in the collection:

  • Lipstick in Boca (S$33)
  • Lipstick in Petite Red (S$33)
  • Lipstick in Açai (S$33)
  • Lipglass in Purpurine (S$33)
  • Liquidlast Liner in Wet Road (S$34)
  • Morganite Eyeshadow Duo (S$49)
  • Sagu Eyeshadow Duo (S$49)
  • Moving Sand Eyeshadow Duo (S$49)
  • Lustre Drops in Pink Rebel (S$36)
  • Prep + Prime Finishing Powder (S$44)
  • Powder Blush in Linda (S$42)

Purple Divider

So, wow, there you go!

This wraps up my really lengthy and part rambly preview of some MAC collections to come! It’s hardly indepth and it’s just skimming the surface of them all but I figured that if I were to go into too much detail this post would end up being a novel!

As mentioned, I do have some pieces of various collections on hand so I’ll get to talking about them in more detail in upcoming posts and perhaps feature some looks / swatches of them to come!

 

Thanks for reading!

Tell me, are you excited for any of the collections? What are some products you’re eyeing?

4 thoughts on “Ready Yourself! A Look At MAC’s SS2015 Collections – Cinderella, Toledo, Bao Bao Wan, Julia Petit, Miley Viva Glam & More!

Leave A Reply!

