Urban Decay’s TEN 24/7 Glide-On Liner Set (Info & Swatches)

I know I’m a little to the party of these Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Pencils but where permanent (fairly and mostly, that is) items are concerned – better late than never right?

P1040001

The reason why I got on the bandwagon of these so late even though the world (okay I exaggerate, how about online realm?) was singing praises of it was because I am pretty nitpicky where pencil liners are concerned. Knowing these were of creamy nature, I just did not expect them to last on my problematic lids even if the raves were of how lasting these are.

I mean, my lids are a whole different league and what works on most people would still end up not working for me so… you can’t blame my skepticism.

Though I’m quite happy to report that after (finally) giving this a try with the Black Magic liner set (from the Holiday season), I’m a total convert and no matter how problematic and watery my eyes can be, these do stand the test of wear. Sometimes they don’t go unscathed but it’s good enough by my eye standards!

Almost good enough to rival the 7 year HG position that MAC’s Powerpoint Liner in Engraved has… no kidding!

 

So anyway, before we go into the 24/7 Glide-On Liners itself, let me first talk about this amazing set of liners you see right here that is very appropriately named, TEN.

P1040002

the TEN 24/7 Glide-On Liners set comes with 1 full sized pencil (Perversion) and 9 other never-before-released Limited Edition colors that are exclusive to this set.

These other 9 colors also come in a shorter travel size, that while small is also a good enough size to use. Though if you do fall hard for any of the colors, it could be agonizing when you are nearing the end considering some of the 9 are pretty lovely everyday shades.

Smokeout, I’m looking at you!

Though I’m sure there are similar renditions in their permanent line up but… when we like a color we like that exact color, right? Even though a brown is just a brown.

P1040015

During TEN’s initial release, which was sometimes in September for the US folks I believe, Perversion was still a fleeting favorite. It’s known enough from re-releases but not permanent yet. However, since then it has been given a permanent spot on Urban Decay’s shelves so Perversion is the only permanently available color within TEN while the rest are Limited Edition.

 

So anyway, lets have a look at the ten liners within TEN.

P1040020

The options are a nice pick of colors ranging from natural and wearable to the bolds and brights. Urban Decay even threw in a couple of variation in textures and finishes as well and I’ll get to that with my swatches in a bit.

P1040012

P1040013

P1040014

Now, I’m not too well versed with Urban Decay’s eyeshadow offerings but I believe that this set of TEN liners is actually a homage to some of their best-selling shadow shades.

I know it’s odd that given Urban Decay’s reputation for their color products I’m actually more drawn to their staples like loose powders, eye shadow primers and the likes but yes. So I can’t say I’ve used or recognize many of these eyeshadow names (Voodoo seems to be a tad familiar…) to compare it to so I’ll just go about sharing my thoughts of these as is, yeah?

 

From what I have seen online, since this set was out in the US a little whiles ago and only coming to us now, the opinions on this seems quite diversed. There are those who don’t particularly fancy this set and feels that it is sub-par in performance and then there are those who are quite contented with it.

P1040010

I’m actually in the contented camp.

Because seriously, yes there are some shades could use more pigmentation and some don’t feel as smooth compared to the usual UD 24/7 Glide-Ons but I do think the different finishes account for the varying formulation – some shades glide on smoother and feel much creamier while others don’t.

P1040032

Overall, I’ll just say that they don’t feel dry and they don’t drag on my skin. Some shades seem to have a little bit of translucence to them but I think maybe the US market is a little more nitpicky with intensity because I’m perfectly fine with a gold eyeliner not actually look like a solid line of gold.

That’s just me and my preference of that more ‘asian styled’ makeup where a soft glint is just perfect though it’s a fair warning that those who are looking for each and every color to be solid will have to approach with caution because they’re not all like that.

P1040028

I’ve noticed that there are 3 main finishes – the Sparkles, the Shines/Metalics and the Satins.

The Sparkles have a faint level of base pigmentation with a really lovely speckle of shine and glimmer within it. These shades may not be intense but when worn over crisp black liner, either on top of overlapping, they turn out to be quite lovely.

P1040046

The 2 left most shades are the Sparkle ones

 

The Shines/Metalics have a more intense base pigmentation as compared to the Sparkles but their formulation isn’t the smoothest yet. The consistency across all the colors aren’t the same either with some applying more evenly while others may appear seem a tad patchy. It’s scrutinizing it under a microscope of course because when worn on the eye it looks good enough to me.

Finally, the Satins. I would call them Mattes but there’s only one color amongst them that truly is matte. These, I feel have the best formulation amongst the mix but really, this is me being critical about them because I think they all feel ‘good enough’. The Satins are also the most intense and even in pigmentation and I especially love Smokeout because it’s such a perfect smokey brown. Now this, would be a color I’ll be sad about if its nearing the end which it might given I’ve been using it so often now.

P1040047

The Shines / Metallics in the right and Satin finishes in the centre

 

Here’s a look at all 10 of them again with their proper names alongside for easier reference:

P1040045

 

The Rundown (If You’re New to 24/7 Liners) –

So… I decided to give this a more indepth run down given that where liners are concerned, opinions and requirements may vary.

P1040037

In terms of wear-time the only area that truly tests a liner is my lower lashline and also the corner of my outer-eye because every single liner smudges on there by the end of the day, even the best of the best that I have tried. The only question is how long does it stay on and how well does it smudge/fade away without a horrid panda eye effect.

Thus where colored liners are concerned, I can’t comment on those muchless the glitter ones (you shouldn’t wear those too near your lashline to be safe!) because when worn on the upper lids they all last well through the day looking good even after 12 hours.

For the browns and black, mainly Smokeout and Perversion, these last a good 5 hours before they do start feathering out a little on the lower lashline and fading away at the outer-eye corner but what I like about this (and the 24/7 Liners I’ve tried so far) is that even when it feathers, the concentration of the color on the lower lashline still stays so it looks smokey but not horribly so.

I can’t describe it really, but ultimately I still look presentable by the end of the day and not every single eyeliner does that for me on my lower lashline / outer eye corner so thats why these take the cake for me.

My MAC Powerpoint has been working well over the years too but I’ve noticed that it does fade in intensity on the lower lashline, hence I prefer the Urban Decay over the MAC right now.

P1040009

I got a little too carried away by the liners that I forgot to mention this set comes with a cute sharpener as well. The sharpener comes with 2 ‘sizes’ for thinner or fatter pencils and I like that they provided one just for this set because I can has a dedicated sharpener for all my Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Liners now!

P1040036

There’s something joyous about simple things like this, no? Or perhaps mainly for the OCD.

Though the ideal situation would be if I can one sharpener for every single pencil, or at least every single color, but… let’s not go there.

P1040024

So phew!

Okay I know this entry was especially rambly but I felt the need to have all bases covered because I know that personally when reading about eyeliners (especially those you would wear on the lower lashline), I do prefer things to be detailed and well accounted because… like I had said, I get very skeptical about trying new things.

I try them, of course, but that’s after a lot of affirmation about how it works so, hopefully my entry is affirmation enough to check out this pretty exciting set that’s coming your way in March!

I hope it’s not just my obsession with eyeliners that is sparking the excitement and enthusiasm in a ten piece liner set (of pretty good liners too) coming your way but that everyone else is feeling some sort of buzz about this too.

Eitherways, stick around and I’ve got a 3 part Look Feature of these coming right up. I hope to get them running consecutively before the launch of these babies (1st March), which is a perfect way to spend those ang baos* right? Though no promises since my blog schedule is so erratic these days.

I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

*red packet money from Chinese New Year

P1040056

Thanks for reading and I’ll be back with more!

Specifically – The Browns, The Sparkles and The Colors! That’s how I’ve divided them for easier categorisation and showcase, that is :)

Urban Decay’s TEN 24/7 Glide-On Liner Set will retail for S$80 and will launch 1st March 2015.

The set is Limited Edition and Perversion aside, the other 9 colors are exclusive to this.

Sponsorship disclosure

3 thoughts on “Urban Decay’s TEN 24/7 Glide-On Liner Set (Info & Swatches)

Leave A Reply!

