Look Feature: Urban Decay TEN 24/7 Glide-On Liners Part 1 – The Browns

Hello you guys!

Show of hands, how many of you all (those who celebrate Chinese New Year, or maybe not!) are on leave from work today, or perhaps for the whole of the week even!

Well, lucky you! I may be wrapping up at work, which usually sounds like easy and quick business, but it’s turning out to be quite tricky with a good amount to sort so I do want to apologize for some backlog build up and all.

You know the drill, so much to say but so little time to put it all up!

Eitherways!

If you’re back to work during this festive period or chilling at home on work leave and have a little time to kill then I hope my mini series of Look Features featuring the Urban Decay TEN 24/7 Glide-on Liner Set will be informative and also a good read for you!

I aim to keep this as brief as I can (let’s see how that pans out) and let the pictures do most of the talking.

I do have some thoughts for each shade but I’ll keep it as short and sweet as I can! I hope you have fun seeing my take on the colors within the Urban Decay TEN 24/7 Glide-On Liner Set and if you’re looking for more information about it, don’t forget to check out this overview entry!

p.s. there isn’t a sole feature for Perversion (also found within the set) because it’s a rich black that has been used one way or another in the looks of the other liners so you can take reference there.

So first up, the browns!

browns

While the TEN Liner set has a good amount of colors and glitter liners going on, there’s also a nice mix of wearable and usable browns within and this entry will spotlight on those.

The TEN 24/7 Liners featured in this entry are Faint, Smokeout and Mugshot.

 

Faint –

faint01

faint02

faint03

This look is actually attempt number 2 with Faint because the first look I tried, Faint ended up too, well… faint.

As with Mugshot (which you’ll see in a bit), Faint is a beautiful and classic staple sort of a shade to have – a creamy smooth matte mid-tone brown that would be great to use all over the lids or to blend, if an eyeshadow. Though once you change it up to an eyeliner then the dynamics do shift a little.

As a liner, it’s most ideal for those who like their eyes done soft, in the case of a soft whisper and glide of color which isn’t my way of wearing liner but for the sake of showcasing the liner as a liner (because I always feel inclined to use this as a cream shadow base), I paired it with a pared down look of almost nothing on the lids except a sweep of skintone beige to even the lids out and provide a smooth canvas for the the liner.

Faint is kind of in the middle ground where my liner preferences are concerned – too light to offer definition and not flashy enough to be an accent liner – but I still saved a spot for it in my stash knowing that one day I’ll come to appreciate its subtlety!

You never know when you need a creamy matte cool mid-town brown, right?

Products Used:
I had forgotten to list it down for this particular look but it's simple enough it shouldn't matter, heh!

 

Mugshot –

mugshot01

mugshot03

mugshot02

mugshot04

Mugshot is a really beautiful brown actually. It’s nice and warm and with the right amount of depth and shine, I can see why this would be an incredibly popular and classic eyeshadow favorite amongst Urban Decay fans. As with Faint (pictured earlier) it is a color that works as an eyeshadow – easy to throw on everyday and also easy to smoke up for the night – but as a liner I feel it falls a little short.

Though I did like the way I wore it here because given how neutral and soft a color it is (as a liner) I felt like I could play it up a little more with some inner corner flicks and all.

Though color-wise, if you like that slight definition to the eyes but nothing harsh and in the case of Mugshot with a nice kick of sheen then I think it’s not too bad a color. The way I typically use Mugshot (when not doing a liner representation as I am here) is as a cream colored base which defeats the purpose of it being an eyeshadow-turned-liner but eitherways, it sticks and stays and works that way. It’s a pretty color no less and being exposed to it as a liner is making me curious of the shadow!

Products Used:
Dior Backstage Eye Prime, 5050 (Naked On the Run), 
Fix (Naked on the Run), Stun (Naked On the Run), 
Mugshot 24/7 Glide-On Liner, Eyeko Eye Do Liquid Liner, 
Perversion 24/7 Glide-On Liner

 

Smokeout –

smokeout01

smokeout02

smokeout03

smokeout04

There’s nothing not to love about this smokey deep brown unless of course, you don’t like the look of smokey deep browns.

Much as my heart lies with the crisp and perfectly flicked deep black winged liner, every once in awhile I like to indulge myself with a smokey (but haute) mess of brown blends on the lids. There’s just something so casual, effortless and yet still sexy about a deep smokey eye and if that’s your go-to look than you’ll be more than happy with Smokeout in your inventory.

I paired this with a different sort of eyeshadow placement from my usual, one that would accentuate the smokiness of Smokeout – a look that starts deep and dark at the lash line and slowly feathers out towards the browbone, without any crease definition.

I think that’s my favorite way to wear Smokeout and I’ve revisited this look a couple of times already.

Products Used:
Urban Decay Primer Potion, DTF (Vice 3), 
Factory (Naked 3), Limit (Naked 3), Strange (Naked 3), 
Smokeout 24/7 Glide-on Liner

 

Purple Divider

Okay, I know we’re off to a very simple start here with the Urban Decay TEN Liners set because neutrals / browns ultimately are as such… neutral and brown so there’s nothing overly exciting about them but you have to admit that while they aren’t pow wow in visuals and not the most eye catching, they are the most reliable so I decided to kick start this series by showing you what are the looks you definitely will be able to get from this set and the looks that will be able to take you through your everyday.

Now that that’s sorted, we’ll get started on the Sparkles and the Colors coming right up, alright?

Am I doing good with keeping this short and (relatively) brief thus far?

The Urban Decay TEN 24/7 Liner Round Up (Thus Far):

 

Thanks for reading and stay tuned for looks of the rest of the liners!

Urban Decay’s TEN 24/7 Glide-On Liner Set will retail for S$80 and will launch 1st March 2015.

The set is Limited Edition and Perversion aside, the other 9 colors are exclusive to this.

Sponsorship disclosure

Leave A Reply!

