Get Your V-Line on With Clear SK’s V Face Shaper!

Here’s the second part of my Clear SK back to back pamper session, if you haven’t read about my Cellulite Busting one, do give it a read!

Plus I’ve also got giveaway sessions for the V Face Shaper treatment (first 20 readers) so read on till the end :)

 

Do I even need to explain what a V-line or V-face or V-jawline is to anyone anymore?

This term has become so commonplace in recent years with brands (mainly asian but a sprinkle of western too) riding on the hyped appeal of a slimmer and more contoured jawline.

I’m really not sure where the origins of this obsession came from but I’m going to say Korea since it seems to be something they’re rather hung up on – the whole V-shaped face, smaller face, slimmer face aspect.

I’m not saying it’s bad because ultimately I’m also suckered into the idea of a firmer and more contoured look, which does lend the look of a slimmer face, but I will say that whether one is able to achieve a V-shaped face is also largely dependent on our face shape and structure.

Some of us have more squarish jawlines so with that in mind while this treatment is termed the V Face Shaper, I do want you all to know that it is ultimately targeted at ridding excess fat pockets around the face (for a slimmer contour) and lifting the skin for a tighter and more lifted look.

It is a non-surgical and noninvasive procedure so there are limitations to it but if your concerns are primarily unwanted fatty pockets around some areas of the face – such as sagginess around your jaw, jowls, double chin problems, etc – and your skin feeling a little slack recently then perhaps this treatment is a worthy consideration!

DSC01621

Unlike the Body Treatment that I had done over at Clear SK’s branch at Novena Medical Centre (Level 10), this V Face Shaper is held over at their Clear SK Medi + Skincare branch so we took a stroll over to Velocity after my body treatment.

The treatment itself is largely… mechanical? I don’t know what other word to use but it’s primarily focused on the efficacy of the machines and is very efficient and quick.

There’s no massage or much of a masking session involved so if you work around the area and need to pop by for a quick session over lunch, it seems quite do-able.

 

Make Up Removal –

The first thing to do is to remove my makeup, of course, and the therapist kept most of my liner and eye makeup intact, focusing on removing makeup from the skin since that is where the procedure is done.

DSC01625

And of course here’s a mandatory snap of my skin before the treatment. I have gone ahead and done the whole front, left, right sorta thing for comparison but I’ll keep that till the end and show you the front one first.

DSC01626

 

Coating the Skin –

To aid with the glide of the machines and to serve as a barrier between the machine hand piece and your skin, baby oil and vaseline was used.

Baby Oil was primarily applied all over to give the skin some glide while vaseline will only be applied in specific aeas where the Ultrasound machine will be used (to zap and melt fats).

DSC01631

If your skin is sensitive or incompatible with these products, because I do know that vaseline and baby oil doesn’t agree with everyone’s skin, it’s best to voice out to your therapist!

I don’t have an issue with them, I don’t prefer but I can use them, so I went ahead with it anyway.

 

The Ultrasound aka Fat Zapping! –

The first step is the ultrasound treatment and the target points of this (along with how much needs to be done / how long) is largely dependent on your concerns. For example if you have a double chin issue then this would be done along your neckline to zap that portion out.

For me, my main ‘fatty’ concerns would be around my jawline.

DSC01634

I’ve been pigging out a bit of late and have noticed it for myself that my face has been looking rounder (especially in Bali photos, woe…). Whenever I start putting on weight on the face, it usually starts to show there first – little pockets around my jawline – and it’s most evident when I smile.

Sigh!

So for the Ultrasound step, the therapist focused primarily along my jawline.

DSC01635

The Ultrasound step isn’t painful and all you’ll feel is some heat along the skin. It isn’t prickling either, just warm, but if anything I found the noise it made to be more of a discomfort because of the high-pitched frequency.

DSC01638

I’m the sort that can’t stand two metallic objects grazing each other so… naturally that was a little gnawing to me but its a small problem compared to skin discomfort (which again, there was none).

 

Uni Polar Radio Frequency for Skin Lifting & Tightening! –

After the fat zapping procedure is the RF and I half expected the therapist to slather my entire face with vaseline given what I was used to with RF.

Most times the hand piece of the machine is warm and some gel is needed inbetween to lubricate and also cool off the skin but somehow, the RF hand piece used in this particular machine is really different.

The surprising thing is that this actually feels cool against the skin. I know, I was quite taken aback.

DSC01639

It doesn’t really transit to a warm surface through the course of the procedure either but rather a very odd thing happens such that while the device feels cool against the skin, but once it passes through, that particular area of the skin has this warm buzz to it.

It’s so fascinating really, yet the machine looks so ‘normal’ from pictures so I can’t quite explain it otherwise.

DSC01641

Your entire face feels like its emanating this heat and seems warm and flushed at the same time (like blood circulation going on) yet nothing feels hot and I’m not even sure where the heat is coming from.

DSC01640

Apart from following the contours of the face with the machine’s hand piece, the therapist had also focused around the eye contours to get some lifting and firming done there as well.

DSC01652

DSC01653

After having completed half the face, I was provided a mirror to see the difference (on the side that is done and the side that isn’t) and while the effects really aren’t as drastic because I have been quite good with maintaining my skin with treatments these days, the ‘After’ side does look perkier overall and my cheeks are definitely more lifted.

DSC01644

Your left = AFTER / Your right = BEFORE

I think if anything, RF wears off at my cheeks first compared to anywhere else of the face.

The contours are definitely firmer too and while it’s not the most evident in photographs but the lifted contour and bouncier skin effect is definitely more noticeable in person.

 

Hydrating Mask to Cool Off –

Cooling off the skin after both procedures, the therapist placed a hydrating face mask on me (as well as informed me to remember to hydrate my skin more after these treatments) and left me to relax in the room for a couple of minutes.

DSC01656

 

Some After Snaps (and Comparisons) –

DSC01657

So, as I had said earlier I think I’ve been quite good about maintaining my skin these days with the many treatments I have been going for, inclusive of continual RF maintenance, lasers and all that so frankly speaking I’m not going to expect a world of a difference with these pictures.

The key difference really is just a more lifted and firmer cheek high point and also my jawline being a little more defined with the bits of fat residing there being zapped away.

The marketing lady from Clear SK, Shermaine, had also mentioned that my issues were quite trivial and those who benefited most from the V Face Shaper treatment are those with more pronounced skin sagging / double chin issues.

Though for the rest of us, it helps to zap away those little small pouches of fats hiding along our jawline or unwanted parts of our face (cause fats in the wrong area is not gonna look cute) that makes our face shape appear rounder than we would like.

That is also where I found the most difference, not straight out in these Before After images (though there are differences) but rather in real life when I put my hands to my cheeks / jaw or when I’m taking pictures. It seems like there isn’t that much of a need to angle my face for a more pronounced jawline now.

So, speaking of Before and After, let’s have a look at the 3 angles of them!

beforeafter_front

Angling of my face was a bit off but the skin does look overall lifted and brightened!

 

beforeafter_right

The cheeks are noticeable lifted and ‘plumped’ up for a more youthful look!

 

beforeafter_left

The jawline contour fat-zapping is most obvious from this angle (maybe I have more fats there, hurhur)

 

It’s not that obvious, really, that people will be able to tell that you’ve done something but I’ve had a colleague ask (the day after my treatment) if I had lost weight since my face looks slimmer.

Heh…

Cheap thrill, right?

Shermaine also noted that somehow my skin appeared brighter and fairer (almost) after the treatment though it wasn’t something that the treatment itself is targeted at doing. My only reason is perhaps the hydration from the mask and also glow / radiance from stimulating the skin’s collagen production during the RF procedure.

DSC01669

Unfortunately, as with noninvasive procedures and RF, the results are not permanent and if you’re visiting for the first few times, you will be recommended to come quite frequently so you can reach the desired face shape, after which maintenance would be the key.

DSC01685

While I’ve done many RFs, I think I haven’t quite touched on a treatment to help zap and work away at chubbiness in the face as well as sagging jowls and double chins so if these are your concerns then maybe it’s worth a look dropping by Clear SK and trying their V Face Shaper treatment out!

Purple Divider

GIVEAWAY! – Free V Face Shaper For the First 20!

In the joyous mood of Chinese New Year, ClearSK is offering 20 readers a FREE V Face Shaper treatment!

It is incredibly generous of them and all you have to do is fill up this form (and select V Face Shaper at the last option, OR the cellulite buster should you want that) and hit submit! If you’re amongst the first 20 to have submitted, Clear SK will contact you with regards on how to claim your voucher.

Disclaimer: I have no access to that form and contact / selections are made from Clear SK’s end :)

 

Thanks for reading!

Clear SK’s V Face Shaper retails for S$220 per session but they are offering S$98 for a trial session! Redeem that over here (scroll down)!

Clear SK Medi + Skincare is located at Velocity, Westgate & Yishun (locations here).

Sponsorship disclosure

Leave A Reply!

